We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, simple, attractive rooms. Less good service.”
Review of Blyth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blyth Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice, simple, attractive rooms. Less good service.”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Well priced. Deal including meal is good value. Attractive hotel, very tasteful decor. Good if you have simple needs. Not good service for families with young kids. Requested room with large bathroom for cot, got room with tiny bathroom and no suitable alternative was offered. Slow restaurant service (to be fair it was half term and there were new staff), but lots of mistakes. Simple facilities, would be great to have small fridge in room. No food served before 6.30pm, not even snacks - impossible to do kids tea. Overall, a lovely hotel for adults and couples but not geared to young families. Perhaps purposefully? But good value.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    299
    137
    43
    29
See reviews for
79
514
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We have stayed at several hotels in Southwold and Aldeburgh over the years and I have to say that this is one of the best. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, the room (we had Room 6 which had a balcony and looked out to the front of the building) was well decorated, clean and a reasonable size, the public rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable and the breakfasts were superb. The food surpassed anything we have experienced in other supposedly up-market hotels in Southwold or Aldeburgh . Whatever you do eat in the hotel, the evening meals were exceptional and totally delicious. I can't see us staying anywhere else when we next visit delightful Southwold. With the Groupon offer this represented outstanding value for money.

Room Tip: Although our balcony room was brilliant for us, sunny evenings ,glass wine etc it does face a fairly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Having stayed at the two other main hotels in charming Southwold, we decided to give the Blyth a chance to see what they had to offer. We found a delightfully friendly, homely establishment that was altogether much less stuffy than the other two main hotels. We had a friendly reception on arrival and our room was spacious and furnished to a very acceptable standard. The breakfast was filling and well cooked (and not at all greasy.) We had a bar meal in the evening which was also extremely acceptable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the general atmosphere of the hotel was good. We shall stay at this cosy hotel again. Our bed in room 8 was exceptionally comfortable.

Room Tip: Our only experience so far with the Blyth was in room 8 and that was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

husband and I had a lovely stay at this cosy and nicely decorated hotel. Breakfast was really scrumptious & good quality, staff friendly, pleasant room (room 3, king size bed) with good size bathroom. The big big problem for a hotel of this price or any for that matter (£130 & more per double room per night) was the complete lack of hot water with the shower at 7a.m or in the evening or the next morning. Quite unbelievable really as this was never said to us when we booked or at our arrival. Ok there were plenty of discreet & permanent notices by the taps about letting the water run for 3 minutes as it can take a while for the water to reach our pipes but nothing else as drastic as no hot water was mentioned.We eventually realized that we could take a bath instead, very welcome after our long day walk but I couldn't wash my hair in a bath as I have long thick hair but that's beyond the point. By chance, the manager was there at reception as we checked out. He tried to charge us for our stay and we had to confirm that we had long ago paid. He had to check this on his computer. we were not very impressed with his offhanded & non apologetic attitude as he should have been more aware of the situation. And when finally we said that yes, indeed we had a nice stay with a lovely breakfast but that we had been unable to take a shower the whole 2 days, he completely refused to take responsibility for this and a problem that had existed for 6 years, ever since he took over I believe. We were quite stunned by his arrogant , non apologetic attitude . Had we not been Groupon customers, therefore getting a good deal for our week-end away, we definitely would have asked for some part refund and complained. Surely, it is basic requirement to provide a comfortable bed (that was no problem) AND a hot shower in a hotel. Unbelievable to think that you can pay such money and no hot water and a lousy customer service from the hotel manager !! A scene out of Faulty Towers. Remember John Cleese !!
Despite this, everything else was enjoyable !!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florence935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed for two nights at The Blyth, the first night in Room 2 and the second night in the Southwold Suite. On entering we saw the restaurant and bar, both very nicely done out but I have to say I was shocked by the filthy carpet on the stairs up to the rooms and it was even worse in the room (Room 2) with stains and an unidentified blob of something stuck in one place, so much so, I didn't want to walk barefoot on it! Otherwise the room was ok, no more, small, and the shower room has nowhere to put toiletries, toothbrushes, etc. The shower unit had a leak and as a result the flow of water was very fine. Took forever to get washed! Bed small and hard with two single headboards instead of a double which seemed odd! The kitchen extractor chimney right outside the bedroom window is very loud so ask for another room if this will bother you. Our second night was in the Southwold Suite, featured in the hotel's professional photographs. Nice room, Laura Ashley decor, good size, king size bed - and headboard, carpet in better state and away from the noisy fan! Slight issue with the shower here so had (whirlpool) bath instead - then couldn't reach lovely toiletries provided as they are in a fixed unit on the wall (lower please!!)The hotel is well placed, breakfasts were excellent with delicious homemade bread and the staff delightful and attentive, so we left with mixed feelings about our stay! Just ask not to stay in Room 2!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillabel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
332 reviews
0.5 km away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
394 reviews
0.6 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
691 reviews
20.0 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
654 reviews
21.0 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blyth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blyth Hotel

Property: Blyth Hotel
Address: Station Road, Southwold IP18 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,966 - ₹ 11,750
Hotel Class:2 star — Blyth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, yet stylish. The Blyth offers comfortable, well decorated bedrooms, all en-suite with a popular bar and AA Rosette awarded restaurant. A perfect, family friendly base for your stay in the beautiful town of Southwold. Contemporary seaside hospitality at its best - personal service from a friendly and experienced team of staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blyth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyth Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing