We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good budget hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Golden Dust

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Golden Dust
Ranked #42 of 76 Hotels in Puri
India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

One of the main reasons why I chose this hotel, was its proximity to the beach. It was almost on the beach. However the beach was a public beach and very crowded and dirty.

It looked like an old construction. The rooms were small but comfortable. The staff were courteous and eager to help.

To sum up, the hotel is good if you just need a place to sleep at night and want to roam around during the day. Else you should go for good resorts like Toshali or Mayfair.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catchsharad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    8
    7
    5
    11
See reviews for
32
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

We had wrongly chosen this hotel . Location was far away from the Puri bazaar. Room was average. Hotel staffs were helpful . Average hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelguru999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puri hotels

Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

I stayed at Hotel Golden Dust, Puri from 25th December,2009 to 27th December,2009 (for two nights and three full days) with my wife and daughter. I booked one deluxe non-AC room through internet. When I boarded off at Puri Station, the auto-rickshaw drivers claimed Rs. 300 for reaching at Hotel Golden Dust. However, after much bargaining, I fixed an auto-rickshaw at Rs. 120.

The hotel stands just on the sea beach at New Marine Drive Road, far from the main market area, Swargadwar. The road towards this hotel is partly damaged after crossing lighthouse. The building of the hotel looks like a Tram car, because the frontage is small. The building is stretched behind. So, the magnificent Bay of Bengal is not visible from the room.

Each time, while we went to Swargadwar or renowned Puri temple area, we felt difficulty to get a rickshaw or autorickshaw. However, the hotel manager helped me a lot. The fare form the hotel to Swargadwar is Rs. 60 per single journey.

It is a great pleasure that the sea beach in front of the Hotel Golden Dust is clean, calm and quiet. It is full of loneliness and solitude. We enjoyed our bathing very much in the sea. The "Mohona" (confluence of a river and the sea) is a pleasant location nearby.

It is noteworthy that the staffs of this hotel are well-behaved and friendly. The owner and Manager are really friendly. There is no geyser in the bathroom, but the boys supplied hot water in bucket. The food is good and tasteful. We liked the breakfast and all major meals. But there is no Dining Room, so all the time, the food was served in the room.

  • Liked — Friendly ambience, Good food
  • Disliked — There is no geyser in the bathroom and the Sea is not visible from the room
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamil_Sayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiniketan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

I was at Golden Dust on 1st and 2nd of November 2009. I was a magnificient expereience .It was Purnima(fullmoon) I enjoyed the calm quiet enviornment away from bustle liked it .The staffs are very friendly and well mannered the food is good at a reasonable price.I shall visit Golden Dust again.

SWARAJ CHATTOPADHYAY
FLAT NO MM 10 NIVA PARK (PHASE I) KOLKATA 700096

  • Liked — ROOMS WERE VERY COMFORTABLE SPECIALLY THE SIZE OF THE BATHS ARE LIKE A BEDROOM
  • Disliked — THE LOCATION IS FAR FAR FROM THE CROWD AND THE BEACH IN FRONT IS QUIET AND CLEAN
  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swarajSantiniketan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puri hotels
2.8 km away
Hotel Pushpa (Berries Group of Hotels)
0.1 km away
Hotel Sonar Bangla
Hotel Sonar Bangla
#18 of 76 in Puri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 km away
The Pearl
The Pearl
#34 of 76 in Puri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#12 of 76 in Puri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.1 km away
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
#27 of 76 in Puri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 km away
Hare Krushna lodge
Hare Krushna lodge
#37 of 76 in Puri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Dust? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Dust

Property: Hotel Golden Dust
Address: Marine Drive Road | On Sea Beach, Puri 752001, India
Region: India > Odisha > Puri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puri
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,752 - ₹ 3,100
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden Dust 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Golden Dust is right on the beach,on Marine Drive Road with luxurious Super Deluxe rooms that has a great sea-view and all rooms have the luxury of enjoying the sea from their balconies.The hotel provides you with the serene beauty of the sea away from the common din. Lawn in the hotel is like an icing on the cake where you can sit and enjoy yourselves while your little ones play around and what more, you can cherish the wonderful tune of the sea breeze and relish in the rooftop cafeteria.Hotel Golden Dust is located at Baliapanda on New Marine Drive road. Govardhan Peth (Approx. 2Km) and Mata Math (Approx. 0.5 Km) are some of the hotspots in its vicinity. Puri Beach like other beaches of Puri is peaceful and extended for a relaxing walk by the sea. Numerous stalls line up around the beach for tourists to pick up souvenirs made of shells, jute and lamp shades or wall hangings made from patch work. Lakshmi temple, Markandesvara temple and Vimala temple is also worth-exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with OYO Rooms, ClearTrip, Stayzilla, Booking.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Golden Dust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Dust Puri, Odisha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing