We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Needs a complete overhaul” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Knaresborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Needs a complete overhaul”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed for 3 days. The room was adequate but the manager so indifferent to his guests.

Breakfast was fine and the girls in the restaurant were very pleasant and worked very hard......
Would expect room to have been hoovered over three days and also more tolieteries to be put out.
The bathroom was a complete 1960's-70s nightmare, nosiy toilet, no shower, a hand held shower would have been better than nothing when you trying to get sand out of your hair.

The hotel could be a beautiful place with a good bit of money spent on it. I imagine in its heyday it was one of the best in Clacton as it has good views and is in the quiet part of town.

Carpark was a nightmare.

Clacton itself was a lovely friendly seaside town with a good mix of ages. One plus point found a fantastic italian restaurant called Francos, just by chance.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bigger front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wizzy1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    47
    46
    29
    56
See reviews for
44
93
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here as relatives had their wedding reception in the hotel. We booked the best room (honeymoon suite) and it wasn't bad but when we were leaving we saw all the other rooms, because the house keeper left them open, and they were dreadful. The barman/manager was absolutely dreadful and boasted the morning after the wedding about how early he got rid of the wedding guests from the bar !! Food was poor and staff were reluctant to do anything that might make your stay pleasant. I recommend avoiding this hotel and finding a b&b.

Room Tip: Stay in honeymoon suite or not at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEBBIEDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clacton-on-Sea hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

I stayed for a short week-end break at Clacton-on-Sea (20th-22nd August). When i arrived i was greeted by friendly staff but had a bit of trouble finding my reservation from bookings.com, however they finally found and confirmed my booking and i was shown to my room. I was upgraded from single with sea view to double with sea view (room 16) over looking the Marine Parade and view of Calcton pier in the distance. The location was ideal as it was on the sea front and only 5 minutes walk to the pier and town centre. I found the room nice and clean, with the the en-suite facilities as described in loads of towels and shower gels with a bonus of digital tv and a mini fridge. the over all decor of the room and the hotel was standard. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful with any quieries or needs during my stay. The food was good with a buffet style breakfast and a fanatasic carvery dinner on Sunday. When i checked out, i was not travelling back to London untill the afternoon so wanted to spend the half the day shopping, and the staff held my luggage in an office untill i returned. The only bit of grumble i have is not all of free-view/digital channels viewed but i guess it may be due to reception, the toliet was a bit noisy, and traffic noise but overall i enjoyed stay would return back there if i visit Clacton again for a short break.

Room Tip: Room 16, Ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frubies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

My daughter and her partner searched the internet for Hotels in Tenby,Wales and this Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea came up and unfortunately they booked it by telephone. She arrived at the Esplanade Hotel,Tenby at the end of June and was told that they had not been booked there but the booking into The Esplanade ,Clacton-on-Sea by mistake had happened to a few people and was probably due to the Hotel advertising on the wrong site. The receptionist at the Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea was very unsympathetic and in fact was quite rude and denied that this could have occured. I have now noticed that the Hotel in Clacton-on-sea has now been removed from the site.All I can say is that they must have been very desperate for bookings.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

I think Ive never seen such an untidy and old room like the hotel room we stayed in for one night ! I have planned to stay longer but when the bath has no possibility to take a shower and is so dirty that you better dont shower at all it means you better go and get another hotel. Honestly the hotel from outside looks very nice. When you book a family room its total horror. At night I was real scared Ill share my bed with mice or something. This hotel really need to be refurbished and needs a new owner. Better look for something else.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
1.5 km away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.2 km away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.8 km away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#13 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
8.9 km away
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Property: Esplanade Hotel
Address: 27-29 Marine Parade East, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,003 - ₹ 6,337
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family run Seafront Hotel; Ideally located close to the Pier, Town Centre and all available attractions. 30 bedrooms, many with sea views. All rooms have en-suite facilities; colour Satellite TV, tea & coffee facilities, hair dryer and direct dial telephone. All telephones have sockets for laptops to connect to the internet. An attractive licensed bar and lounge. Open to non-residents although monitored for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing