We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If only we'd stayed for a week...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Rattys Retreat

Front aspect and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front aspect and garden
The living area Galleried bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Front aspect and garden
The living area
Galleried bedroom
Kitchen
Bathroom
brook
Cottage pathway
Dining area
Brook and communal gardens
Afternoon tea in the sun
Relax in the bathroom
Welcome
Dine in
Patio area
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
livvywale...
Brynmawr, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“If only we'd stayed for a week...”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We've just returned from a 3 night break at Ratty's Retreat and found it to be an absolutely fabulous place to stay.
The cottage itself was beautifully laid out, cosy and warm, with some really thoughtful touches from the owner (lovely toiletries,beautiful bathrobes, a bottle of wine(shame we don't drink!) and a folder containing loads and loads of walks in the area as well as tons of other information about the area). There's also a payphone in the cottage as there's no mobile reception in the area.
The grounds are a delight to wander and our own little patio was quite a suntrap and a great place to sit and watch the various birdlife - my favourite bit though was going outside to listen to the owls at night!.
Blockley itself is a really lovely village, uncommercialised, friendly and with loads of walks straight from the cottage.
We hope to visit again, as soon as we can and would recommend it to anyone looking for a wonderful holiday. Next time will definitely be for longer though.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning layout of the property
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abingdong...
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet, relaxing base for walking and cycling”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We prefer the flexibility of a cottage to B&B so it was wonderful to find one for rent for three days over the Easter weekend. We paid £305 for Ratty's Retreat (RR). A bit pricey but overall it was money well spent and we could have had a further day for only another £60. The owner is a good communicator and replied to all emails promptly.

As other reviewers have said, the cottage is very comfortable and cosy with high quality furniture, bed linen and many special touches. The vase of tulips, fresh milk, bottle of wine, and biscuits were all much appreciated. Thank you Linda.

The cottage was warm – although the upstairs radiators in the bedroom and bathroom were cool to the touch (except for the bottom inch or so). This could be cured instantly by bleeding with a radiator key! The shower, as stated in the brochure, is a simple over the bath model. It could do with updating. The downstairs cloakroom is very handy.

The free wifi is fast (enough to use Skype) and reliable. This might be important to some guests because there is no mobile signal in Blockley village whatsoever (a payphone is supplied at RR).

RR is located at Lower Farm Cottages on a beautiful complex with lovely grounds (see photo). Beware though, it is very dark at night and the entrance steps are quite steep so do use the torches thoughtfully supplied in the cottage.

The cottage is just a short walk from two pubs/inns and a restaurant (see my other reviews). We ate at the Great Western Arms (twice) and Lower Brook House. I can recommend both establishments.

If you want to cook the kitchen appears to be very well supplied. We appreciated the tea cosy! The only thing we missed was a couple of large beer / water glasses – not everyone drinks wine all the time!

Ratty’s Retreat is very well situated for local walks and bike rides. I recommend the circular walk to Batsford Arboretum. Despite the sub-zero Easter weather we also enjoyed a five mile cycle to Chipping Campden where we then took a 5 mile circular walk up to Dover’s Hill. There are masses of useful walking leaflets and books in the cottage.

A lovely little holiday spot. We would love to return when the weather is warmer and the days are longer. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of furnishings & linen, the situation, the quiet, nearby eating places.
Liked least: The shower (but it wasn't terrible!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your stay. We were sorry to hear of the problems with the 2 upstairs radiators. If we had been told about them while you were there or by a previous guest we would certainly have dealt with them immediately. As you said they just needed the air being released and we did them as soon as we read your review. Thanks for letting us know about it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill L
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfortable”
Reviewed 8 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Very nice little cottage for two, well equipped and cosy. Tea and coffee is provided and the owner was kind enough to leave a bottle of milk, some wine and some biscuits, There is also a wine rack that you can use wine from and replace, which is handy. It is a very short walk into the village, which has a shop and cafe, along with two pubs. We enjoyed our short stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage layout
Liked least: The shower could do with a little updating.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Weather not brilliant
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view from living room across to Blockley church
Liked least: Possibility of noisy neighbours!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing