We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great change”
Review of The Harvard Inn

The Harvard Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Stock
Certificate of Excellence
Description: The Harvard Inn is located in the idyllic village of Stock, Essex. is a restaurant and wine bar, with luxury accommodation. Dating back to the 15th Century the building is a central part of the village history, and is full of charming character. Offering a selection of fine wines, alongside seasonal cuisine, The Harvard Inn is suited to a variety of occasions and celebrations. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Restaurant details
Description: The Harvard Inn is located in the idyllic village of Stock, Essex. is a restaurant and wine bar, with luxury accommodation. Dating back to the 15th Century the building is a central part of the village history, and is full of charming character. Offering a selection of fine wines, alongside seasonal cuisine, The Harvard Inn is suited to a variety of occasions and celebrations. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Have been watching this place modernised after The Cock shutdown and decided to visit last Saturday for Dinner. Several people in the bar when we arrived just having a drink obviously some staying there but going on somewhere else for dinner. We settled in the comfy seats whilst were spied the menu. We were shown to our table and were surprised at how busy it was as the bar didn't give that impression obviously everyone was eating early. We were a party of three and all had starters two duck wings and one potted shrimp. Followed by one steak, one Jacobs rib and one homemade pie. All food prepared and presented very nicely. Couldn't manage a pudding though which was a shame as they looked just as good. Will we return oh yes. Probably miss out the starter though so we can have a pud.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2018

Went with the family (teenage children), food was really good and service great. We were very well looked after and is well priced. Lisa the Manager knows who to make you feel really comfortable.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank richardgT6312AV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

After reading previous reviews we booked for Friday night dinner. It’s a nice building but lacked atmosphere.. no fire burning in the fireplace on a very cold Feb night. We went early-ish 7pm only one another couple in the restaurant. Music was questionable..garage music in the background. Starters were a real disappointment. Potted shrimp- really don’t bother and the honey and thyme roasted figs were tasteless. They really hadn’t seen any honey or indeed any thyme, or an oven.. no caramelisation from the honey, the creamy goats cheese and the bread that came with it were ok.. there was a nod to thyme by the twig of it that was placed on top. My husband ordered the scotch egg and I wish I had too .. it was delicious. My daughter ordered the children’s cheese burger for mains which arrived with no cheese. Another diners starter arrived without walnuts and she had to ask for them. I don’t want to do the place a disservice it just wasn’t happening for me. Maybe the chef was having an off day. The mains were ok, steak and calves liver. Didn’t have any desserts. The young waitresses was pleasant and helpful. Just a shame really that it didn’t live up to my expectations.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Drove to Stock to sample the Hoop.. but couldn’t get parked so popped into Harvard Inn .. what a stroke of luck. They were fully booked but sat in the bar for a drink and had some lovely hand made crisps?(two lots hahaha) Suppose my call out is how friendly the staff were especially the guy managing the bar. We will definitely come back and book lunch/dinner.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank deano280370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

Our most recent visit included a Sunday Roast, the food was cooked perfectly with lots of choice. A good atmosphere with friendly service. My only gripe with this restaurant is my food is always stacked (a personal preference I know). Never the less a great local venue, no need for us to drive, with fresh and well maintained décor and environment.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidrayner56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Harvard Inn also viewed

 
Ingatestone, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to The Harvard Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing