We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and peaceful”

Review of The Piggery

Piggery and quayside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Piggery and quayside
The Piggery viewed from the stream The Piggery
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Piggery and quayside
The Piggery viewed from the stream
The Piggery
Quayside and seating
The Piggery sitting room
Sitting room
Sitting room
Bedroom
View from paddock
Moss Cottage
View from stables of the piggery
Riding on the forest
Stream bordering the garden
Path to the quayside
Gravel courtyard and garden lighting to Piggery
The Piggery in summer
Seclusion
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hartfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Helen F
Gibraltar
1 review
“Beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Loved everything about the location and accommodation. Lovely cosy cottage. Had everything we needed. Very clean. The hosts are very helpful and kind. Thank you so much, hope to be back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrannyPen
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely, tranquil location overlooking the stream. A perfect place to rest and totally relax plus great area for walks through the woods and Ashdown Forest. Felt like a child revisiting nearby Pooh Bridge and throwing Pooh sticks (A.A. Milne's Wiinnie The Pooh).

The cottage was extremely comfortable and more than fully equiped..lots of extras! Lunch at nearby Hatch Inn was excellent. We had a wonderful week and will certainly be back. Very friendly and helpful owners.

Possible problem for older or handicapped people having to climb steep stairs to attic bedroom ..but we are in our late 60s and loved the cosyness of it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cosy cottage/lovely location
Liked least: Having to leave after a week of bliss.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingha...
birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“totally delightful”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

what a beautiful place to have a get away , so cosy and comfortable , the hosts Jenny and Paul were so kind and considerate, i would definitely recommend this gorgeous little place ,I took my partner and our dogs ( slightly extra cost for taking my dogs but well worth it ) and Jenny and Paul were fab as were their two dogs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cosiness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daveoh77
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Totally amazing”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I searched high and low for somewhere special to take my partner for a short stay for her birthday. When I saw the pictures of the piggery I instantly knew I'd found the place, and it didn't disappoint. Jenny is an absolutely amazing host and went out of her way to ensure our stay was perfect. She even provided us with some kitchen items that weren't already in the excellently equipped kitchen. The surroundings are perfect and extremely tranquil, the perfect setting for a romantic stay. I can't recommend this place enough. A truly 5 star stay.
Thank you for an amazing break.
Dave and Gem xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kate g
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a lovely stay in the piggery. It's a truly beautiful spot in a gorgeous part of the country. The log burner was cosy and welcoming and the whole place was really well kitted out for a self catering stay with lots of thoughtful extras that were greatly appreciated. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfy bed and true peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing