We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$ 99
View deal
Free cancellation until 31/07/21
Priceline
US$ 99
View deal
Free cancellation until 31/07/21
ZenHotels.com
US$ 101
US$ 85
View deal
Expedia.comUS$ 100
Hotels.comUS$ 100
getaroom.comUS$ 101
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,403)
Filter reviews
1,403 results
Traveller rating
767
419
126
55
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
767
419
126
55
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant an early flight great view of the airport top floor airport hotel superior room train station close to the airport reception staff car park the air conditioning excellent stay one night stay following morning good nights sleep comfy bed lovely room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,403 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2021 via mobile

Standard Holiday Inn
Very limited vegan options on the menu but the restaurant staff/chef were excellent at sorting something out. Stayed for 2 nights and the staff at dinner and breakfast remember my dietary needs.
Reception staff on check in and restaurant staff very friendly and helpful

Room tip: Walking distance from South end on sea airport
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank NickyBowring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohit Singh, Owner at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Dear NickyBowring,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am sorry to hear you had difficulty finding a vegan dish on our All Day Dining Menu but I am equally glad our restaurant team were excellent in sorting this out for you and that they remembered your dietary needs. We will certainly take your comments on board and review our menus to ensure we have dishes to suit all needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Southend again in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Louise Merrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2021

My Review does not include a stay at the hotel. However, the room layout was not ideal for a meeting and could have remained socially distancing in a different layout. The refreshments were late and not what we expected and the lunch was of poor quality, with an apple that looked as though it was due to be put in the bin. No drinks at lunch until we asked and crisps that were not vegan were given to us as a Vegan Lunch. The furniture was shabby and marks on the surfaces made them look dirty and unkempt.

Date of stay: May 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank beverleygallacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohit Singh, Owner at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2021

Dear beverleygallacher,

On behalf of our hotel and Food & Beverage Department, kindly please accept our sincere apologies for the short fall of service and the inconvenience caused to your seven delegates during their one-day meeting.
We are sorry for not serving your first tea and coffee break on time and for serving a non-vegan bag of crisp with a vegan meal by error.
Although you would appreciate that COVID-19 restrictions still in place, we are working hard to bring all team onboard after long absence in furlough however, I can assure you this is not the high standard of services we strive to provide to our guests in Conference and Events Department.

I have shared your email with the department team and used your feedback to retrain C&E team to avoid a repeat of these mistakes.

I have also sent you a private email and look forward to hearing from you!

warm regards
Rohit Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2021

We have stayed here 3 times. Each time they have adapted a menu to adapt to my intollerances.
We can honestly say the food is absolutley outstanding. All 3 times the food is in our top 10 of meals we've ever eaten out. The last time due to lockdown & reduced menu we had to choose items we would NEVER normally eat & still within out TOP !0. Faultless! Thank You

Date of stay: April 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KurtandTracyHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohit Singh, Owner at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Dear KurtandTracyHansen,

Thank you so much for your glowing review. It is a delight to read that our team adapted to suit your needs and that you think our food is absolutely outstanding. Our head chef is particularly delighted with your comments.

Please do let me know the next time you visit our hotel by emailing salesmgr@hisouthend.com so I can personally welcome you and look after you.

Our warmest best wishes,
Louise Merrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2021

Had to move armchair & table to get to right side of bed
Kettle in dangerous place too high on shelf for WChair user
No room for WChair to get to it due to armchair & table
BaSin too big
Square toilet very uncomfortable
Door too heavy to pull open should have auto opener
Bed side tables in the way for commode
No bed grab rails
Couldn’t get to light on desk to turn off due to armchair, table & desk chair.
Curtains need to be automatic or have stick to pull open or close
Pedal bin in bathroom not good for disabled people without use of legs/feet

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank allisonmckenna66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohit Singh, Owner at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2021

Dear allisonmckenna66,

I was deeply disappointed and sorry to receive your review, particularly as the observation and feedback you have provided is certainly not indicative of what we normally receive from our guests, which can be seen from other reviews consistently posted prior to your review.

Whilst I would like to reassure you that all our accessible room are build and approved by IHG specifications and I have included some of the specifications below:

• Interconnect with a Standard Double/double or Twin room
• Wheelchair access must be provided as a minimum to one side of the bed (preferably towards bed side telephone) however we have more than 3ft of clear space on the both sides of the bed.
• All light switches must be located within the reach of guests in wheelchairs and must be easily operated
• One clothes rail must be installed at an accessible height but not higher than 1.2m (4ft) above floor level
• Wheelchair access is recommended on both sides of the bed.
• Access must be provided to all areas of the room.
• Clear and unobstructed 1.5m x 1.5m (5ft x 5ft) wheelchair turning space, both in sleep and bath zone.

With regards to your comments about the guest room, I have taken this opportunity to further investigate these in more detail and further to highlight any training needs that may be required within our team. I have been to your room and audited our specification again and taken few pictures and would like to assure you that there is enough space for wheelchair access and easy maneuver.

We aim to learn from every feedback and I thankful for highlighting these points as we will invest in sensor or hand touch bins and will train our team to inform our guest during check-in about Kettle position in the room and on request assist our guest by relocating them to more accessible platform / writing desk.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you in near future.

Warm regards
Rohit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2021 via mobile

The check-in was flawless. However, booking .com had a twin not double which was quickly rectified. Although none of the usual extras, Gym etc were available, stayed and relaxed in the room. Requested room service which was excellent. Well done all the staff.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KenBessent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohit Singh, Owner at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Dear KenBessent,

Thank you for your amazing five star review. I am glad to see your Booking.com bedroom issues was rectified quickly on check in and that you enjoyed your room service. Due to Covid some in-room services and hotel amenities had to be removed, however we are looking forward to fully re-opening our hotel and all amenities from 17th May in line with government guidance.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future when you are working in the area again.

Kindest Regards,
Louise Merrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews