We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel with fantastic view at the back over the Stour estuary”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manningtree
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2017

I go in there for a beer every time I am on my way to take a ship from Harwich. It is a haven for me. Friendly staff, good beer, and a fantastic view over the beautiful estuary. Look for the historic article on the wall about River Stour duck hunters.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rob2885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Popped into the crown whilst visiting manningtree, great friendly service and so cheap for drinks . If you want value give it a go , a pint of real ale and a small bottle of pressecco for less than £8, unbelievable

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bryan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Party of 15, split up, we were first through the doors..lucky us as we were able to get drinks and food order ( Seniors Menu) in quickly. All food freshly cooked so a wait inevitable,not too bad for us but others had quite a delay, However, atmosphere good and the serving/waiting staff friendly and efficient.
The food was worth waiting for, good quality meat nicely cooked and a decent portion.

Coupled with views across the river a place to revisit

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank challenger530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We have just home from a lovely day in manningtree walking along the river front to Mistley and back, and called in to The Crown pub for a drink, we had a look at the menu and decided to both have the roast beef. Within about 5 minutes our dinner arrived and it looked and tasted lovely, loads of tender beef , home made Yorkshire and fresh veg with roast potatoes to die for. A lovely view of the river added to the wonderful day.... well done .... not that I'm complaining but the meal filled me up so much we were too full for desert. We shall be back very soon. .

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel7691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Went to the Crown for a late dinner, staff were friendly, food was good, quick and hot when arrived at table. During the day there are nice views of the bay. Three pubs in Manntingtree and this pub is in the top two....nice little pub

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manningtree
0.9 km away
The Mistley Thorn
The Mistley Thorn
#1 of 1 in Mistley
300 reviews
7.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
6.6 km away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
6 km away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: 51 High Street, Manningtree CO11 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Manningtree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manningtree
Price Range: ₹ 8,740 - ₹ 18,573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Public House and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing