We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Service, Not so Good Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alpine Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alpine Continental
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Shillong
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Service, Not so Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

We booked this hotel through the online option, and the hotel lived upto the expectations that it had created on the site of this hotel.

The welcome was very good, rooms were ready and they took only 2 minutes to complete the check in formalities.

The hotel location, rooms were superb, the food was great, but the weakest point was the restaurant of the hotel, where breakfast is served, it looked like a loding hotel more than a 3 star hotel restaurant.

The rooms were very good, with proper lighting and furniture, however, the problem was the fact that in the night, they do not switch on the generator if light goes off due to neighbours creating a ruckus ?????????

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JetAirwaysLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    41
    29
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
12
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2009

I have stayed in this hotel twice. The rooms are old. But being maintained satisfactorily but the same can be improved.

The view from the hotel rooms are good. The location of hotel is also good. The front desk staff is courteous.

Shilong being the toursit place the hospitality of the hotel is also good.

The Reception hall is connected with Wi fi internet connection.

Overall the Experienc of the hotel is good.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VeeruKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2009

I stayed there for around a week during the christmas in 2007.
This was a hotel in good location near to the man market for shopping in Shillong.Services are Ok,food is not that much good.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tejas1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shillong hotels

Kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2008

I was stay in this hotel from 8th oct 2008 to 11th oct 2008. When i reached this hotel 1st time my car drive was enter me from the back door because in front of main dorr their have a no entry. When i enter from the back door then i thought that ohhhh god this is a worst hotel. I think my all the money was in loss. But When i go in front of reception then i thought that no its ok. its so nice well decorated and well customer relation management. Their food quality also well. but i can not visit their Bar because those days are dry day for puja. they gave a complemntal breakfast. its also good. But in their resturent i think have some problem in seling. because from seling some water leakage happening. THeir room service are good. but after 2 days my room tea maker was in problem and room service take it for replace but he did not replace it and i can not take bed tea. Howeve its a good hotel in well location also. I will suggest to my friend for visit this hotel when they are in shilong.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HillLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2008

Stayed here in Feb08 for 3 nights.Its an decent place to stay in.They have a good&efficient room service.They have two types of rooms,Garden view and Road side view.But thats bout it.They don't have warm water running all evening which was weird considering we used to come back from our trips in the evening and it was quite cold outside.But we were provided with buckets of warm water on calling the hospitality.And the current used to go off every night after we slept and mysteriously come on in the morning before we got up.A Tip -Better order room service than going down to the restaurant,hardly anyone comes by to the restaurant.The food is good and reasonably priced.Overall quite close to the Police Bazaar where u can really shop.Its a decent place to rest your head in. Dont expect anything more and u wud be happy.

  • Liked — Room Service
  • Disliked — No warm water in the evenings
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ClipperFaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alpineshillong, Director Operations at Hotel Alpine Continental, responded to this review, 16 May 2008
Thank you for your review. In Shillong there is load shedding from 1 AM till 4AM in early morning which is also displayed in the notice board which we presume you have missed seeing and there is nothing mysterious about it.

We thank you for your suggestion about hot water and we assure your good self it will be offered even during evening and night hours in your next visit.

K Agarwal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#3 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.0 km away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
0.2 km away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 19 in Shillong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#6 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#8 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpine Continental? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpine Continental

Property: Hotel Alpine Continental
Address: Police Bazar,, Shillong 793001, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Shillong
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,927 - ₹ 6,021
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpine Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with OYO Rooms, Yatra and ClearTrip so you can book your Hotel Alpine Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpine Continental Shillong, Meghalaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing