We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Booked in for two nights. Room itself adequate and clean , bed was uncomfortable mattress lumpy. First night tried to get room service all night and unobtainable, complained next morning said was busy all night??. Good choice of breakfast but half items cold on first morning and some staff not friendly, was slight improvement on second morning. For money didn't think was good value ,would stay again. Wi Fi was not free £9.99 per 24 hours .

Room Tip: Don't stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanxjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, General Manager at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Hello Alanxjs

Thank you for your review and sharing it here on Tripadvisor.

I was pleased to read that you found the room to be of good quality and that the choice at breakfast was satisfactory, however improvements are required in regards to the temperature of certain items.

Free WIFI is provided in our public areas and if you are or become a member of our Marriott Rewards programme in our bedrooms. Please ensure when staying with us or one of our other Marriott Hotels in the future to enquire about this and sign up.

Whilst I a delighted to see that you would stay with us again, it was disappointing though to read that the service provided at Breakfast was not as consistent as it should be and that you were not able to get hold of Room service on the first night. Please be assured that these points have been taken up with the Managers of the respective departments for immediate improvements.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Ive been traveling to the UK for business for the past five years. These last three years, I have stayed in this hotel. The prices are reasonable, the services and food is good and fairly priced. The facilities are always clean and the rooms are comfortable.
Downside is there is not much to do i. The is not much to do in the immidiate area, but since Im there for work the location is good for me. I recommend giving this place a try if you are in the area.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, General Manager at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Nicholas P

Thank you for your review following your recent stay and we are delighted to count you amongst our loyal and regular guests here at Waltham Abbey.

I am pleased to learn that you overall enjoy the hotel and its facilities and that the hotels location are helpful in regards to your work.

Please do let us know if we can help on your next visit to assist in further exploring the area around Waltham and a little further afield.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Visited Sunday for the carvery lunch to celebrate my mother in law birthday, we chose to return after a lovely lunch Mother's Day which we could not fault, however this time it was terrible, the meat hard, the veg and potatoes cold and not being refilled, very little staff working to serve, we complained before we ate the meal, most of us left the food and the helpful lady agreed it was cold and got the manager to remove 2 dinners out of 5 off the bill and service charge, we then went into the bar and my husband went to the bar as no one came to take our drinks order, ordered 5 drinks he brought 3 of them over and was told the water and fruit drink would be brought over with the change, 10 mins later the change arrives with a young blond Eastern European waitress no drinks, we asked her where they were, off she went then returned and asked for the bill to check we had ordered them !!!!! When we said we have waited 10 mins and to get them her attitude was disgusting talking to us like dirt on her shoe, my mother in law who was 79 and my parents in their 60s were taken aback being spoken too like this, I went up to the reception and told the girls behind there what happened all they said was she's not usually like that !!!!! At no point during the diabolical time did any manager come to say sorry !!!!! We won't return or recommend !!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank cindyterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, General Manager at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear cindyterry

Thank you for sharing your recent dinning experience with us at Waltham Abbey Marriott.
I was delighted to read that following a memorable and great meal on Mother's day you brought the family back to celebrate your mother in laws birthdays with us. However, I am disappointed and would like to express my sincere apologies that on this occasion we fell short of your and our expectation and were not able to provide the high standard of Food and Service we have come to pride ourselves upon here at Waltham Abbey. Whilst I am pleased to read that the Restaurant Manager took care of some charges as a gesture of goodwill, the food should have been great in the first place and the shortfall has been discussed with our Executive Chef.
In respect to the perceived lack of professionalism shown by one of our Bar associates , please be rest assured that the associate has been spoken to and would like to convey her personal apologies for the very much unintended lack of courtesy and service.
Based on your Mother's day experience I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Waltham Abbey Marriott to provide an experience that will not only meet but exceed your expectations.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

The hotel is easy to find and there are plenty of places to eat and drink nearby.
Check in was quick and we found that parking was complimentary when you entered your vehicle details at reception.
The room was comfortable and clean which was perfect what what we needed.
We ordered room service and found that the food was nothing special and cold by the time it arrived so would not recommend this.
We used the spa and pool area which was ok apart from there was a strange smell in the steam room. Overall these facilities seem to be overdue a renovation.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TTT1_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, General Manager at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Hi TTT1_19
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you had a comfortable stay. Your comments regarding room service and the steam room have been passed on to the team to ensure these shortfalls are rectified. Your comment regarding the need for renovation will form part of our future refurbishment discussions. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Hotel room is decent if a little bit tired. Bathrooms need attention. Hotel is older but seems in good repair.

Food is pricey even for hotel food.

The reason I gave only gave a 2 is because of some of the staff. Iv never had such rude staff speak to me in a hotel like this. You seriously need to train your management and staff. Because of this I won't be back.

Sorry but this is a basic in hospitality.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Marsden72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, General Manager at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear Marsden 72

Thank you for sharing your recent experience here at Waltham Abbey.

I am pleased to read that you overall found to your liking and in good repair.
It is disappointing to read though that we did not meet your nor our expectations in regards to the service provided. I have shared your overall comments in regards to the lack of professionalism shown by some of the staff with all our Heads of Department for review and to reiterate with all staff that Customer Care and service are of utmost importance in our business and have to be displayed at all times.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to the hotel sometimes in the future to provide an experience that will not only meet but exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham Abbey
6.1 km away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
703 reviews
8.6 km away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
5.9 km away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
17.1 km away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.8 km away
Best Western Plus Epping Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel

Address: Old Shire Lane, Waltham Abbey EN9 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Waltham Abbey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Price Range: ₹ 6,675 - ₹ 11,147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of relaxed elegance and modern convenience at the Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel. Enjoy spacious accommodations, helpful amenities and easy accessibility to Essex and Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Waltham Abbey
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing