We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE PROPERTY BUT POOR MAINTENANCE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #13 of 81 Hotels in Puri
KOLKATA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NICE PROPERTY BUT POOR MAINTENANCE”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

i visited this property with my family on 2jan 2012 . i had huge expectation but i was disappointed. i stayed there for four days . it is a 3 star property in name only. food is average compared to price and lacks taste. there is lack of maintenance in all spheres . Holiday activity zone is poorly maintained .there was frequent power cut with long pause followed by generator back up.there is lack of professionalism in front desk area.only positive part is its natural beauty and silence .the staffs are friendly but the management part is poor the restaurant needs attention regarding quality and timing of food service . DR AJITESH GHOSHAL

Room Tip: rooms at the corner have good position and privacy avoid ground floor rooms opt for the south facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ajukolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    106
    76
    24
    33
See reviews for
228
52
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2011. The main purpose of staying here was to visit Puri temple and also utilise the time share which had been purchased by a family member. The road to the resort is non existent. One has to drive thru a part of the beach and there is no street lighting at all. There are just 2 or 3 hotels in this end of the road. That way, it is good as it is far from the hub and quiet. But, one cannot come here without a car. The rickshaws refuse to ply to the resort due to the rough road.
The resort spans over a large area, but more than 50% of the area lies undeveloped. The renovation and improvement has started now as per the senior personnel posted there.
The front desk was very helpful and the check in was smooth. The restaurant had an ok fare and the staff was very courteous. There was a meal scheme which one could opt for which made the food pricing very competitive. It was value for money and the fare was ok.
The travel desk was good and he offered us help for smooth darshan. We did not take the offer though. There was no extra cost involved. They also tried to organise some games, but the group was too small, since most guests were on the beach or on some sightseeing.The private beach near the hotel was exclusive, because it was far from the main beach.
The room was very spacious and we had a kitchenette as it was a time share room. The AC made such a racket and they could not resolve it and wanted us to change the room. This was very troublesome to stay in 2 rooms in 2 nights, so we opted to turn off the AC instead.
What the resort needs to do is get the road in order. From here one can easily go to the Konark Sun Temple, which is a world heritage site and also the Chilika lake. There were not much dolphins though and no migratory birds yet.
All in all, it was a pleasant stay, maybe dec/jan weather would have been more pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prema_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHRIL, General Manager at Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Greetings for the day !!!

Thank you for sharing your reviews with Tripadvisor, and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your Stay with us.

Your feedback has been shared with the entire team. Its feedback such as yours which enable us to perform and thrive better.

We have also taken note of your views, and have the pleasure informing you that resort upgrade is in progress and on your next visit would surely notice visible changes at the resort.

We once again thank you for your feedback and look forward welcoming you back soon at Golden Sands Puri.

I remain,

Sincerely Yours

Rajesh Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I was in the resort from 9th to11th Oct,2011 with my wife. The resort has no pucca road, it is dark after sunset, so you cannot move out. There is no shop for nearly 1 km from the resort. The rooms are not up to the mark for the amount they charge. Rickety beds. The room that we were given was the only sea facing one, all others are under renovation from the past three years. There is no place to relax in the lobby as there is no AC or fan. They do not provide soap, and expect you to squeeze the hand wash from the small bottle.Food is just OK. It was disappointing except for the very " KIND HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY STAFF".

Room Tip: Travelers can take better places at convenient locations on thebeach in South Puri (Marine Drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Khanna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puri hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Sterling resort is at the furthest point from the Puri railway station. I arrived in Puri by Howrah Duronto. It was on time at 9:40 PM and the taxiwallah charged a bomb to get me there!

I stayed in the resort for three nights. My observations are:
- The resort is spread over 15 acres. The area is clean though there are some rough patches.
- The location is simply beautiful since it is not crowded and cluttered. The Bhargavi river (as what the locals told me) flows next to it and merges to the see. Very nice view of the small river estuary and the delta. There is an access to the beach from the hotel but after you have waded thru 3 feet of river water!. it is however worth it.
- The swimming pool is nice and clean though I did not see anybody venturing in the pool.
- The restaurant had got good menu but is little on the expensive side. A veg meal for two costed about INR 650.
- The hotel rooms(Junior Suite) were clean and tidy. They had small kitchen accessories since you can cook your own food; but that is for the sterling resort members I guess.
- The hotel staff were very helpful and so was the traveldesk.
- The sterling online booking is however not good at all. You'll never get special discounted rates which I discovered later.
However the resort needs lot of investment; the owners need to deck this place up including some nice paint job. The staff did mention that they are refurbishing the resort with some good rooms and expect that to be operational by next year
Overall for me it was a good stay and would like to come back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbequinox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhubaneswar, India
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2011

If you want to stay , you have no communication with world. Because mobile network not available.
It is far away from the city .The road is really very bad. After evening it is very difficult to reach resort. Good food but no test.
Lot of space for children to enjoy . Staff are good. But Poor Management.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UTPAL_BBSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puri hotels
6.6 km away
Hotel Holiday Resort
0.4 km away
The Chariot Resort & Spa
2.6 km away
The Hans Coco Palms
The Hans Coco Palms
#6 of 81 in Puri
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#8 of 81 in Puri
221 reviews
6.7 km away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#9 of 81 in Puri
183 reviews
6.5 km away
Pramod Convention & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: 255/2 And 255/3, Puri 752002, India
Region: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puri
#6 Spa Hotel in Puri
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puri
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,148 - ₹ 7,003
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri - Golden Sands, A Sterling Holidays Resort Odisha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing