We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food at Posh Prices”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manningtree
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2013

worst experience of a meal out ive ever had. i went there today 01/02/2013. with my wife and two daughters. i had chilli con carni and chips. it looked like the dogs dinner that was barking in the background of the pub. it was all re-heated. my wife had cod and chips which came with peas and carrots........odd. i think the cod was still alive as it eaten half the chips. tasted like what you can buy in iceland. the childrens chicken nuggets and chips with beans that had a skin on them obviously was a few days old. the only good thing out of this pub is the view out of the window..........if you can see past the cobwebs. loud speaking women who suppossedly were waitressing made it not the most relaxing of atmospheres. 2 meals, a kids meal, a pint of fosters, a j2o and a cheap version of a fruit shoot came to £30. which means my pint must of been atleast £4. AVOID plus no baby changing facilities

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank matt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

The pub was OK and the staff reasonably friendly but the food was very poor. Out of the four of us who ordered dinner two had fish pie and thought it just about acceptable. One had steak and kidney pie which was not pleasant at all and half was not eaten. I had what was described as 8 oz sirlion steak which turned out to sliced roast beef 40% of which was fat which needed to be removed. The vegatables, chips, carrots and peas, were straight from a freezer pack, soggy, tasteless and only just warm.
On the plus side was a reasonable choice of beers and the deal of £8 for a bottle of Merlot well received. My advise is, if you looking for something edible, to give this place a miss.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Fred1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I quite enjoyed this bayside gem. The rooms were plain but clean. One of the most wonderful aspects of this place is the location next to the bay. I found myself transfixed by the tide scedule so I could see the fishermen walk out in the muck to their overturned boats, wait for the tide to come in and go to sea.

People were warm and friendly, food was nothing to write home about but decently priced. I stayed 2 days and quite enjoyed the town and its wonderful people.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We found the Crown to be a very nice pub, and had it not been raining on the evening of our stay would have enjoyed sitting in the beer garden looking out over the river. The beer and service was good, with helpful and chatty staff and a good breakfast the following morning. Had we not had to depart early that morning we would have looked around the town more and would have more than likely stayed at the Crown for lunch, the food that was being brought out the night before looked good, and a full dining room probably bore testament to that.Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Would have preferred to have stayed in a room above the Pub as opposed to a room in the annexe acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crumble50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I have been a regular at the Crown for many years and can summarise as follows:

-The draft beer is always top quality - they know how to store and serve beer
-The atmosphere is warm and cosy
-The location is great - in the summer you can sit outside and see the river
-Staff are friendly when you get to know them and efficient
-Food isn't very good and never has been
-Pricewise the beer is expensive and food is cheap - I guess you get what you pay for!

Definitely the best pub in Manningtree as long as you don't want a cordon blue experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manningtree
0.9 km away
The Mistley Thorn
The Mistley Thorn
#1 of 1 in Mistley
294 reviews
7.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
7.4 km away
The Court House
The Court House
#1 of 1 in Great Bromley
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: 51 High Street, Manningtree CO11 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Manningtree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manningtree
Price Range: ₹ 15,567 - ₹ 17,586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Public House and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing