We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vio.com
Etrip
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,226)
Filter reviews
1,226 results
Traveller rating
762
288
121
32
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
762
288
121
32
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up room private pool half board pool bar main pool a la carte classic room duplex room restaurant manager beautiful hotel breakfast and dinner sun all day relaxing holiday spa staff dress code buffet style sun loungers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 1,226 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2022 via mobile

We were half board in a classic room which was located above a swim up room. We could see the sea and pool it was a lovely location. We would definitely come here again and would request one of the swim up rooms below us, but not all swim up rooms are worth the cost.

Food was buffet style and there was plenty to choose from and staff couldn't do enough for you. I'm Coeliac and this can be difficult when travelling but after speaking to the restaurant manager he would bring me gluten free toast and wrapped muffins at breakfast. There was plenty to choose from without that but it was lovely to have needs met.
Pool bar was great too and also offered some lovely lunch options. Staff were so lovely and friendly making the experience a holiday to remember.

Main pool was lovely with a sea view and plenty of loungers. Just be mindful that people do reserve them even though this isn't the hotels policy so if you want an umbrella don't go down too late, or you may have to take one without for a time and then move when one comes available.

We visited the spa for a couples scrub/ massage towards the end of our week. It was a lovely treatment, our skin felt amazing! The spa staff do wander round the pool promoting which is a bit annoying and I felt for them. I felt this could be handled better by offering every guest a discount for the spa on arrival and then being in the lobby outside the restaurant at peak meal times as they already are. It almost cheapens the hotel by them doing this, and I doubt it's an effective way of increasing business.

We would definitely come back to Insula Alba. In fact we tried to extend as we didn't want to leave.
A lovely hotel in a great location. We managed to find a local photographer and had a couples photo shoot on the beach before leaving too, which I would highly recommend.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GOLDEN Hotels Management Team, Owner at TUI BLUE Insula Alba (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the review about your recent stay with us, we appreciate the details and its thoroughness.

We are also very pleased that the hospitality of our staff contributed to your remarkable experience.
Our major goal as a luxury resort is to ensure that we exceed all our guests’ expectations and reading your kind comments lets us know we did just that!

Your suggestion are much appreciated as we try to improve our service standard these feedback help us to do better and we do hope that we will be welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
The Hotel Management of Tui Blue Insula Alba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2022

First off ,let me say, there were aspects which were ok but I decided to write this review because I felt the hotel really did fall short of claims it was a resort worthy of 5*s.

Apologies to all those individuals who worked hard and were pleasant, thank- you!
Management please take note.

When you read this please bear in mind it’s my personal view/experience of my stay here. Everyone can only make judgements based on their own previous experiences and it’s all relative so with that in mind, here goes:

We thought the pics looked nice. Read some reviews good outweighed bad so, we booked.

Staff/service: we were well-treated by everyone we encountered so can’t and wouldn’t wish to complain and in fact I feel sad that the actual resort lets the staff down. Without fail, all were polite, courteous and helpful so a big thank you to them all.

Food: 2 restaurants, refectory style for buffet and the Culinarium. The latter was tatty, a shack though right on the seafront so good location. Food mediocre, had veal tough as old boots. Beetroot risotto pleasant as was the coconut pannacotta.

How can a resort claiming to hold 5*s only have two places to eat.
Buffet restaurant food very samey day in day out especially if you stayed beyond 7 nights.
Often food was cold even at 7.30am (soon as it opened) cold fried eggs aren’t top of my breakfast list.

Otherwise, thought there was a good selection at breakfast and supper, plentiful even if not to everyone’s taste. Desserts were good.

Half Board and no water with meal, only bottled which you pay for. Soft drink €3.50 glass of wine €4.50! Can’t comment on AI.

Pool area: not bad, grass and regular sun beds comfy. Umbrellas could do with upgrade and also make sure they are easier to open. Everyone pretty much needed help opening them, heavy, cumbersome and some fraying v badly. Pool is 1.5 metres no shallow end no deep end!

The à la carte restaurant is located right by the sun loungers and each lunchtime you have kitchen smells and smoke wafting and settling over you as you lie in the sun, not pleasant.

Board aerobics a few times a week in a small pool surrounded by people relaxing on their sun beds with thumping music for 30 mins + isn’t ideal either. I suppose it’s acceptable though I didn’t like it.

Pool bar understaffed have to queue to order drinks, where is the waiter service? Bar staff worked hard to get the orders out but still meant a good 10 min wait sometimes.

Reserving sunbeds: ie. putting a towel and book on it. Selfish beyond belief. Why should someone who wants to lie in the sun for an hr not have that option because someone has seen fit to fling their towel on a bed and leave it there for 5 hours until they decide to come back?

This practice MUST stop so the hotel (as should all hotels everywhere) needs to make sure towels blocking beds are removed, after an hr MAX! This isn’t the case currently.
I’d throw their towels in the pool!

Spa/gym: so, to use the gym you need to book in advance for up to 30 mins and only 3 people can use the gym at same time Why? Can’t blame this one on Covid. It hasn’t been proven that Covid lurks only in gyms…you have restaurants full of people with no masks and Tui flights squashed up like pilchards for hours with no masks but yet these seemingly arcane restrictions are only applicable to the gym?

Prices; As I understand it, this is run by a third party and therefore chargeable what they don’t tell you is the astronomical charge Sauna/Hammam €40 for 30 mins…not likely!

Rooms: very basic, turns out we had a ‘basic’ room because we asked for twin beds. Not sure why this should be the case. Robes are falling to bits, frayed, threadbare, sad looking. Rooms pretty well kempt no complaints there. Basic but clean. I liked the ceiling fan and in the absence of temperamental a/c it was good to have.

Any 5* resort worth its stripes would provide a bottle of water in each room daily. Not providing water in summer Is unacceptable.

Nothing at all in mini bar. Barren as a desert in high summer. Phone in room to reception didn’t work, a/c seemed to error couldn’t switch on. Maintenance people should be overseeing basic issues such as these. No drawers in cupboards. Milk for instant coffee had gone off so that was a waste of a bottle of water.

Personally I think that those who paid for a private swim up room were essentially mugged-off. Absolutely no privacy at all. You are overlooked by the rooms upstairs who can see you full-on sprawled out on your sunbeds. I accept that there may be parts of the development which are more private maybe towards the back away from the sea-front?
There is a nice island type area where the pool is ‘private pool’ is cut off from the main pool, which is under-utilised because it’s only for the swim up rooms, think they’ve missed a trick there, open up the pool area and sun bed deck it makes sense.

Would have liked the option for a room in a non smoking area. Perhaps certain accommodation blocks could be designated as such. If there are smokers next door you can’t sit and relax on your verandah without being choked by cigarette smoke wafting over.

Resort: and we finally come to what inspired my title. The absolutely worst part is the actual design of the hotel/resort. It looks quite serene from the road but once you’ve stepped into the grounds it’s essentially a bunch of bunkers housing the rooms (upstairs), downstairs are the swim-up rooms. Very bitty and seems to lack any real cohesion. Not sure much thought went into the practicalities of the design initially and then rightly or wrongly the impression is that bits were added on ad-hoc.

There are only stairs to access the upstairs rooms and these are rickety and desperately need fixing, if you’re a little infirm or a senior adult you would find this difficult if not downright dangerous. Why no lifts?

Finally, the place could do with a major upgrade, peeling paint, broken stair rails, broken/uneven floor tiles etc especially dangerous around the stairway to 1st floor accommodation.

Sorry! But this isn’t a 5 star resort. I think if you compared Insula Alba with say a 5* hotel/resort in Cyprus the comparison would be stark. I’ll be generous and say 3.5 stars at best (if such a category existed).

Along with what I consider service/practical/aesthetic issues as outlined above there is also the feeling that management are trying to wring out every single cent they can from their clients whilst cutting corners on the basics.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GOLDEN Hotels Management Team, Owner at TUI BLUE Insula Alba (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Insula Alba experience with us.

We are quite surprised and discouraged though by the fact that we did not live up to your expectations. We wish however you had addressed with us in time any difficulties so that we could have followed up accordingly as we are always willing to go the extra mile.

We are not in the business of misleading people as you have suggested, especially given our reputation among the Top Hotels in Greece. We would not have achieved this if this was the case. We are sorry to read your review, especially as it is completely out of line with the fantastic reviews we have received over the last years of operation from our kind, discerning well-traveled guests.

It is disappointing that every aspect of your stay from the food, cleanliness, the gym, the atmosphere and resort facilities have been terrible as a result. However, this is not in line with all our other fantastic feedback and we can totally accept that sometimes it just isn’t possible to please everyone.

Nevertheless, we are grateful for feedback, inclusive of reviews such as yours, as it allows us the opportunity to identify our strengths and weaknesses. Our response to feedback continues to be in word and deed. We hope that you would afford us an opportunity to demonstrate the same during a future stay.

Yours sincerely,
The Hotel Management of Tui Blue Insula Alba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2022 via mobile

Just returned back from a weeks h/b at the TUI insular alba, All in all it is a nice hotel maybe not everyone’s cup of tea but it is exactly as it advertise’s itself, smallish, modern, low key, and quiet. Be careful when choosing your room particularly the duplex type, they will not suit most people they are poorly designed and a complete waste of time and money. The food is good and the A’la carte restaurant excellent, drinks are pricey but we’ll presented. The best part of this hotel is by far its staff, every single one of them did an amazing job from the cleaning staff right up to management. I wish to thank one in particular Eva a manager who went the extra mile to ensure that we had a great holiday changing our room and ensuring that we were well looked after. Thank you to all the staff you are the heart and soul of this hotel.

Room tip: Duplex rooms
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank davidwR7795WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GOLDEN Hotels Management Team, Owner at TUI BLUE Insula Alba (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the review about your recent stay with us, we appreciate the details and its thoroughness.

We are happy you had such a fabulous time and your interaction with the staff helped to make the stay even more wonderful. We are glad you enjoyed your dining experiences too!

We really aim to make our guest feel like they are home away from home. We will pass on your kind sentiments to the team as they will be happy to hear they helped to make your stay more magical.

We definitely are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Hotel Management of Tui Blue Insula Alba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2022

Fampiola was my spa therapist. Who was lovely and welcoming. She made me feel relaxed and left my skin glowing after my facial treatment. As I booked my treatment on the first day of the holiday, I received a free 10 minute back massage. Which was amazing.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Abigail_L_Harper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GOLDEN Hotels Management Team, Owner at TUI BLUE Insula Alba (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your TUI Blue Insula Alba experience with us. Our major goal as a luxury resort is to ensure that we exceed all our guests’ expectations and reading your kind comments lets us know we did just that!

We certainly do look forward to welcome you back in the near future for another great experience.

Yours sincerely,
The Hotel Management of Tui Blue Insula Alba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2022

No Complimentary drink on arrival
Put in wrong room on arrival
Mini bar was not put in place on arrival, that will be because they put us in a wrong room as this hotel does half board as well
No water left in room
Food is not 5stars, and dont let any other review fool you. Even the Al a Carte was a shambles.
Restaurant staff are not attentive enough - always talking
We eat out more than we stayed in on a All Inclusive package
Bar is slow with just 1 barman making drinks
The hotel is open to the elements - is not secure
Not enough beds around the pool side
Cleaners and drinks staff walk in without looking at the monitor if a no disturb sign is pushed
Cleaners talking on corridors at 7 in the morning, also cleaning the room next door loudly
Electric went off 3 times to the whole block whilst we were there
Entertainment was ok! but not excellent
Paid for a late checkin with Tue of £150, again, pushed to another room and 6pm was the latest checkin you can have
No beach at the front of this hotel
Not much of anything in the area
Positives - The sunset and other eating places
TUI Reps are good and responsive and will get things sorted if they can
To all of this, a 5star hotel should not have these problems.
This is a honest review of many we spoke to who experienced the same

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Journey300270
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GOLDEN Hotels Management Team, Owner at TUI BLUE Insula Alba (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Insula Alba experience with us.

It was most disheartening to read your review and it saddens us to know that in spite of our best efforts, you would have returned home with a diminished opinion of our resort.

We are sincerely taken aback by your review and would like to take this opportunity to clarify.

As it relates to your concerns regarding the room, you were accommodated in a classic swim - up room according to your reservation. The mini bar was stocked as well as the welcome offer. We proposed you a complimentary late check-out till 23:00 o’clock in another room as you agreed due to the fact that prepaid check-out was only till 6PM.

Concerning the food and beverage comments, we would like to inform you that, our gastronomic offer had been designed to fulfill the satisfaction of our guest's diversity throughout the quality of our food and services. We deeply regret your expectations had not been achieved as you expected.

Regarding the Safety of our resort, we would like to inform you that we have security cameras and security guards.

We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding the service provided by some members of our team. As a hospitality- orientated company, the attention, and service our staff delivers are follow up constantly, we dedicate a major part of our sources to maintain the quality of service in concordance with our standards throughout the continued development of their skills, to ensure our guests can hold optimal conversations and their needs can be perfectly understood and satisfied. We guarantee you that all your feedback has been shared and addressed with the departments involved, so that, the necessary actions could be implemented.

It is disappointing that every aspect of your stay from the food, the service, the beach, the amount of sun-beds, the area appears to have been terrible as a result. However, this is not in line with all our other fantastic feedback and we can totally accept that sometimes it just isn’t possible to please everyone.

Nevertheless, we are grateful for feedback, inclusive of reviews such as yours, as it allows us the opportunity to identify our strengths and weaknesses. Our response to feedback continues to be in word and deed. We hope that you would afford us an opportunity to demonstrate the same during a future stay.

Yours sincerely,
The Hotel Management of Tui Blue Insula Alba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews