We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defo not a 4 star, 3 star is more appropriate”
Review of Evelyn Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Evelyn Beach Hotel
Ranked #104 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We arrived at 7.00 in the morning to find this hotel to be very clean, beds and towels were changed daily, the staff appeared indifferent but when we requested extra pillows at 11.00pm they obliged immediately, the food was good but basic (great if you love salads, I did, my partner doesnt!), all inclusive drinks were a big let down - watery lager, cheap and nasty coke, watered down fruit juices, only raki, ouzo and brandy available (clearly stated in the hotels rules sheet given to you on arrival), wine was okay tho. Good selection of fresh fruits at lunch and dinner times but evening meals tended to be well overcooked and dinner is served between 18.30 and 20.30 strictly which is a bit limiting really. Needless to say we ate in the hotel a total of 2 lunchtimes and once in the evening. Our room (No. 321) was situated at the back of the hotel so our balcony overlooked the residents opposite so not much privacy but it was better than nothing. Beach opposite was shingle and dried seaweed, beds cost 3 euros each, pool next door doesnt open till 10.30am and was full of noisy russians (lots of eastern europeans at this resort). We happened across a bar called Paradise further along the beach from the Silva hotel and it has a lovely pool for free use and also free sunbeds, parasols etc. Kim, the dutch girl that worked there was extremely friendly and pleasant, very clean pool and very relaxing, you have to try their fruit slushes, to die for! We spent the last 3 days of our holiday visiting the resort of Stalis, 2 stops on the bus from Hersonissos. It was fantastic, lovely clean sandy beach, 4 euros for 2 beds, 1 parasol and a table, sea was a little rough here but lovely. Always a cool breeze blowing. Chinese and Thai massages offered on beach which I tried both of, fantastic, you must have at least one of these. Friendly staff at the bar outside where we lay, bringing freebie rakis and peach schnapps for the ladies frequently during the day with our drinks. It was much less commercialised than Hersonissos and everything was so much cheaper, restaurants there were excellent, you have to try Maria's Golden Beach, it was the best restaurant of our stay, plate smashing at 9.0 o'clock each night, traditional greek music very friendly and helpful waiters not rushing you. Robin Hood's cafe there gave the best english breakfast, very reasonable too, only 3.50 euros whereas in Hersonissos we were paying roughly 6 euros per head and it wasnt proper english sausage or bacon. We had a lovely holiday but next time we will definately be staying in Stalis, Hersonissos is too commercialised for us and too expensive, dearer than being back home in England in fact, food drink and gift-wise. So, unfortunately we would not return to the Evelyn Beach unless it was on a B&B basis and Stalis had no rooms left!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnackent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2010

My partner and i are just back from Crete having spent a great week staying at the Evelyn Beach Hotel,when we arrived the staff could not be more helpfull we were shown to our room which we were a bit anxious about after reading some of the reviews before we went however when we opened the door the room was very nice and we had a great view looking out over the lovely beach and the clear blue sea, we went down for our dinner on the first night as we were all inclusive the food was lovely with a good selection to choose from and the quality of the food stayed at a high standered thru-out the week, if you left the table still feeling peckish and dissapointed then we suggest you should stay at home or dig deeper into your pockets and go on holiday to the Ritz as the food was very good.It was really nice to come up from the beach when the sun was at its hottest and sit in the shade and have 1 or 2 beers to cool down which i must say was a nice lager, if we were to go back to Crete we would DEFO not hesitate to go back to the Evelyn Beach Hotel. (nice friendly staff,very clean,great foood,lovely beach,lovely hotel what more can one ask for a good priced holiday).

Morris & Jenny (Montrose)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moje_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This place was centrally located, on the beach in Hersonissos. However, it states it is a four star hotel. It is not. The beds sit about a foot off the ground with plain bed sheets and flat pillows (no extras in the closet). The food is the same EVERY DAY. We only had the breakfast option and it was nasty. The staff is neither friendly or unfriendly, indifferent is the word. The place is old but very clean. We did have a view of the ocean from our room (205 if you want to go here). The pool in the EasyJet ad for this hotel is actually the pool next door and you can PAY 3 euros to use it. All in all, glad we had a rental car and did something fun every day. If you can, go to Matala or Elounda or just past Elounda there is a fabulous white sandy beach with fine sand, not rocks or pebbles. Hersonissos is for young people who want to rent quads or party. Not that we don't appreciate a party atmosphere but this was way too commercial for my taste. Hotel is not worth more than 30-40 Euros a night, really.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank nativesandiegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Arrived at 5.30am and was dropped of at the top a hill and told hotel "down there". Pitch black and signs small at the bottom of the hill. Checked in and room was clean which we were glad about. The food was very basic but we didn't starve. (McDonalds and subway not far). Drinks were limited seeing as were were all inclusive (no vodka) and glasses were not very clean. We had to ask for clean towels and our bed linen was only changed once all week. The daytime receptionists were the most pleasant there although bar staff were not too bad really. No entertainment whatsoever throughout our stay!!! The pool next door was available for guests to use but 3 euros for a sunbed and it wasn't very clean. Beach was shingly and again 3 euros for sunbeds there. Plenty of shops although expensive for clothing etc and lots of bars nearby and a great place called StarBeach quite close which we highly recommend!!! We would rate this hotel as a 2 star NOT a 4 star.....have no idea how it got that rating!!!! Would not go back, and would not recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sssju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Arrived at the hotel after 2 hours of trying to find it, very tinny poster with the hotel name. Then you try to get something to dring and the grand ma was there serving you and doesnt speak english so difficult to get what you wanted. Small room for 3 person to share with twin beds so my husband and I slept on separates beds!!!!! Food was tasty but similar every day and very few choices. Sometimes we end up just eating salads. Un-eatble soups! Similar breakfast and similar deserts! Poor services, we felt like we had to beg for drinks!!!or wait a some time to get one! When busy we had to wait for tables to be cleared after you could use it. No entertaiment from the hotel only a pool table for two euros. No background music even when you eat or very rarely. No snacks in beetween. It is a business family and more money orriented rather than quality services providers!!! After 4 days into the holiday they dare to ask for more money from us rather than trying to sort out the problem with the company with booked with( we paid the right amount of money but they got less and very easly spoiled our holiday by trying to recuperate money lost from us!!!!!- we felt like leaving the hotel asap!!!) No pool and if you wanted this you had to pay again her the neighbor hotel pool!!! Hotel is placed near to a very small beach with rocks and more expencive chairs and sun beds than Malia beach!!!!! overall this hotel cannot be compared with a 4 stars hotel. I have been to 4 stars hotel all inclusive and you cannot compare! there are better hotels that this one surely in the same price!!!!!!!!! Greatings to Sokol- one of the barman from Albania- who was the most friendly person over there. Overall- never again!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vasilica_jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.1 km away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#122 of 172 in Hersonissos
411 reviews
0.1 km away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#63 of 172 in Hersonissos
627 reviews
1.4 km away
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
#82 of 172 in Hersonissos
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Diogenis Blue Palace
Diogenis Blue Palace
#13 of 36 in Kato Gouves
267 reviews
29.2 km away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#26 of 32 in Amoudara
415 reviews
36.3 km away
Alexander House Hotel
Alexander House Hotel
#18 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evelyn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evelyn Beach Hotel

Address: A. Kanakaki & 25th Martiou | Limin Chersonisou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: ₹ 2,671 - ₹ 7,361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Evelyn Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Evelyn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evelyn Beach Hersonissos
Hotel Evelyn Beach
Evelyn Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing