We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Inclusive Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Ranked #79 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed in this hotel late August 2012 with some friends (group of 6), some of our party had been before to this hotel so it came highly recommended.
The staff were excellent, very friendly and eager to please. Food selection was very good and I can echo the favourable comments about Fortini who was brilliant.
Facilities were very good with 3 pools and 2 bars - an excellent place to relax.
Will be booking again for next year!
"Poppy's Group"

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies overlooking main pool receive sun in the afternoon
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank droidsoupfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dearest Poppy's group,
Thank you for becoming a part of our family. This is the way we feel about you after so many visits in our hotel. Having in mind you are not for the first time here and know hotel very well, your opinion is extremely important for us to know where we and our service stands. Your repeated stays and all the nice words about the hotel you have posted is a reward for all of us for the effort we put daily for our entire guest to meet their expectations at the maximum. And once again, you are already a part of a family for us and we cannot imagine even one season without you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (822)
There are newer reviews for Hersonissos Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 416 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed in the hotel with my sister 25-29 August 2012. The location is great - quiet but yet very close to the "noisy" area". The staff is very friendly and helpful and the whole place is very clean. We did not like the food very much...

Room Tip: Don't ask for a room facing to the pool. Too noisy .
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Vardina46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My family and I stayed at Hersonissos Palace Hotel from 10th-18th August. After a slightly hair-raising landing in Crete we left the airport fairly swiftly and managed to locate our resort hopper bus to transfer to the hotel which took about 45 minutes.
Upon our arrival in the hotel we presented our booking documentation but there had been a slight mix up with the rooms that should have been set aside for us. This was a mistake from the hotel who couldn't apologise enough and managed to get us a room for the night that could accomadate our family of 5. (3 adults, an 18 and 16 year old). The next morning the friendly hotel receptionist found us the rooms that we had expected from our booking. A room for 2 and a room for 3. These were located on the 2nd level not far from each other and offered much welcomed air-conditioning and a pleasantly decorated room, with fridge and plenty of wardrobe and storage space. Safe deposit box is in the room which you hire at reception for 20 euro. Bathroom was ample but bed was slightly too hard. Both rooms had nice views from different sides of the hotel. The rooms were cleaned daily by a really friendly cleaner who always said hello whenever she saw you and it was lovely to get into fresh bed linen every night and have clean towels daily. She also put her own personal touch when she came to clean and placed my pyjamas in fancy designs on the bed. Beware when booking because although we didn't personally experience the promo rooms we spoke to another family who had and they described it as a hostel in the bronx!
All inclusive- This was our first time with this option and we would definitely do it again. Breakfast was a real mix... fruit, greek yoghurt, cakes, cereal, croissants, eggs, bacon, HOT DOGS, SALAD and ONION RINGS!!Toast and pancakes made freshly by the chef.. plenty of teas and coffee and fruit juice.
Lunch option was always nice, which consisted of meat,fish,soup pasta, fresh salads, fruit, feta cheese and bread to name but a few...
Dinner was similar to lunch but always a fresh meat option was cooked by the chef and various desserts on display...
The only draw back was the timings for breakfast was very early and finished at 9.30 and lunch was only an hour 1-2 pm...The meat on offer was lamb and pork and in all of the 7 days there was no chicken. The teenagers in the family were slightly bored of the food by the 4th day and would have liked fast food options like burgers.. The staff were very attentive to all your needs, cleaned the tables promptly and were extremely polite, professional and approachable.
The pools and poolside bars... There was 3 pools in the accommodation and most of our days were spent relaxing around the main pool. We always managed to get sunbeds for all 5 of us and picked them out when we went down for breakfast which was normally at 8.45 am... there was real sun spots and shade if you needed it. After a day it is easy to see where the sun sits and pick what suits you. The pool was a nice size with a shallow and deep end. The other outdoor pool was more quieter but much deeper. The indoor pool was like swimming in a cave and was freezing cold (try it and see). The main pool bar had a mix of inclusive drinks and we got a real taste for the san francisco cocktails and a refreshing shandy. The bar staff were friendly and polite and took great care of the pool area. There is a small bar at the other outdoor pool although we only used that once. There is also a pool table, darts, table tennis and gym that are free to use when you want.
The beach down the road is a short walk away but wasn't something we particularly enjoyed although it was very busy. It's gritty, rough sand and slippery rock when trying to get out to swim in the sea. Once you managed to get out far enough from the rocks it was good for snorkling but the rocks were slimy and made you fall and some of us ended up with small cuts on our feet.
The main strip of bars, restaurants, gift shops and trip ticket agents are only a short walk away. We went there to do some gift shopping and had a drink on the beach with beautiful night-time views. Just be cautious of the small children that try and sell things on the streets.
We had a great day trip to a water park called water-city. We paid about 25 euro each which included transfers there and back. There was plenty of slides and we didn't queue too long for anything.It is very hot there though as its high in the mountains. You are given a wrist band so while your in the park its a cashless system and you just get your band scanned for any purchases such as food, drinks, gifts and photos and settle the bill on exiting the park. This was great as all valuables could be stored in a locker.
The hotel has a mix of nationality's and unfortunately some of the younger Russian population was extremely rude at times. As one of our rooms was near the hotels foyer we were often woke by people talking loudly and screaming in the hall-way. We had read previous reviews that the hotel staff were rude but we never found that at all. I suppose if you treat people how you like to be treat then manners cost nothing.
As we like to experience different places we probably won't be returning to Crete but we certainly would recommend this hotel and hope that if you decide to go there then you have a great time like we did.

Room Tip: Away from reception. Pool views are lovely and you can see evening entertainment when provided from...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank JoanneChace73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a two week holiday (all inclusive) from this hotel (10th-24th August) and we had a fantastic time!

Let me begin this review by showing our appreciation to a very pleasant, helpful and reasssuring lady called Fortini (hotel manager). Upon arrival there was a mix up with our hotel and we were put in the second block which was not advertised when we booked it with '118travel' who we blame for this mix up. The second block consist of a 2* rating and is named as a promotion room, so please note to check with your travel agents before booking. We found that 118 travel had only taken pictures of the main block which is a 5* rating and mislead us to think you we would be staying in the main block. Anyway after speaking to Fortini she understood and arranged for us to stay in the main block for the remainder of our holiday (we only stayed in the second block for one night) because Fortini was VERY efficient!
So I would like to thank Fortini for her assistance and reassurance.

About the hotel....
Bar staff: called 'Londi' very pleasant and helpful and always made you feel welcome when purchasing your drinks.
Cleaner: called 'Julia' who worked on the 2nd floor. Excellent service of cleaning everyday and very pleasant and arranged our room personally by hanging up our photos and putting up my birthday cards.
Room; excellent service of cleaning everyday as previously mentioned. Brilliant pool view with a balcony, flat screen television, excellent working air conditioning, good bathroom, a safe is provided however you do need to pay 30euros for 2weeks to hire it (something to note).
All inclusive food: good variety of food everyday and something for everyone, above average most days.
Drinks: are available from 10am to 11pm with a variation in soft drinks, alcoholic drinks (beers, wines and 3 different kinds of cocktails).
Location: the hotel is in an excellent location where the main strip of bars, clubs, restaurants and shops is a 2 min walk away. The beach is a 1 min walk away, where you can hire sun beds and umbrellas for very cheap price. A local bus which can be caught is at the top of the road a 1 min walk away for a very cheap price, where you can visit different places of the island.
Evening entertainment: there are local dogs and cats who congregate outside of the restaurant who are very entertaining especially when they chase the bikes and cars. Some may not appreciate this so I suggest you sit inside.
Dancing entertainment: arranged by the hotel where some greek dancers came in and put on a show for everyone. They were very good and very inclusive where they encouraged all guests to get involved.
BBQ evening: this is a seperate cost to your all inclusive price of 16euros per person. It allows for the entertainment and the food. There was a wide selction of food which was delicious! Our only dissapointing part of the evening which was when we were seated on only a table for two and then asked to move by a waitor called 'IVAN' who was very rude and said it was for the new people, which they did not even turn up. Then we were made to sit with a French couple who spoke no english and were very miserable! Dispite this encounter an evening not to be missed!
Transfer: easily located when ariving to Crete and was a 45min journey with pick ups!
Excursions: WATERCITY-please if you can spare 64euros (for two) they spend it on this water park. It is the biggest waterpark in Europe and is absolutely amazing, such a brilliant day out. We definately had a fantastic time and got our moneys worth! The price includes transfer too which you get on at the top of the road.
Boat trip to Sisi and the caves: 25euros each. A good trip to see parts of the island and to jump off the boat into the sea.
Sun beds: if you would like to get the best spot to be in the sun all day then get a sun bed at 8:30am (a wake up call can be arranged at reception everyday) then get the spot by the gate against the wall to the left of the bar. It is the best spot for sun bathers! So if you ensure you get up at 8:30am you will be guarnteed a spot, you can reserve the sun beds by putting your own towels down and returning after breakfast to sun bathe with reassurance your sun bed will not of been adopterd by someone else! :)
Restaurant: for my birthday my boyfriend and I went to a restaurant outside of the hotel called 'Captain G' where we had excellent service, food and location. We arranged a day before to have our own exclusive table for 2 on the beach, absolutely breath taking!! A 1 min walk from the hotel.

Please note if you decide to venture down to the strip (definately do!) then go to a bar called BIo Bio they are lovely especially 'Julian' who will give you good deals on the drinks and you can have a seat over looking the harbour. One thing to be wary of the strip is the illegal immigrant children who patrol the strip selling roses, uv braclets etc. They willl pick pocket if they get the chance so be aware! Also they can be violent and rude! However do not be put off by this, because if you tell them to go away in a firm voice they will!

The only negative of the hotel we have is the 2* accommodation which is in the second block which is very dissapointing that travel agents can sell you it making you believe you will stay in a 5* accommodation! Which you won't if you have paid for a promotion room, so watch out!

Once again I would like to say thank you to Fortini who made our holiday a holiday to remember with many cherisable memories!

Love from Geraldine and James (room 212)

Room Tip: Don't book a promotion room, ask for the main block/building
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Dear Guests,
By writing this review you not only praised us but also gave vital information for our future guests. Thank you very much for sharing your opinion and impressions.
Julia and Londi will be very happy to read their names on website and of course appreciation of their job is already a big compliment. Thank you for taking time to remember their names and mentioning them.
Once again we regret for the first uncomfortable night you had. Your nice words are a reward for us for our job and service we try to do as good as we can.
I really do hope it was not the last time you stayed in Hersonissos Palace. We are would be glad to accommodate you next season again and do our best to serve you.
Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Travellers should be aware if they think they are staying in the hotel you may be placed in the annex which is further down the street away from hotel ammenities
When booking it should be made clear that the hotel only has rooms available in the annex allowing the guest to make a choice if they wish to stay or choose another hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jberry12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.1 km away
Hersonissos Hotel
Hersonissos Hotel
#39 of 58 in Heraklion
409 reviews
3.4 km away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#118 of 171 in Hersonissos
408 reviews
0.8 km away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#64 of 171 in Hersonissos
561 reviews
1.3 km away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#62 of 171 in Hersonissos
621 reviews
5.4 km away
Aktia Lounge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hersonissos Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hersonissos Palace Hotel

Address: Dedalou 10 Street | Limin, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: ₹ 4,912 - ₹ 20,260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hersonissos Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hersonissos Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Hersonissos
Hersonissos Palace Hotel Crete, Greece
Hotel Hersonissos Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing