We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant by far”
Review of The Cuckoo

The Cuckoo
Ranked #7 of 425 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We have date night every week and have tried to get into The Cuckoo at late notice but couldn’t as it’s renowned for its superb food. Success tonight. The owners and staff are amazing, no rushing at all and plenty of time to deliberate over the menu.

My salmon fish cake was one of the best I’ve ever had and my rump of lamb with cous cous salad, roasted vegetables and mint jus was heavenly. So soft, pink and perfect. Hubbie’s spiced monkfish with chickpeas and red onion salad and flatbread with tsatziki was superb.

We’ve booked for a family event next week as it is a pleasure to eat here. Well done. You work so hard. And I can testify that when you are saying ‘bye,bye,bye’ you’re actually saying it to the staff members ... not the customers

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank xxxhodgexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2018

A truly wonderful little place, you need to book sometimes up to 2 weeks in advance!
Excellent service, outstanding menu and service.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank pmbudge4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Driving up to the restaurant, both my friend and I were cooing about how charming it looked and how it could easily have the backdrop of a Devon coastline behind it. Our friend met us at the door and then I believe it was the owner that ushered us to our table.

The menu choices were excellent and all looked very appealing. Food was not at all disappointing and all three of us were very happily full. However, we felt somewhat rushed to order dessert, being prompted twice within 5 minutes and almost immediately as soon as our mains were cleared away. The second prompt from the waitress came across as a little on the brusque side.

Desserts were very tasty and we were provided swiftly with our coffees following this. Very soon after the coffee arrived, so did the bill. 5 mins later, the waitress returned and pressed us to check the bill and returned a few minutes later appearing to be in a hurry for us to pay. Feeling a little chastised we grabbed our cards to pay. It was 2.55pm and we realised we were the last ones in the restaurant and observed the waitress sweeping around us. As we got up to pay a trip to the ladies before exiting, both the owner and the waitress called out bye bye several times so we gestured our intention and I reminded the waitress politely that I had a jacket to collect. This was ignored but I put it down to her not hearing me. When we returned to leave, again the calls were almost deafening by the owner and waitress of bye bye, bye bye. Again I asked for my jacket to which the waitress seemed affronted and sped off and returned having crumpled my jacket into a ball and proffering it over the bar. Again the calls of bye bye came. I didnt expect her to dress me, but to at least have had the decency to hand me my jacket in the same way it was given to her would have been nice. The constant urges to hurry us out of the door did not sit comfortably with me. Such a shame, as the experience up until then was a nice one. I would have given this a better grading, but for the hurrying.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank chess3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Excellent lunch at this stunning country pub. Good choice of lunchtime light meals served with homemade bread. The service was very good and the meal was served in a relaxed atmosphere. The dining room has been extended since the last time we visited, but it has been done sympathetically and there are now views over adjoining countryside. The food is excellent.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank furze2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Best to book this restaurant as it’s quite small, and has a real country cottage feel. Food is excellent and the staff are very helpful,

Date of visit: October 2017
2  Thank alazychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cuckoo also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to The Cuckoo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing