We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
vavasthi
Bengaluru, India

Looks like property has seen better days

Review of Sterling Puri
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jan 2015
We stayed in this hotel in the last week of December. From the first look one realises that this property has probably seen better days in past. The beech front that was there near property is completely washed away.

It looks like the property was a victim of a natural calamity few years away and still has not recovered.

For temple visitors, this property is no suitable at all. It is too far. Generally one should book a hotel that is at a walking distance from the temple because then one can park their vehicles in the hotel.

The property consists of cottages so would be good for families. But currently it is looking not maintained at all.

We asked the concierge desk to arrange a taxi or auto for us and we were told that they can't do that. We walked out and there was nothing there.
Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₹19,133
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    ₹18,061
  • Priceline
    ₹13,116
  • StayForLong
2.5 km from Sterling Puri
Free parking
Pool
Night View Facade
₹1,429
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
    ₹1,455
  • Hotels.com
    ₹1,377
  • Vio.com
    ₹1,402
0.9 km from Sterling Puri
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹4,609
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    ₹4,912
  • Hotels.com
    ₹4,543
  • Priceline
    ₹5,359
5.8 km from Sterling Puri
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹17,517
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    ₹16,432
  • Booking.com
    ₹17,936
  • Hotels.com
    ₹18,166
5.8 km from Sterling Puri
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹4,928
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    ₹4,928
  • Vio.com
    ₹3,942
  • Expedia.com
3.0 km from Sterling Puri
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹6,165
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    ₹5,368
  • Agoda.com
    ₹4,491
  • Booking.com
    ₹6,160
2.4 km from Sterling Puri
Free parking
Beachfront
₹3,359
No booking fees
    4.1 km from Sterling Puri
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    ₹4,356
    Fully refundable
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      ₹4,319
    • Agoda.com
      ₹3,784
    • Priceline
    6.9 km from Sterling Puri
    Free parking
    Pool
    ₹4,226
    Fully refundable
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
      ₹4,226
    • Expedia.com
      ₹3,777
    • Hotels.com
      ₹3,773
    13.1 km from Sterling Puri
    Free parking
    Pool
    fountain
    ₹9,448
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      ₹6,384
    • Hotels.com
      ₹9,440
    • Priceline
      ₹6,384
    6.6 km from Sterling Puri
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    View more hotels in Puri
    Reviews (2,564)
    Filter reviews
    2,567 results
    Traveller rating
    1,811
    496
    154
    39
    67
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    1,811
    496
    154
    39
    67
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews golden sands approach road special thanks special mention swimming pool restaurant staff main city f b courteous staff nice resort house keeping private beach great hospitality pleasant stay awesome experience excellent food main beach
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2,379 - 2,384 of 2,567 reviews
    Reviewed 11 January 2015

    My first visit to a Sterling resort was wonderful. But for the distance from the Railway station, rest all was as the doctor ordered. Lovely rooms, ever smiling and hardworking staff, lovely food and the property overlooking the sea.
    Post renovation it is going to develop into the best property in puri
    All the very best to the Staff. God bless

    Date of stay: January 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank manojkumarsingh2015
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 8 January 2015

    Our trip to sterling puri was a very relaxed one..View from sterling to the beach and the backwater is pretty good. Thanks to the wonderful team of Mr Dhanraj, Mr Tarun Goswamy who made our stay very hospitable.Food was extremely good, it did no harm to our stomach. The team of people who served us ( Mr Attar, MsPratima and her team,don't remember all the names) was extremely friendly. Ms Suchetha enlightened us with the historic story of the Jaganath Temple.
    The decors were quite old and needed refurbishing and the approach to sterling is extremely lonely with no street lights and very bad roads.
    Overall a good one worth the visit.

    Date of stay: January 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Ushaviji
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 January 2015

    I Went their with my family for the new year and had a great time. Staffs are very helpful and the food is excellent. The pool and the rooms are clean. A lovely cake was arranged for my wife's Birthday and an lovely sea view dinner was arranged by the hotel staff.

    Date of stay: December 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank vickramc
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 5 January 2015

    We had booked 2 supposed Villa accommodations for 8 people. One 2 bed and One 1 Bed villas via a Timeshare affiliation!! And this has been my worst experience of a Resort via a Timeshare! It was to be a good relaxed family vacation in a good resort and it turned out nothing like that.

    For starters, the rooms were shabby and in need of some serious restoration and refurbishment!! The walls were damp and gave a constant musty feel to the room!! The kitchenette was barren and devoid of any basic facilities like utensils, glasses, spoons etc and had to be called for separately. In one of the rooms the flush stopped working twice in 3 days! in the other, the geyser kept tripping within minutes of someone trying to have a hot shower. The Sofa-Bed was uneven and had a dip towards the end, meaning you slept at an angle from the knee below. The bathrooms had lights that had a coat of paint on them so they really weren't bright lights anymore. Also, the walls were given a whitewash of lime and if you by any chance touched the wall, you had a nice bit of it rubbing of on your clothes, hands etc. The floor had mosaic tiles that seriously needed some cleaning, so much so that if you walked barefoot, your feet would turn brown/black on the underside.

    Room service took too long!! And the food also wasn't up to the mark expected of a Sterling hotel. In fact the menu was pretty much the same for every dinner. lunch and breakfast over the course of 4 days.

    I just did not have a memorable experience here and would not suggest this place especially as a family holiday to anyone. The entire resort really is in need of renovation on a large scale. They also need to rectify the access road to the place as its in one corner of the beach and even though you can see the beach, there is no direct access because of a river in the middle, which incidentally has a makeshift bridge across, that at the time of my visit was halfway submerged in water!!

    There were parts of the resort that were dilapidated, run down and in need of structural repair.

    Room tip: Try a Non Timeshare room, perhaps your experience will be better. It did seem like those rooms were in a slightly better condition!!
    Date of stay: December 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank SiddharthS_12
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 25 December 2014

    Sterling Golden sands is a great place to relax. The restaurant food is good though little costly if you are not a member of sterling. Rooms and décor all around have improved in last few years. The gardens are well maintained. A nearby river meeting the sea is a great sight. The swimming pool is good & you can have the view of the sea sitting outside the dinning area near swimming pool.

    This hotel is only 6 Km from Puri Temple, but the last 2 km of road leading to hotel is completely deserted & is not in good condition.

    Date of stay: December 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
    Thank Sudhansu M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews