We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (960)
Filter reviews
960 results
Traveller rating
477
321
92
44
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
477
321
92
44
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant an early flight top floor retail park great view of the airport mini gym airport runway superior room liverpool street bar menu modern hotel train station close to the airport car park the air conditioning comfortable rooms one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 960 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

Went to England (from Australia) for a family wedding in Southend-on-Sea. The bride and groom had arranged for guests to enjoy a ‘preferred rate’ at the Holiday Inn, situated adjacent to and with views over the local airport.

First impressions count. When booking from Australia we booked for 3 nights (longer than most other guests) and requested a superior room only to be told the preferred rate applied only to standard rooms!

From there the ‘Fawlty Towers’ experience only gathered momentum. We noticed the sign that guests were promised a 10/10 experience. This is an important message on arrival. We had requested an early check-in as our flight landed at Heathrow at 5am (usual check in is 2pm) and were told that they ‘understood’ and it should not be a problem. When we arrived, no record of our request and despite repeated assurances, no room was available until 1pm. Reception suggested that we go to the dining area and enjoy some breakfast - as we were leaving the dining room after the breakfast, we were questioned as if we were ‘doing a runner’ (is the correct English expression, I believe) because we did not have a room number to provide. In any event, we had assumed it was a courtesy gesture given the failure to provide the early check-in but were subsequently asked which of the 3 pre-paid breakfasts for our stay we wished to ‘surrender’ for that experience!

But there was more ........ at dinner that evening in the same dining room, with other wedding guests, we were told that some of the party had not booked for dinner (there were plenty of empty tables) so they could not sit with us as it would create too much pressure for the chefs!! Confused? So were we. Then when we asked for a bottle of wine we were told that it was a busy time so we might be better going to the bar to purchase it.

Next morning we arrived for breakfast at 9.40am to be advised (in a surly tone) we were too late, breakfast service had finished at 9.30am sharp - indeed, breakfast food items had been largely cleared.

The proverbial ‘icing on the cake’ was that the non-preferred rate superior room was located on level 4, immediately below the dining room and bar on level 5. The first morning we were woken at 5.10am with what sounded like children playing ball games. The same happened on each of the next two mornings. We found out it was the staff ‘preparing’ for the breakfast service - clearly with no regard for the guests below. Oh, and we haven’t mentioned the gangs of ‘boys’ and ‘girls’ holiday groups, presumably leaving from the adjoining airport that enjoyed breakfast early and loudly and ‘partied’ late and loudly with accompanying unexpected levels of alcohol consumption.

We do recognise the sympathy and professionalism of Carlos and Ashleigh at the reception desk as we checked out. They would be better suited in a higher quality, guest-focussed hotel and we thank them. Would we ever return? What do you think? ...... and, as for that sign at reception, we think it belongs to another hotel establishment!!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear Michael K,

Thank you for sharing your feedback in regard to your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the multiple lapses in service and for not meeting your expectations and living upto the high reputation of Holiday Inn brand. Please be assured that your feedback is well received as it is our constant endeavor to elevate our services and serve you better on your future stays with us.

I agree every experience is individual however i would certainly like to add we have 873 reviews on Trip advisor and 85% of the reviews are in Excellent and very good category and i would surely like to discuss your case directly if you would wish to contact me on gm@hisouthend.com.

I hope that you will treat this stay in isolation and give us the opportunity to welcome you back for a true Holiday Inn experience.

warmest regards, Rohit Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

I was really impressed with the set up at Southend airport. I live in Lowestoft and usually have to face the expense and chaos of Stanstead but we got a good deal from Southend this time. The hotel, airport and train station are all within 5 minutes walk of each other so getting from one to the other was very easy. The hotel was clean and the room was a good size. Check in was very quick and the all of the staff were very friendly. I didn't eat at the hotel but there is a MacDonald's across the Road for a cheap breakfast. If you live in East Anglia but are loathe to go onto London or face the madness of Stanstead give Southend airport a try. This hotel is cheaper than those there and there is no need for a £3 bus transfer. The airport itself is a lot smaller and calmer and there are more flights each year.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardTooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your fantastic 5 star feedback. I am happy to know that you had an awesome stay and that you especially enjoyed our location, the room and its views, and your suggestion about Southend airport is so real, airport has a promise to serve every guest with 15 minutes. It is undoubtedly one of the great experience.

I hope that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Rohit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Modern hotel. Large executive room although all windows are frosted.Front desk efficient and friendly. Let down by details. Stains on carpet and bedding. Flies in bar and restaurant area. Bar staff, although friendly could not get the tills to work ???? Called room service and front desk for continually for at least 5 - 10 minutes, no answer. Looks like a good hotel for proximity to airport but just needs those Holiday Inn finishing touches to make it a good business hotel.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank ray m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear Ray,
Thank you for sharing your feedback further to your recent stay with us. I have noted your feedback and apologise for not meeting your expectation and living upto our high reputation.

I regret that the room allocated to you was not to your liking due to frosted window. I do regret that this was not conveyed to you at check-in.

Your feedback regarding the bar and flies in bar is duly noted, fly killer is available in the bar and i can assure you we have invited our pest control team to investigate and find a solution however due to the weather and no windows in the property has created challenge with this issue. Thank you again for your constructive feedback and i am sure it will assist us to make our finishing touch much better.

warmest regards, Rohit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We wanted a nice quiet weekend break , to visit Southend-on-Sea, to be able to wal the pier but did not want to stay in the centre of town. This is the perfect location, very quiet , great staff who are all very helpful

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear Les,
Thank you for your kind words and I am glad to know that you loved the hotel and its facilities.
I am delighted that you had an enjoyable quiet weekend break experience at Holiday Inn Southend. Your generous appreciation has been shared with the entire service team.
Regards, Rohit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Very nice rooms with comfortable beds and excellent bathrooms.
Insufficient towels in the room but will assume that this was an oversight.
Good parking and relatively cheap. Located in a pretty shabby residential area but very convenient for Southend Airport

Room Tip: All rooms the same
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear Keith A,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Southend!

Thank you for your feedback further to your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, from the comfortable beds to excellent bathrooms, to the service provided by the hotel team. For the future reference 2nd set of the towels are placed outside bathroom next to tea and coffee making facilities in our hotel.

I hope that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards, Rohit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews