We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pullin Puri Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pullin Puri Hotel
Ranked #45 of 80 Hotels in Puri
singapore
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Poor service!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I visited Pulin Puri in December, just before Christmas. It is peak tourist season during this time and so we realised that the Hotel management decided it could get away with anything! The service throughout our week-long stay was atrocious! We would have moved if not for the simple fact, that all other hotels were already packed!

Firstly, although it was really cold and we were not going to use air conditioners in any of our 3 rooms, the Hotel refused to waive off the charge for the air cons and insisted on the inflated room rate. Thus, we ended up paying almost as much as we would have had to pay for a 3 or 4 star accomodation!!!

Other than that, there was no running hot water even in these premium rooms. Whenever we ordered room service, the service was painfully slow, invariably delayed and often wrong! We had to repeat orders several times, send reminders and send back food we hadn't ordered. During all lunch and dinner service hours, the Hotel refused to serve tea, coffee, snacks and even warm water. One of us fell seriously ill and needed warm water, but inspite of several requests we were not served. Also, since the restaurant is independent of the Hotel, Hotel guests do not receive any priority in terms of room service. Also, every time we eat anything, we had to pay for that immediately since they refused to charge it to the room.

The day we were checking out, we found all the service staff lined up in the corridor and waiting expectantly. They were particularly attentive and even those staff who we had never encountered during our entire stay began hovering around. We knew that they were waiting to be tipped but since it wasn't feasible for us to tip twenty of them individually, we gave them a lump sum and asked them to distribute it amongst themselves. This led to aggressive demonstrations of anger, a lot of grumbling, etc. It was very uncomfortable and unnerving! I certainly will NOT reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank krishti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    20
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
46
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Excellent room service.
Well maintained rooms.
Instant service from all quarters.
Superb food quality.
Efficient restaurant staff.
Perfect location.
A home away from home.
Our AC in room302 stopped working on day 6 of our stay. It got rectified in 45 mins sharp. The way it was handled was absolutely proffessional.
I was uncertain about the type of reception prior to our visit after reading certain reviews, n now, i would recommend anyone n everyone to go for it. We were in rooms 302 305 .
Last but not the least, the manager n the staff on the front desk were really really good well behaved n honestly helpful. We were surprised about the negetive reviews.
Dr. Sandip Kr. Nath

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spandan030506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silchar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We visited `hotel pulin puri on june19th 2011 , the best hotel i got in puri , the food was very good the housekeeping deptt was very friendly very prompt in their service , the sea is just opposite from every room of t6he hotel, I recommend all to select room 301/302/303 , the front office staff are very helpful , only thing disappointing is that they dont allow lift after sea bath

Room Tip: book the hotel before online and always take the souble ac room to view the sea in its best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dbiswajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durgapur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

I would like to appreciate the restaurant BHAJA HARI MANNA. The food quality is awesome. Sukta, Pabda macher jhal, amer chatni -simply unforgettable. Those who want to visit Puri I would ask them to have pure bengali food at reasonable price in bhajahari- you would love it.
Uloopi

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank uloopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Hotel rooms are very small vis a vis the rooom rates. no leg space avaoilable in the rooms even if ur in super delux rooms. Food is not up to the mark as the attached restaurant "bhajo hari manna" doesnot serve fresh items. Though food joints are available nearby.
if u would like to spend all your time in balcony then i would recommend this hotel as balcony is as big as hotel rooms

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank surjeetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puri hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puri hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Sonar Bangla
Hotel Sonar Bangla
#18 of 80 in Puri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Pushpa (Berries Group of Hotels)
0.2 km away
Mahodadhi Palace
Mahodadhi Palace
#17 of 80 in Puri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Shree Hari
Hotel Shree Hari
#40 of 80 in Puri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Shakti International
2.2 km away
Hotel Golden Dust
Hotel Golden Dust
#53 of 80 in Puri
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullin Puri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullin Puri Hotel

Property: Pullin Puri Hotel
Address: New Marine Drive Road Swargadwar, Puri, India
Region: India > Odisha > Puri
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 80 Hotels in Puri
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Pullin Puri Hotel Odisha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing