We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice but a little small and very noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camelia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camelia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice but a little small and very noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at the Camelia while in Southend for a wedding. We were given double room 22 in the Annex part of the hotel.

The room was very small but had a nice bathroom. It was also very nicely decorated and we thought the breakfasts were also incredibly good. Overall, very good value for money.

However, we found our room to be very noisy and I would not pay to stay there again.

The noise was from all directions - mainly we had issues with the room directly above as it sounded like their bathroom was in our room! Not what you want. Flushes and water going down the drain sounded like it was going straight through our walls.

We also had to contend with the noise of the main front door into the annex, which was by our room and bangs very loudly, then the other rooms next door which also bang loudly and then people outside the window smoking and chatting.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HealthAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    109
    43
    18
    9
See reviews for
92
189
17
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed here at the weekend for a party - stayed in what I presume is one of the family rooms - located at the back of the hotel overlooking the fire escape....incredibly dated room, pink bathroom suite being the highlight! Beds comfortable enough but in need of some new pillows, not sure of the quality of all other rooms but having seen my friend's suite such a shame all rooms have not been redecorated to the same standard.

Found staff at breakfast to be quite rude - we were ignored when it came to being offered tea and toast which meant I kept having to get up to ask for some to be taken to our table.

Would definitely recommend paying extra for a suite if staying a few nights, lots and lots of space, balcony and newly refurbished....if you're a family, i would not recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iloveholidays1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have used this hotel for seven years and always found it to be above its 3 star rating. This week was no exception. Staff are friendly and attentive with the meals excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Best rooms in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bootsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We had a very nice stay at the Camelia! Our room was very large and spotless with a beautiful sea view . Dinner at night was delicious, the staff serving were very friendly and professional. The breakfast the following morning was also delicious! The Camelia is very hard to fault. Thank you for such a lovely stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed for 2 nights was made very welcome waiting staff could not do enough to help .
The chef most certainly knows how to cook and present food very good well done fantastic new year with you.

Nigel Wanda Linton

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bizbmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.5 km away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
1.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
2.1 km away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#7 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelia Hotel

Property: Camelia Hotel
Address: 176-178 Eastern Esplanade | Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,836 - ₹ 8,116
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run Boutique hotel situated right on the seafront ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camelia Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing