We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of The Wine Cellar

The Wine Cellar
Ranked #26 of 426 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 32
Cuisines: French, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated in the quaint alleyways in front of Chelmsford Cathedral, the Wine Cellar is a unique and stylish place. A first class food and wine menu with a range of over 20 different gins plus cocktails and our popular Prosecco Bar, there is something here for everyone! Bespoke private hire options also available.
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic restaurant! We really enjoyed our lunch in this cosy restaurant. We were celebrating the marriage of our nephew and the staff helped to make it a lovely, warm occasion. They were so friendly and helpful.

We ordered a range of dishes and everything was delicious. Excellent portion sizes too. As other reviewers say, this really is a hidden gem.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Titchy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineC C, Manager at The Wine Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hi Titchy

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We were so pleased that you chose The Wine Cellar to host your Wedding Breakfast. Enjoy your celebrations in Mexico! We would like to wish the happy couple all the best for their new life in the US.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2018

Went here for drinks with friends on a Saturday night. It was very busy, to a while to get a seat, but the atmosphere was buzzy and comfortable. We were not eating, but we eventually found a little corner to sit in the bar area. Good choice of wine and understand in the middle of revamping. Friendly girls behind the bar. Will certainly go back and maybe eat too.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Service
Thank Lorraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineC C, Manager at The Wine Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hi Lorraine

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Being underground and a small venue, we constantly struggle with sufficient seating in the bar area. There is, however, always the option to reserve one of the tables in the bar area if you wished to secure seating for the evening.

You may be interested to know that our new Wine Menu officially starts this week. We will also be doing a food and wine pairing menu which will pair our new wines to our new a la carte menu. Hopefully you will come down soon and try it out!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

I have been to the Wine Cellar several times now. Consistently good food and service. My only niggle is the noise. I went with a friend recently and our table was by the bar, we could barely have a conversation. The waitress was very helpful and did move us to the alcove when that table vacated which made a massive difference. People in the bar kept trying to sit at vacated tables but the staff did keep them free until everyone in the restaurant had finished eating.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lisajtalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineC C, Manager at The Wine Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hello Lisa

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed our new menu and felt looked after.

We are a busy little place at weekends and, as we are small (or cosy, as some reviewers kindly refer to us as), we have no natural barrier between the first couple of tables in the restaurant and the bar. When you next book with us, if you mention that you would like to have a table situated away from the bar area we will do our very best to accommodate your wishes. However as these tables are popular, they are reserved on a first-come-first-served basis.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

We went in for my birthday meal, there was a good atmosphere, plenty of people but not too many, the service was excellent and really good food. We’ll definitely go back!

Date of visit: February 2018
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank jonathanhgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineC C, Manager at The Wine Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Hi Jonathan

Thank you for taking the time to post this kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the dishes on our new menu and hope that we made your birthday celebration a special one! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful eve celebrating my daughter’s birthday, food was delicious, so much to choose from and great vegetarian options too, service was excellent, atmosphere so friendly and welcoming ,

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank dancingtraveller2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineC C, Manager at The Wine Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Good afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your daughter's birthday celebrations with us and enjoyed our vegetarian menu choices. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wine Cellar also viewed

 

Been to The Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing