We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 244
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basecamp Hotel(Longyearbyen)
US$ 270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 344/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gjestehuset 102(Longyearbyen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Funken Lodge(Longyearbyen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Svalbard Hotel(Longyearbyen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coal Miners’ Cabins(Longyearbyen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Longyearbyen Camping(Longyearbyen)
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
44
60
36
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
60
36
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallarctic foxesshared bathroomoriginal placemeet other travellerscold buffetstay somewhere elsefiletonce in a lifetimegreat atmospheresingle roomstayed one nightliving roomtown centreairport buspolar bearthe main street
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2017

It is amaizing hotel with polar bear inside the restaurant. Very nice and helpfull girls in reception. Rooms in the main built a little bit small, but hall is ok. There is a 1 km outsite of main road but in the summer time is not problem. In the hotel there is the most baeutiful garden on the island.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ewka2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

It's more like a hostel standard, but nice and cozy. The rooms are small and basic but if you are sightseeing and gone for most of the day it's just perfect. There is a nice living room when you can rest, read a book, eat your meal or talk to the other guests. It's great with the kitchen where you can cook your own meal as Svalbard is an expensive experience.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KamilaLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

At first view you may choose to stay somewhere else, but once you step through the doors this is by far the best place to stay in town. It has a traditional lodge feel, loads of history on the walls, great bar, fabulous restaurant with great food (the Reindeer steak is to die for) and superb staff.

We stayed earlier in the week in another hotel that was the typical clinical chain type and on paper the best in town, however the Polarrigg is brilliant and I would really recommend it totally!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights here. We had a small room with a private bath and it was very expensive. I expected high prices in Longyearbyen however. The really bad thing was the noise. We could never sleep the whole night because you can hear the outside door open and close and people talking outside as well as every car or taxi that comes thru the parking lot. We also had to ask about room service because after 4 days, we still had none! That did get fixed after our complaint. I would suggest you pick another site.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 100Countriessofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

This is a great place to start your adventure in Spitzbergen. It's not a hotel, but a place to stay and meet friends. We didn't know how long we stay on our tour camping out in the wilderness and as we asked if we need to worry about having to pitch a tent out in the snow when coming back, Mary-Ann said:" Don't worry, there is always place to sleep here, nobody has to stay in the cold"

Consider a couple nights here as part of historical and social education of living in a mining town 78degrees north. The place is full of memories and old items from the past.

Don't judge the book by its covers. It's a lot cosier inside what it looks outside :-)

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank basecamp-andermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews