This hotel is awful. There are no staff, the room is so basic it makes a hostel look like a 5 star hotel. There was a funny smell as well. I would rather pay the extra money and stay in a premier inn.More
- Free Wifi
This hotel is awful. There are no staff, the room is so basic it makes a hostel look like a 5 star hotel. There was a funny smell as well. I would rather pay the extra money and stay in a premier inn.MoreShow less
Many thanks for reviewing our Southend on Sea Travelodge and taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with your recent stay with us and we would like to look into this further for you. May we kindly request you contact us with your review via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel.
Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you soon.
The room was alright, there was a lot of noise from the clubs outside as it was a busy Saturday night. Check in was good, Janet was really nice and the only employee we saw during our stay. She was very genuine and helpful.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us concerning your stay at Southend on Sea.
We're glad to hear that you were happy with the room you were allocated and that you were swiftly checked in by our friendly and welcoming hotel team members. We will be sure to pass your kind words onto the hotel team.
However, we're sorry that your stay was affected by external noise. All Travelodge Hotels include double or triple glazing to try and keep noise heard outside to a minimum. We also work with local communities to try and reduce the local noise that might impact our customers during the night.
We hope you can appreciate that despite these measures it is not always possible to completely reduce the noise outside the Hotel. Our website will display information stating noise levels may be high, for Hotels located in a busy city centre and generally noisier areas.
However, we would like to apologise in any case as we can understand that regardless of the measures and efforts we take, your stay was not at the level of standards we work for.
Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we would like to thank you for your comments.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to write into us and we hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
So i arrive at the hotel before midnight.. press the button for receptionist no answer
I only get in cuz some other people returning with a key card let me in.
Then once in reception there was nobody there? I pressed the button around 50 times but still no answer.
As I had no option I shouted as loud as I could and then this staff member ran out from a sore clearly he had Been asleep.
His name was Nuru and he could win the “bad attitude of the year award”
He would not answer my questions about being asleep and like a robot just kept asking me if I had a booking.
Anyway after just over an hour I got in my room.
It’s gets worse.... then at 5am the fire alarm went off and the hotel was evacuated but there was no fire? We stood outside for over half hour and we were told we would get a refund, in the mad rush off the so called fire I dropped my phone and broke it.
I decided to drive home at 5:45am.
What’s even worse it’s now over a week later and I cannot get answer from their customer services, I have had no refund and no answer to why this all happened.
I understand mistakes happen but it’s how your deal with these mistakes, for example Nuru should be disciplined for falling asleep and his bad unhelpful attitude and customers services should answer within a decent time frame.
Won’t be staying at travel lodge again.
Thank you for taking the time to review our Southend on Sea Travelodge, we are thankful for your comments.
Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues encountered during your booking. The experience you received concerns us and we would like to investigate your stay further.
Please may we kindly ask you to contact our Customer Service team via the 'Contact Us' page on our website. Please include a link to your review and your booking details. This will enable us to look into your visit more thoroughly with our hotel team.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and giving us the opportunity to adjust the service and facilities we provide our guests. We look forward to hearing from you shortly.
have stayed at travelodges before, but not this one. All was good our room was clean and comfortable, the staff were polite and every helpful . would certainly stay here again if need be. The only downside is car parking witch is across the road witch can be difficult if you have a lot of luggage.
Ideally situated to explore the area . We only wanted a room as we planned to eat out and see a show at the Pavilion Theatre . The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean and tidy . We were not disturbed by any noise either .
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We're delighted to hear you found our hotel to be ideally situated along with enjoying clean, comfortable accommodation. We aim to provide an enjoyable stay for all of our guests and we are so pleased to see this has been achieved.
We will ensure that your comments are passed to the hotel manager so we can ensure that all our guests enjoy the same experience as you and we thank you again for writing your review.
Typical offering by Travelogue. clean room, which can sleep up to 4 people (1 double & 2 singles). Great value at £65 for a Saturday night.
Good location. No real cafe or breakfast offering. Not a great building, looks like former office block, but does the job. Well located 1 Road away from the high street