We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing space.”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Wheatsheaf Barn

Entrance and Guest Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance and Guest Terrace
Open plan dining area Set for Dinner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Entrance and Guest Terrace
Open plan dining area
Set for Dinner
Sitting room with wood burner
Kitchen
Kitchen
View from the balcony
Wheatsheaf Barn
Balcony sitting area with sofa bed
Looking through to the courtyard
From the courtyard door
Bedroom 1 set up with Super-king bed
Bedroom 1 set up with two singles
Arts and Crafts bedroom
Red Bedroom
Wood!!! The landing corridor.
Full Height from the landing.
Laundry (which is upstairs).
Downstairs room with chair beds and door through to boot room and shower.
Additional ensuite bedrooms are available in the owner's house across the courtyard.
The other holiday let in the village- Grayson Perry's 'house for Essex'.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Manningtree, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shorty999
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing space.”
Reviewed 1 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

I spent a week at the Wheatsheaf Barn with my husband to spend quality time with family who live in Colchester. It is huge and would easily accommodate our whole family for a family celebration.
The layout of the building is fabulous and if you need something, it's there. The barn is clean, spacious and very comfortable. Watching the sunset from the balcony and also seeing two woodpeckers land right in front of the Barn were highlights of our trip.
Wrabness is a lovely little village. We used the friendly village shop which is within walking distance of the Barn where we were able to buy essentials. We also enjoyed walks down little tracks to the Stour. It's a great place for dog lovers.
The owners, and very discreet neighbours, Janet & Tony could not have been more welcoming. Thank you for sharing your place with us. Well done Tony for your vision and hard work in converting this amzing space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seeing 2 woodpeckers land in front of the barn
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude B
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely spacious accommodation in peaceful village”
Reviewed 21 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We visited this accommodation with a young family who enjoyed the vast living areas, and the toys provided. We found this to be a well equipped holiday let in a beautiful barn conversion and enjoyed the views along the Stour Estuary and the lovely local walks to great nature reserves - a great place to stay for keen bird watchers all year round. Be aware that there are hard floors throughout if you have a baby of crawling age!

Train station is nearby so you can leave your car behind! Shame there was no local pub though. Owners were relaxed and flexible to our needs. We hope to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, the views and the peace and quiet.
Liked least: Would be better with a garden, but compensated with plenty of lovely walks nearby
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laraine_1...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Has everything you need for a relaxing break with bells on!”
Reviewed 21 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

What a find!! We went to the barns with another family (10 of us in total). The accommodation is nothing short of beautiful, everything is fitted and equipped to the highest standard,the owners have clearly given a lot of thought to making guests comfortable. The kitchen is a proper cooks kitchen, with a massive fridge/freezer that easily fitted our huge shop,which was delivered on our arrival. The layout is ideal for families, the lounge was more than big enough for all of us and when the adults needed a bit of peace from the kids, the separate lounge/games room was great.The owners were very welcoming and helpful. Infact, Janet left a couple of homemade cakes on our arrival, which was a lovely touch. The house itself is very private and quiet. The surrounding area is beautiful and there's loads to go at. We walked from the house on couple of days, went to Mersea where there is a gorgeous oyster bar. We also had a lovely evening meal (for all 10 of us) in a local pub called The Village Maid - highly recommend that too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high specification of the barn, it was beautiful and so comfortable.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt h
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Building and excellent location”
Reviewed 18 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

I have just returned from a long weekend at this location and i have to say what an amazing barn conversion this is. The building is something else and the location is excellent for days out and about to nearby coastal areas and very handy for grabbing a train and heading off for the day into london. The rooms and finishings through out are of a very high standard with quality furnishings and a log burning fire which at the end of a day was very relaxing to settle in front of and added to the character of the property. I travelled with my partner and 3 children and there was plenty of room and plenty of places to keep the children occupied both inside and out. i was most impressed with the fact the owner of the property had gone to the trouble of baking a cake for our arrival, which was most welcome after a long drive to get there. All in all this is an excellent place to stay and i would highly recommend it to anyone, my only regret is that i couldn't of stayed for longer but will making efforts to get back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size and quality of the building
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLG1964
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful old barn, wonderful break in Essex.”
Reviewed 18 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We travelled by train from London which was only 50 minutes, the owners very kindly collected us from Manningtree station after missing our connection to Wrabness station. We met up with friends at the barn, in total there were four adults and six boys between age 9 and 13 in our group. The barn accommodated us all very comfortably. The facilities in the barn are excellent, Janet and Tony, the owners have done a wonderful job renovating the old building and have thought of everything that you might need. Janet had even made a cake for our arrival!! There is lots of space for everybody to spread out or to be together in the large lounge and fab kitchen/dining area. Also, there is a room with games table which the boys loved. The view from the barn is lovely and there is a nice patio area which was perfect to sit on in the sunshine. We went for a long walk around the coastal area known as the Essex Way, which is only 5 mins from the barn and stopped off in the idillic village of Bradfield for some light refreshment at the pub before walking back along the lanes. I can highly recommend the pub food at The Villlage Maid. We also visited Walton on the Naze for fun in the amusement arcades on the pier, a play on the beach and a walk along the seafront to look at all the pretty beach huts. Another short drive took us to the pretty harbour and seafront at West Mersea where the are some excellent seafood restaurants. There is lots do to around the area and Wheatsheaf Barn is an excellent and stylish base with all the home comforts that you need including free wi-fi, a lovely log burning fire and open views to the estuary. All in all a big thank you to Janet and Tony for our wonderful stay and all their hospitality, especially the delicious chocolate banana cake!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open space and modern facilities.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing