We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of The Stables Cafe

The Stables Cafe
Ranked #324 of 430 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Description: The Stables Café is situated in a delightful courtyard within Hylands Estate, near the historic Hylands House stately home. The café offers a selection of fresh and locally sourced food including sandwiches, baguettes and wraps. There are also hot and cold snacks and freshly baked cakes on offer. The café has an outdoor kiosk which opens at 9am perfect for any dog walker looking to warm up with a hot drink and a bite to eat.
Restaurant details
Description: The Stables Café is situated in a delightful courtyard within Hylands Estate, near the historic Hylands House stately home. The café offers a selection of fresh and locally sourced food including sandwiches, baguettes and wraps. There are also hot and cold snacks and freshly baked cakes on offer. The café has an outdoor kiosk which opens at 9am perfect for any dog walker looking to warm up with a hot drink and a bite to eat.
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Had to queue for ages then sit among dirty tables to eat 20 minutes apart from each other on plastic plates with balsa wood cutlery- won’t be going there again AVOID

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank jedibr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Such a wonderful friendly place to eat the food was fantastic and the service was great would highly recommend also very child friendly we will definitely be back

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

Myself and my family ate here last Sunday. We had 2 sandwiches and my boys had jacket potatoes. The food was hot, well presented and tasty. The coffee was also very pleasant. We were very impressed by the friendly service and will definitely be back sooner rather than later. Thank you..

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Snicholl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Popped in for tea / coffee and cake after a walk with the dog round the park.Had to sit on what they call the patio as we had the dog. It was expensive for what we got and was disappointed. Shame we could not sit in courtyard.They havd a captive audience and could do better.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Neal192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Last Saturday afternoon we were meeting friends at the Stables. Stood at the servery while 3 staff clearly saw we were waiting to be served. It wasn't busy. Other than us there was no one else queueing. Finally I had to ask if someone would actually acknowledge our presence.
We asked for something from the menu and was told they didn't have it." I've got two baguettes left or there is some chips".
No offer to make a sandwich or any other alternative. We asked if we could get a bacon sandwich but as in other reviews here, were told that bacon stops at 11.30. I assume the grill must turn in to something else at 11.31 !
We had coffee and left.
Unfortunately Trip Advisor doesn't allow a no star review !
The staff we encountered were at best surly and at worst ignorant. A simple "be with you in a minute" would have sufficed.
The clue I suppose was that when we walked in it wasn't nearly as busy as expected. I wish I'd read the previous reviews on here then we'd have not bothered
We will not return.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Containsnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stables Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Stables Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing