We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ambience”
Review of Roopangarh Fort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kishangarh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roopangarh Fort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kishangarh
Reviewed 5 March 2016

My husband and I stayed at Roopangarh Fort as part of our amazing trip arranged by True Luxury Tours. If you want to avoid ordinary hotels and experience the atmosphere of the past, this is the place for you. We stayed in a gigantic room,and I don't recall its name, but I believe it was part of the former harem. There is a huge courtyard that overlooks the village. In the evening, we sat outside by a firepit with lanterns glowing in the upper battlements of the fort, while thunder rolled and lightning lit the sky in the distance-very romantic!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lkaz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Roopangarh Fort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2016

If you want to experience India as it was 100 years ago this is the place for you. The fort still feels like a real fortification with an expectation that there might be some ancient warrior or prince or princess around a corner or in one of the courtyards. The palace's public and private rooms are reminiscent of the bedchambers and dining halls of long departed royalty, and the service and attention of the staff to accommodate our every need reminded us of the genteel customs of past generations.

We were fortunate to be able to stay in "The Queen's Suite" and in room #7, both great examples of accommodations that were frequented by Rajas and Ranis during the past 400 years. It was quite an experience for our family to sleep in the two storied bedroom with 20 foot ceilings and a bathroom that stretched from wall to wall - it seemed about 40' X 8' with toilet at one end and the round 7' bathtub at the other. On the surface the site and its architecture appear unchanged except for some canon ball damage and the installation of electricity, functional modern bathrooms and the ubiquitous internet connectivity (a necessity for any current hotel and home stay in this day and age).

I recommend this place highly. By all means stay in the Queen's Suite if you can, or room 7, which is also excellent. The staff will feed you well and look after all of your needs. And if there happens to be one of the many kites in the sky that fall into the courtyard while you are visiting, either, but probably both of the two waiters will show you how to fly it as they did with my 13 year old grandson. Watching the two grown men having fun and racing around with Nick was better than some of the dance performances we have experienced in the past. And as the sun sets over the wall, maybe with a beer in your hand, walk over to the north corner and watch the 12 or 13 peacocks fly up on to the cross members of the hydro tower below to roost for the night. It is and idyllic experience that shouldn't be missed - one of my favourite accommodations during our January 2016 trip through the Rajasthan

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mister_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

The fort is a great place to stay in Rajasthan. The rooms are huge and there is an excellent sense of the history of the palace. Although you find little written in guide books or even at the hotel this is a really interesting place. The staff here are all local and have a great interest and pride in their area. If you ask Gopal he will take you on an excellent walking tour of the ancient village streets surrounding the fort, to the tiny ribbon factory, the carpenters and marble turners, pointing out artist houses and shrines on the way. Unbelievably there is no charge for this and absolutely no pressure to buy anything at all. A bit further afield Gopal can arrange a jeep to see the sambhar salt lake, the impressive step wells, local villages or the snake temple. This is not the polished new shiny version of India that you get in some hotels with hoards of westerners passing through, it is a gentle and genuine experience we have not found anywhere else.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank buzzyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2016

the staff very helpful: we asked for a room not at groundfloor and they satisfied it.
the room was very large and suggestive as the whole place.
we had dinner there (tipical indian food) which was good.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PatriziettaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We were two couples with kids (3Y, 6Y and 9Y) and stayed here from 25th dec to 27th dec 2015.
To be frank, the approach was quite confusing. You have to cross almost the whole village to reach the fort, and we were almost disappointed at the location..there was also no signboard anywhere (not even at the main gate).
But once we went inside, all our disappontments vanished into thin air !
The staff was very courteous. We were greeted on the reception by surinder, and he showed us 4-5 rooms to choose from.
The rooms on the ground floor were only modest, but the rooms on the first floor were really awesome.
There is a big terrace on the first floor..attached to the rooms...and u get a magnificient view of the city from the there.
The size of the rooms is quite big. Considering the fact that it is a 350 year old fort which was converted into a hotel (with least modifications), it is not a surprise.
You feel like a royal guest while staying there, and the staff only accentuate that feeling.
There's also a small secret passage in the old fort which the kids really enjoyed..stairs disappearing into the unknown.
The queens room is magnifinient, but not suitable with small kids..
Overall, it was a nice & memorable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOurabhgupta2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kishangarh
22.2 km away
1589 Royal Heritage
1589 Royal Heritage
#4 of 4 in Kishangarh
56 reviews
28.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Ajmer
21.7 km away
Love Kush hotel
Love Kush hotel
#3 of 4 in Kishangarh
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 km away
Bhanwar Singh Palace
Bhanwar Singh Palace
#13 of 43 in Pushkar
254 reviews
34.6 km away
The Gateway Resort
The Gateway Resort
#2 of 43 in Pushkar
278 reviews
22.4 km away
Hotel Crystal Park
Hotel Crystal Park
#1 of 4 in Kishangarh
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roopangarh Fort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roopangarh Fort

Address: Roopangarh, Kishangarh 305814, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Ajmer District > Kishangarh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kishangarh
Price Range: ₹ 4,608 - ₹ 10,060 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roopangarh Fort is a vast war Fort and has been over 350 years in the making. It has been painstakingly restored and renovated as a heritage hotel, especially for those who enjoy a sense of history and seek a story from the silent walls. Surprisingly large guest rooms, four poster beds, colonial Indian furniture, open log fires in winter all assure you of a warm welcome. Combined atmosphere of splendid views from the massive terrace and magical evenings under the clear sky with piercing desert music is intoxicating. Add to this modern day facilities and your holiday is truly memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roopangarh Fort Kishangarh, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing