We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just perfect”
Review of Roopangarh Fort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kishangarh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roopangarh Fort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kishangarh
Reviewed 17 November 2015

This is the most amazing I've been to, the Queen's make you feel really like one. The children were in a dream. very well decorated, unique atmosphere, out of time, nice furniture.
Special congratulations to the cook; marvelous, tasty, fresh food and the cheapest we had in hotel during our stay in Rajasthan.

Room Tip: beautiful view on the landscape and nice village colorful, private terrace, close to Jaipur and Push...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 875charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2015

We arrived in Roopangarh after a dusty drive from Jaipur, culminating in a dirt track we shared with some colorful cow herders and their flock. Once inside the fort's narrow gate, we appreciated seeing the resident camel placidly munching on the grass and a few peacocks strutting around, before we ascended the stairs into the palace. As other reviewers, we were shown to the Maharani's suite (ie the harem) as we were the only guests in the palace that night. It is a large space, with a 2nd story balcony and many alcoves surrounding both floors and filled with antiquities. Given the heat outside, the air conditioner had difficulty cooling off such a large area so we were quite warm through the night but hey - this was a minor detail in the midst of such a fascinating place.

Dinner outside under the stars and full moon was quite magical and very good. There was no menu, so we ate what they brought and it was delicious. Breakfast the next morning was in the massive 2-story dining room, again full of pictures and artifacts as well as pictures of the present day Maharaja of Kishangarh who lives elsewhere but occasionally visits his palace here at Roopangarh.

Be warned - there was quite loud chanting/singing going on all night long in the village, and projected through a loud speaker. With our windows closed and the air conditioning on, we didn't hear it unless we went into the bathroom but apparently it happens every night. Also if you want wifi, it is available in the public space but not in the room - you may have to ask them to turn it on.

This is definitely off the beaten track, but if you have an extra night and want to personally experience a bit of Rajput history, put this on your agenda.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank druryperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

A friend and I were overjoyed to stay two nights in the Zenana Mahal at Roopangarh Fort Feb 21-22, 2015. Everything was perfect including the kindness of the manager, Surendra Saini, who introduced us to teachers, craftsmen, students, friends, family and even the busy mayor of the town. We were delighted with the smiles and pleasant offers of tea and conversation that met us on many corners. Staying at Roopangarh one learns some of the historic importance of the area--even the reason for the colors of the Kabul flag flying over Roopangarh Fort!
So like a museum is the experience of staying here that one can spend hours exploring the rooms filled with artifacts, paintings, sculptures, and antique textiles and furniture. The Zenana bathroom is luxurious with art work and pleasant fixtures.
Breakfast on the sunny terrace offers a pleasant time to think about when you can arrange to return to Roopangarh!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank suraj1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

There are a number of distinctive properties that are former palaces or fort/palaces that haven’t made the full transition to modern hotel standards, but which are enjoyable places to stay because they retain an authentic charm sometimes lost in the designer make-overs. Guests forgive the hotel the faults, the minor discomforts, the lack of professional service and the unreliable hot water or unreliable wi-fi because they make up in atmosphere what they lack in five star standards.

Roopangarh Fort Hotel fits this profile. Those intending to stay should have modest expectations and read the reviews with care.

The best point about the property is that it is absolutely full of character.

It is a palace/fort with large terraces and spaces. Wide galleries overlook the interior of the palace grounds and surrounding village from the second floor. There is a striking white mausoleum-like temple on a raised dais at the end of the tennis-court/football ground main terrace.

The rooms are all different and some (such as the Maharani’s Suite and Room 3) are enormous. Among the family heirlooms that decorate the palace there are some charming items as well as decaying vitrines of Victorian tobacco tins, mediaeval weapons, and rusty padlocks. Some parts of the property are well restored and others are ramshackle. The surrounding grounds are neglected on the whole.

Bathrooms are generally modern and well appointed with hot-water immersion heaters but eccentric flow. The beds have clean linen and are fine if firm. The staff are local men who are untrained and not very fluent in English (or French or German) but who are willing and try to please and satisfy the needs of guests. They have had considerable experience and can generally work out what it is that guests need.

We stayed four years ago and wrote an enthusiastic review for TripAdvisor. The guest book is full of fulsome praise for the property and the staff. Some aspects of the property are truly splendid.

As another previous reviewer wrote, there is not a lot to do or see at Roopangarh. The tour of the village was very interesting in 2011, with its artisans making jewelry for the pricy shops of Jaipur. We found that rarest of things – Rajasthani bargains on our last stay here. Alas, no more. That cottage industry has vanished from the village and moved to more profitable pastures. You can have a village visit but it hardly differs from the hundreds of similar visits on offer throughout the country. We found our village tour unremarkable - some children asking for pens and everyone wanting their photographs taken. The villagers are not rapacious or pestering but neither are they unaware of tourists.

The region is noted for its marble quarries and factories. If marble is your thing you can visit the marble factories though you cannot avoid seeing them on the ten kilometers or so from the highway as you drive to the village.

As for the down-side of the stay at the fort, the food is okay. Breakfast is uninspired. The new wi-fi introduced in 2014 didn’t work for us at all. The property is a maze of high stairs and steps so it is not for the less than nimble.

We were pleased to be remembered by the staff who looked after us four years ago. They did their best to make us feel at home.

Room Tip: The Maharani's suite is vast, perhaps absurdly so. Room 3 is, in our view, the best along with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Boulbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Rough and tumble fort with lots of nooks and crannies to explore which our 9 & 12 yr old boys loved. However, since it was the middle of summer, exploration of any kind was restricted to early mornings and evenings and being pretty much in the middle of nowhere, there was down time in between. This is where wi-fi or at least an efficient air conditioner would have helped - we stayed at the Maharani suite where it was too big for the small a/c installed to keep cool. The result being, we stayed in an uncomfortably hot room with no working tv, wi-fi or pool as distractions.

The staff members were pleasant enough (though not pro active) and we were given a complimentary walking tour of the small village where we encountered lots of kids that just wanted to get their photos taken. We were also taken to some homes of some local artisans, which were also quite interesting and with minimal sales pressure. Village tour was the hi light of our stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank modernnomad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kishangarh
22.2 km away
1589 Royal Heritage
1589 Royal Heritage
#4 of 4 in Kishangarh
57 reviews
28.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Ajmer
21.7 km away
Love Kush hotel
Love Kush hotel
#3 of 4 in Kishangarh
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 km away
Bhanwar Singh Palace
Bhanwar Singh Palace
#15 of 46 in Pushkar
261 reviews
34.6 km away
The Gateway Resort
The Gateway Resort
#4 of 46 in Pushkar
282 reviews
22.4 km away
Hotel Crystal Park
Hotel Crystal Park
#1 of 4 in Kishangarh
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roopangarh Fort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roopangarh Fort

Address: Roopangarh, Kishangarh 305814, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Ajmer District > Kishangarh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kishangarh
Price Range: ₹ 4,411 - ₹ 9,925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roopangarh Fort is a vast war Fort and has been over 350 years in the making. It has been painstakingly restored and renovated as a heritage hotel, especially for those who enjoy a sense of history and seek a story from the silent walls. Surprisingly large guest rooms, four poster beds, colonial Indian furniture, open log fires in winter all assure you of a warm welcome. Combined atmosphere of splendid views from the massive terrace and magical evenings under the clear sky with piercing desert music is intoxicating. Add to this modern day facilities and your holiday is truly memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roopangarh Fort Kishangarh, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing