We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A weekend to remember”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Scaldbeck House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Morston, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Guy E
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A weekend to remember”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We held a joint 50th birthday with 4 families at Scaldbeck house for a weekend , it was wonderful, everything described in the package was there and more. The house looks over the Norfolk marshes and is walking distance to the village of Moreston .
The house was perfect , with so much space and it was just so clean and tidy. Would recommend Scaldbeck House to anybody looking for a lovely family gathering. And to top it off 20 degrees on The Norfolk coast in November unheard of . great memories

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about our house. I will pass them on to all who work so hard behind the scenes to ensure we deliver the house in the state you describe. It means so much to us all - thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R
Ely, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent house in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We recently held a weekend house party for 9 couples at Scaldbeck House to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and had an incredible time. We fell in love with the house when we viewed it and were not disappointed when we had the pleasure of spending a weekend there.

Vicky and James were very friendly, helpful and efficient. They even suggested a chef, Will Gowing, for our dinner on Saturday evening. Will has amazing and everybody loved the menu he created for us.

The house is very spacious and we certainly enjoyed staying in Knot, the master suite. All of our guests were very complimentary of the decor, surrounds and furnishings.

We were very lucky with the weather meaning that could enjoy a barbeque in the courtyard on Sunday evening.

We were sorry to leave on the Monday morning. Our secuirty depoist was also fully reimbursed very quickly indeed.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Scaldbeck House and hope to return soon. Don't forget to take a Seal Trip from the Anchor (just down the road) and pop in for lunch on the way back, it's amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and location
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
So glad you enjoyed Scaldbeck. It gives us great pleasure that you enjoy our house so much!
Thanks - James and Vicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette M
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic House and grounds”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Arrived on a damp Friday afternoon but that did not detract from the superb house and grounds. We had a wonderful hot and sunny week with my extended family and we even sprung a surprise wedding on them all. The house was perfect for all of us (18 in total), enough space to get away by yourself or for being all together (including the 3 dogs).
We got married in the annexe with the doors fully open looking out to our favourite place, Blakeney Point, it was amazing.
James and Vicky (the owners) couldn't have been more helpful, we will definitely be going back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for posting the kind review.
We really appreciate the trouble to say a few kind words, and so glad you had a great time!
James and Vicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShCBMe
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect setting for a weekend away”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A large group of friends on a weekend away, and Scaldbeck House was the perfect setting.
Each room is decorated to perfection. So much thought has gone into the design of the house, making it welcoming and luxurious in equal measure. Gorgeous large spaces for big group get-togethers, smaller rooms and quiet little spots for chilling out, a roomy and sociable kitchen, and facilities that make it easy for a large group of adults to enjoy a relaxed weekend with no fuss.
There's no doubt we will be back - it was very hard to leave.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2014
Thanks so much for posting a kind review of your stay in our house. We hope you will come again, and enjoy more of the great Norfolk Coast! James and Vicky.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiBeeDee
UK
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Blissful country weekend retreat!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I cannot fault this beautiful house - well equipped, beautifully furnished, plenty of space for 13 grown ups to have a wonderful few days away. The kitchens are lovely, all bedrooms are spacious and comfy, and many rooms to sit and chart, watch TV or all sit down together in the evenings. We had a wonderful time; we were blessed with the weather and walked along Coast Path to Blakeney, and spent a day in Wells in the sunshine too. We will be coming back and I will tell everyone how lovely this place is - already recommended to a colleague and we've only been back 2 days! Also the pub nearby is lovely - The Anchor in Morston - with lovely staff.
Perfect!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space for everyone but all in the same beautiful house!
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you bring the good weather on your return. I will pass your kind comments to the team in The Anchor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 907
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing