We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal place for a family stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Anglers Cottage

Anglers Cottage on a millpond overlooking the sea.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Anglers Cottage on a millpond overlooking the sea.
Feed the swans and ducks from the front garden Kitchen Breakfast room with seating for 8
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Anglers Cottage on a millpond overlooking the sea.
Feed the swans and ducks from the front garden
Kitchen Breakfast room with seating for 8
Master bedroom with water views
Second bedroom
Enjoy the evening sun on the west facing patio
Large Family Bathroom
Second floor twin bedroom.
beautiful local beaches
Spacious Dining, TV area.
Beautiful views
Cosy Lounge
Comfortable double sofa bed for guests 7 & 8
Stunning views over Chichester Harbour
Historic village of Emsworth 5 mins walk away.
Attractive fishing village of Emsworth
Fully equipped kitchen
Watch out for ducks!
Magnificent Harbour
Wonderful walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Emsworth, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TaighAoig...
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ideal place for a family stay”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We rented this cottage for our honeymoon week. It was big enough to accommodate some family members who attended the reception. It had everything we needed. It was comfortable and well equipped and would stay again when next down to visit family and friends
Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loganberr...
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Photograph any stains on the carpet on day one of your holiday!”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for 3rd time on an annual basis, with no problems previous two years. This time the owner withheld the deposit as she had decided that all the stains on the carpets (evidence: she photographed all the stains after our stay and presented them to the agent) it was all our fault and therefore we had to pay.

With no "before" photos either from the owner or ourselves it was the owner's word against ours and our £150 deposit was taken "as there are marks on the floorboards and carpet".

Hello - this is a holiday home by the sea advertised as a good place for children.

Its a nice enough house in a good position, but my advice is definitely photograph anything that looks like a stain or damage, so you can prove its not you. .

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
We are always sympathetic with accidents and rarely withhold any of the damage deposit - In fact this is the first time we have withheld the whole amount in the 4 years we have been holiday letting. The total costs involved after this stay were far in excess of the damage deposit withheld and this was arbitrated on by an independent agent. The carpet stains mentioned were just one item on a list of many - I'm afraid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APAMK
1 review
“Peaceful family holiday home”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed with our two young children: three and six months and found the house very child friendly. A highchair, stair gate, cot, toys, etc all provided so we did not need to bring anything. A lovely secure garden for them to play in.
The house was clean and tidy and in a great location. Very quiet spot right by the water, with short walks to the beach and shops. Lots to do close by with quick and easy access to the motorway.
Overall a very pleasant, comfortable and relaxing stay

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clio2006
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not a relaxing winter family environment. Left early :0(”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Feb half term, family of 4 with 2 small boys aged 4&3yrs.
Sadly a bit disappointed, had everything on paper and first impressions were great but as the week went on we found it quite hard to settle here and feel comfortable / at home.
The main downstairs living area is the extended kitchen which is stunning but when trying to live in it you find the hard tiled floor and uncomfortable old sofa a poor substitute to your own lounge at home. There is a small formal lounge at the front of the house but is pokey and old fashioned with more uncomfortable seating that doesn't welcome a relaxing feeling. Considering the beauty of the back of the house this room is a real let down.
Where there are carpets in the house you soon realise they have been chosen for hard wearing practicality, which is understandable, but again limits the cozy feel and desire for the kids to be happy playing on it. This coupled with the stone kitchen floor meant they were not that happy going off and playing together which was not the plan!
The upstairs rooms are split town house style, which over the week was a bit painful too. It's all a learning experience and we came home early realising this layout was not suited to our needs and made us live mainly in the kitchen - on an uncomfy two seater old sofa - not a very homely environment.
What made it harder was the more you used the kitchen you discovered the units are a bit cobbled together and not everything works as well as it could, the stunning Aga oven was a bit unloved and so once the impressive first impressions wore off it was quite disappointing as I usually love cooking on holiday and found that quite off putting. A lot of the smaller appliances in the house were obviously old cast offs / second hand that either didn't work or worked badly which left a bad taste.
In Emsworth itself the town is very pretty and the millpond a real beauty. The town is small and friendly and has some good pubs and restaurants. Unfortunately there was no park for the kids to run off steam in and being on the lake we couldn't really head straight out to scoot anywhere as there were no pavements and then you're straight into the town. Again, dissapointing esp as this property is advertised on a baby friendly website. So over all, sorry to say, we were happy to come home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mill pond
Liked least: The cottage
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
I'm sorry to hear these guests were not happy. Since this stay we have updated the kitchen equipment and seating in the house. There is a large childrens park about 10 minutes walk away from the cottage in the opposite direction to the beach, but it is tucked away, so I shall give directions in the information pack in the cottage. The beach and miles of coastal walks are of course on the doorstep. I am happy to provide any additional information on the cottage to anyone and will always do what we can to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible, please let me know at the time so I can do what I can whilst you are still there!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna W
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage and in a great location”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The cottage was lovely and perfect for our requirements. We had everything we needed.

The cottage has a lovely outlook and is very near to Emsworth town centre which was very quaint. We also had a lovely meal at The Deck in the boatyard.

The cottage was in a quiet area and we all really enjoyed it.

Could have done with knowing the postcode for sat nav, but found it by keying in the road name and town instead.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the kitchen/diner area
Liked least: The upstairs toilet was tricky to flush and the master bedroom mattress was too hard.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing