We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40th wedding anniversary lunch for 30 people. Fantastic!”
Review of De Havilland Arms

De Havilland Arms
Ranked #29 of 77 Restaurants in Fleet
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 20
Cuisines: British, Brew Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 27 July 2018

A marvellous family celebration for our 40th wedding anniversary. Especial thanks to members of staff, Celia and James who made the whole thing go so smoothly. 30 people including a baby and 12 children were handled very well with a separate table for the children. The kids were kept occupied with activity packs from the De Havilland. We had preordered all the meals, and everything worked really well.
What a wonderful way to celebrate.

Thank Ruth7447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at De Havilland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased we delivered great hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2018

Coffee shops have small tables, close together. The background noise can be distracting and there's never a plug nearby for the lap top. Since the re-furb at the De Hav, Fleet now has a place for 1-2-1 business meetings. Good coffee, plenty of room, not too busy. Well done to all for this improvement.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NickShrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at De Havilland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

My family and I avoided the music festival this afternoon, instead opting to go to the pub across the field and enjoy a cold pint. Surprisingly, it was busier than expected and with only two members of staff on, both young ladies, one in a blue checked shirt and blonde hair and another in a pink floral blouse, i was happily shocked to see how well they were coping. Within seconds of my friend and i reaching the bar we were greeted by the blonde girl, who was friendly and smiling throughout. On the bar by herself whilst her colleague was running food to customers from the kitchen, both were efficient and friendly considering the busy bar. When she got to serving us we ordered an array of soft and alcoholic drinks and a coffee, which was amazing (would highly recommend this place if you like a strong coffee) our drinks were made quickly and we were in the garden within 10 minutes of being at a restively busy bar, especially for one or two people to be serving. Would like to say a big thank you to both of the young ladies (Wish i knew their names so i could thank them personally) and we will definitely be back in the future!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ellie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at De Havilland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and thanks for your great feedback. I am so pleased you had a nice time and I look forward to sharing your review with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

We arrived and the menu was quite limited and rather overpriced but we were seated and looked through the menu. We had a toddler with us but had to request a children's menu as we weren't provided one with ours. It was halfway through our meal that we were offered an activity pack for our son which would have been better offered while waiting for ordering/service. My husband's drink arrived but he had to request mine again.
The food was generally good but I ordered the soup and injured myself on a vegetable stalk that had been left in and was hard and sharp. I expected this of a veg soup as you get an occasional bit in natural products but a few spoonfuls later and another stalk! I called a waitress over and said it wasn't edible and asked her to check the rest of the soup before it was sent out which she ignored, the manager never came over and I was not offered a replacement or anything else to eat. When the bill arrived the soup was on there which I asked to be removed and she came back saying she'd given a discount on the bill too so we paid only to find the soup was still on there and the 'discount' was £2.50! The manager apologised when I finally found him and after a bit of encouragement refunded me for the remainder of the cost of soup but the offer of a discount on top was revoked (didn't mind too much as I hadn't asked for it but they shouldn't have offered it to then not provide it) and agreed to go and check the soup which hadn't been done.
We weren't happy with this location - poor service, little concern for customers and overpriced. The remaining food was good but not enough for me to recommend the place unfortunately.

Thank heva11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at De Havilland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and date of visit and email us at:
guestfeedback@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Came for lunch today, it was a very hot day. Normally we would have to find a table outside and go to the bar to order. A waitress called Ellen took it upon herself to come outside to our table and others and take our order. She was very friendly, chatty. The food was good but the service was beyond. We didn’t have to leave the table once even for a drink and she knew exactly what we were drinking. Great experience over all and will definitely will be back.

Thank snatcheey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at De Havilland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Havilland Arms also viewed

 
Dogmersfield, Hampshire
Crookham Village, Fleet
 
Fleet, Hampshire
Fleet, Hampshire
 

Been to De Havilland Arms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing