We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ri Kynjai
Nearby Hotels
US$ 143
US$ 128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 81
US$ 79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pine Hill Homestay(Shillong)(Great Value!)
US$ 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Shaurya Inn(Shillong)(Great Value!)
US$ 41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
US$ 169
US$ 132
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pear Tree(Shillong)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
338
134
28
10
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
134
28
10
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsumiam lakethe cottagesview of the lakebadminton courtrooms are hugenature walkapproach roadbeautiful resorttrue to its nameboard gamesshillong citynatural beautyfood is excellentpine treesnature loverslocal cuisinespent nights
Filter
Updating list...
473 - 478 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Reaching Shillong without a hotel reservation wasn't such a 'travel blunder' after all. The choice of hotel was simple and unanimous after we checked some images of the hotel on our mobile. We reached there only to find out that those images on the hotel website did no justice to the actual serenity and beauty of the place. Most rooms in the hotel have the view of the Bhrarpaani lake which I think is the USP of this property. Watching the sunrise from the spacious balcony of our room was worth every bit of effort it took in waking up early :) Watching the changing hues of water was nothing less than mesmerizing.
We did read some reviews about tariff being high but the view from the rooms is no match to what one would pay to get here. I would highly recommended Ri Kynjai for those who wish to be on a quiet holiday for the experience, to us, has almost been spiritual.
Rooms have an aesthetic feel to them. Service is courteous.
We wish to go back here and not miss an opportunity if it were to present itself.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnupamaKoturKaddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Good experience although the tariff is steep. Food was standard fare but served on time unlike what I read in previous reviews. Complimentary breakfast has limited fare like one Indian dish and english breakfast, but they do serve you omlettes, poha, parathas and tea coffee if you request them at no extra cost.
Best part was no people around to intrude. It might get boring for families with children as there is not much action. But a great retreat for honeymooners and couples seeking alone time.

Room Tip: You will be dependent on hotel assisted taxis as the place is a bit cut off from mainstream Shillong.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enigmaiyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We went to this resort after reviewing the comments on trip advisor. No doubt resort has very good location and interior decoration. But it serves too costly meals e.g. Lassi (yogurt)at Rs 220/- a glass, Parantha (bread) at Rs 100/- a piece etc etc. While complementary buffet had only Puri bhaji, bread butter/jam. It seems resort punch line is to attract and then suck.
Secondly, when the light went off in the night, they don't switch on the generator. Intercom stops and you cannot call the reception which in any case is deserted in the night. I had to move personally downstairs in dark with the help of my mobile light to request putting DG set ON. Next night again same thing and as I did not went down, no body switched generator ON.
Thirdly, there is no in house activity to keep family entertained indoors like Gym, Swimming Pool, badminton, or other games. Children get bored. Even one cannot walk to the lake as there is no path made for it. So once you are back to your room, just put ON TV and forget anything else. The nearby resort has sports adventure, boats and walkable path to the lake.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellently located over viewing the Lake.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Me and my husband went there for our honeymoon. The moment we reach the resort we begin to feel good. The place is full of trees and the weather is very pleasant. It has exquisite wood work and the ambience is just grand, mystic and romantic. Not too much crowd here so the honeymooners can come and relax.
It’s truly serenity by the lake,

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LunaOjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel is a very quaint place nestling on the banks of a scenic lake. It is located about 27 km away from the centre of Shillong Township. If you are looking for a room with a view, this is the place for you. The rooms are spacious, well furnished and every room has a sit out overlooking the lake. It is a divine experience sitting there with a cup of coffee and listening to the birds tweeting from the surrounding pine trees. The room service is perfunctory and not available between 10pm and 6 am. The breakfast is a moderate fare with limited choice but tasty. If you plan to leave for Guwahati to catch the morning flight, you may need to forego the breakfast which will not be served before 8 am.

Room Tip: Right Half of the Reception Centre for clear view of the lake
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripman238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews