We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
110
33
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
33
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews village green broke our journey starters and main courses adjoining building overlooking the green pie fish and chips turkish delight ice cream bottle of tap water mash very nice atmosphere presented beautifully bottle of red wine cheese board eggs benedict for sunday lunch steak
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2016

My wife and I visited this restaurant on the recommendation of friends and it lived up to their description. It is in a lovely location adjacent to the A1M. The menu was interesting and varied; the service was good and the food beautifully presented. The only downside was that the dessert menu was heavily weighted towards ice cream dishes although the cheese board looked excellent. I would recommend the restaurant. It also has accommodation but we only went there for lunch.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

We had dinner at The a County recently and were very impressed with the quality of the food, it was delicious and the presentation was excellent. It was difficult to make our choice from the menu as everything sounded lovely; we shall be visiting again soon to try something different. A little more expensive than some places but worth it for the quality of the food.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Pauline1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Just a quick one course lunch but the ambiance of this pub on the village green and the quality of the food was excellent. Asparagus was in season and with a duck egg made a tasty meal. It was sunny but cool day and sitting outside overlooking the green we were warm and sheltered.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank writerofGreeknovels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

This is something really nice to visit this place and have a pint of local beer and enjoy the atmosphere of a small friendly and well designed restaurant. Very kind and helpful staff were happy to guide us throughout menu. And the food was excellent. Freshly made and very well prepared. I personally liked the king prawn starter full of flavours as it should be. Then I suggest to try their steak- superb job done by the chef ! Nice cheescake was the finish as well good as the wine served.
Only one disappointment was the bill. Slightly too costly, I would say. But you will get very good quality food in nice atmosphere there.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank Jacek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We always love visiting the award-winning, The County in Newton Aycliffe. It's perfectly placed, delicious food and ales with great service, all in a lovely cosy atmosphere. The fish and chips is always a tasty favourite.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews