We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manningtree
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Visited for the first time last week,Monday.Handy parking for this little gem. Great selection of beers and Sauvignon in the fridge YUM.
A very varied menu something for everyone. Our food arrived quickly,nicely presented and hot.The service was very good and the building is old and interesting.
Toilet facilities were spotless such a good indicator. On sunny days when the world and his neighbour are looking to dine outside, factor in a possible wait,not unreasonable,for your freshly cooked food.
Looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: We did not stay only used the restaurant but we would highly recommend and will return
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017

Highly recommend this put, Tony and his staff are all friendly and welcoming
The garden is a lovely spot to enjoy a cold drink looking out to the water
The food selection is great and top quality with a great home-made selection
It was a busy Saturday, but the tables were cleared quickly of food plates and drinks (something very lacking with many pubs)
Thanks Tony for a relaxing afternoon in the sun

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Had wonderfully fresh salad watching the boats go by..
...good service good you'd good ales what hold be better!! Very pleasant sitting outside ..inside also nice and cool..
Very friendly host and staff

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Normanjordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Unfortunately the battered cod was raw in the middle. It was promptly replaced with an apology. This should not happen in a public restaurant where they should use a thermometer to check the internal heat of food to check it is properly cooked to avoid poisoning their customers.

Our philosophy is to give a restaurant one chance to get it right - no second chances so we will not be returning nor recommending this place.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank novestonback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

This is a nice location looking over the water. It was busy-ish when we arrived for Sunday lunch but we got a table OK. The food was actually pretty good for the price - home cooked when it eventually arrived although portions were on the small side (even for Britain!) The main downside really was an attitude problem from the bar manager. A smile and hello would have been nice and we didn't appreciate the sarcasm when one of our party asked for information about a dish on the menu. When we ordered we were not told that there was going to be a long wait for food. Almost an hour in fact. When I made enquiries I was made to feel like I was being a nuisance. Customer service doesn't cost a dime.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennymechanustates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manningtree
0.9 km away
The Mistley Thorn
The Mistley Thorn
#1 of 1 in Mistley
300 reviews
7.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
6.6 km away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
6 km away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: 51 High Street, Manningtree CO11 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Manningtree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manningtree
Price Range: ₹ 8,718 - ₹ 18,526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Public House and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing