We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay”
Review of Chudleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chudleigh
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at the Chudleigh 2 nights last year visiting friends in Clacton, and have just stayed on a second occasion for another two nights. The hotel owners and staff are very welcoming, the rooms are very clean, comfortable and well equipped, with attention to detail, and the breakfasts are generous and well cooked. Carole and Peter have been running the Chudleigh since 1964 and they have got small-hotel-running down to a tee. Cannot fault it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCN6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    29
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
92
187
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We had a one night stay in The Chudleigh and don't think we could have chosen a better place to stay. On arrival we were met by the owners who showed us where to park then after a quick check in showed us to our room which would rival some 5 star hotels! We stayed in room 4, not the biggest room in the world but it was clean, bright and beautifully decorated. Facilities included a hairdryer, TV, tea and coffee facilities with a good selection as well as some biscuits and chocolates. The bed was oh soooooooooo comfortable, the bathroom was clean with a good selection of toiletries.
We also had breakfast, soo much choice, so nice and cooked to order. Even the location of this hotel is ideal, close to both the beach and the town centre, couldn't fault it in any way, if you're planning a visit to Clacton then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steviep18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My husband is a rep,and has stayed in this hotel for nigh on 30 years,when he is in the area,and this is the first time I have been able to accompany him.He has always sung the Chudleigh's praises,and I certainly wasn't disappointed.Lovely hotel,very friendly couple,exquisite bedroom,great food.If ever they receive a less than favourable review - believe me 'They should have gone to Specsavers'

Room Tip: All Good,I am sure evry room will delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

A wonderful warm and genuine welcome from Carole and Peter assured us that we had made the right choice with this hotel. Our large double room with comfy armchairs was almost like a suite, and the bathroom was big, shiny and so spotlessly clean, you would think it had just been installed yesterday. The little extra touches, a bar of Green & Black Chocolate, a teapot on the hospitality tray, good quality toiletries and huge towels were very welcome. Lovely breakfast. Couldn't have asked for me. So glad we stayed the two nights here, instead of moving on during our little tour of Essex resorts.

Room Tip: Room 3 was bright and sunny, and is a favourite of a well known showbiz legend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I have to agree with other recent reviews. This is an excellent hotel. Friendly and helpful owners and the attention to detail in the rooms is great. Everything clean and working as it should - no complaints. Ideal location for Clacton centre.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freeroddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clacton-on-Sea
2.6 km away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
558 reviews
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
0.2 km away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#8 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
29.5 km away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
539 reviews
40.0 km away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chudleigh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chudleigh

Property: Chudleigh
Address: 13 Agate Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#1 Best Value Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,987 - ₹ 7,919
Hotel Class:4 star — Chudleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Chudleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chudleigh Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing