We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Doesnt deserve the 4* tag” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Polo Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Polo Towers
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Shillong
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Doesnt deserve the 4* tag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We checked into this hotel and were shown to our room. We were then asked to vacate the room as the reception checked us into the wrong room. "There is no other choice sir..". I expressed my displeasure but didnt want to spoil someone else's holiday by taking the room meant for them. The staff didnt even offer an apology, they just said "its your travel agent's mistake that they gave two bookings with the same name". The rooms are pretty good though and the food is decent. The breakfast spread is very little for a 4* hotel. The final thing that surprised me is that they didnt accept credit card payment and asked me to pay cash. "Our system has some settlement problem and the only credit card machine is not working" was the answer. So much for the 4* tag. The hotel overall is good but the management really needs to buck up its service before it starts advertising as the "only four * hotel in Shillong"

Room Tip: Choose a suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YogiBlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this review, 23 June 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Polo Towers-Shillong`s finest hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us at the hotel.

We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations in terms of politeness especially since we pride ourselves on our famed "Shillong Hospitality".

You would be pleased to know that we have been awarded the World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on guest communication too.

We are happy to inform you that our breakfast buffet is now the largest in the state featuring a range of breads, North Indian main course, South India main course, Continental main course, live eggs to order, a range of breakfast muffins, selection of fresh fruits, selection of cereals, cold coffee or lassi, sprouts, make your own sandwich counter, juices, selection of tea and coffee, etc. New items are added to from time to time. It will definitely be a great start to an adventurous or busy day.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused to you with regards to acceptance of credit card. Unfortunately mechanical devices break down at times and we are afraid that something similar happened during your stay. It was a one off incident and we assure you that it will not happen the next time.

We take great pride in the services we offer and it is feedback from our guest, which assist us to strive for excellence.

We do hope you visit us again and give us another opportunity to look after you and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    89
    58
    12
    16
See reviews for
79
34
7
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I have stayed there on October. Room was good enough with average bathroom fittings. Location was petty good as well. Their room and restaurant service were absolutely fantastic. they have a very good bar as well. During my visit, i found the city was full of cloud which was amazing! to go there from Bangladesh, better to go from Tamabil/Dauki immigration. and then hire a car to go to Shillong which will take 2.5/3 hrs. on the way you can see some awesome natural beauty.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sumon_ola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this review, 23 June 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Polo Towers-Shillong`s finest hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable experience with us. Your note complimenting our services and facilities is highly motivating.

It is due to guests like you that we have been awarded the World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on cleanliness and guest communication too.

We look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
213 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Its a well located hotel and front office staff are very cooperative. The reception is well done up and the rooms facing the roads may be a bit noisy at times since there is a market closeby.
the food at the restaurant is good. The room is comfortable though the hot water supply is sometimes especially very early morning not available.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahua-CCU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this review, 25 June 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Polo Towers-Shillong`s finest hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Strong and positive feedback from our guest is always highly motivating to the whole team in order to provide you with the best services at all times.

We are happy to inform you that our hotel now has three restaurants-"Sky Grill" Our open air barbeque terrace, which is Shillong's only Al Fresco dinning venue, "Ginger" Our multi cuisine restaurant which is famous for its sizzlers and baked fish.
“Milano”- Our Italian restaurant which is Meghalaya's first Sicily inspired Italian 'Ristorante', which brings the charm of Italy to Meghalaya. The sizes of the three restaurants are covenant to their exclusivity,allowing staff to create intimate feel for the diners.

The hotel has also opened "Polo Irish Pub" a pub cum sports bar which is the first pub in Shillong. It is unique in the fact that it marries Shillong's love for international music with an authentic "wee" pub atmosphere, with delicious nick nacks, numerous alcoholic/non alcoholic drinks and it’s the only place in town where a BEER TOWER is served. On Mondays it gives an opportunity to young, fresh as well as established artist to showcase their talent, where there is an open platform for singers and bands. It is definitely a place to hangout out with friends or family after a long day at work.

Our hotel also has a “Cup cake factory” presenting a wide range of flavours and cupcakes that leave you nibbling the last morsel. The Cupcake Factory is open till midnight for those who love to pamper their sweet tooth after dinner.

We have a central water heating system which is the best in the industry. Apart from that we even have a backup water heating system so that our guests are not inconvenienced. Due to the nature of plumbing in general there are times where a small amount of cold water flows out of the tap before hot water starts flowing. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

You will be pleased to know that we have been awarded the World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on cleanliness and guest communication too.

We look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed for 4 nights here and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were good enough, and the bathroom was fine with a nice big shower (although as with everywhere in India hot water was a bit hit and miss).

The restaurant looks like it has been recently revamped as it is pretty modern. We only used it for the included buffet breakfast, but the food was good and there was always plenty available. There was also a bar/nightclub downstairs, but we didn't try that.

The surrounding area is busy market streets, so it is very busy and there is noise late into the night (particularly horns). It is walking distance (up a hill) to the main Police Bazaar area for shopping etc. There are taxi ranks just yards away outside, so transport isn't an issue.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobTwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this review, 23 June 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Polo Towers-Shillong`s finest hotel and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable experience with us. Your note complimenting our services and facilities is highly motivating.

We would like to bring to your notice that the hotel has three restaurants- "Ginger" Our multi cuisine restaurant which is famous for its sizzlers and baked fish.
"Sky Grill" Our open air barbeque terrace, which is Shillong's only Al Fresco dinning venue,
“Milano”- Our Italian restaurant which is Meghalaya's first Sicily inspired Italian 'Ristorante', which brings the charm of Italy to Meghalaya. The sizes of the three restaurants are covenant to their exclusivity, allowing staff to create intimate feel for the diners.
"Polo Irish Pub" is a newly opened pub cum sports bar which is the first pub in Shillong. It is unique in the fact that it marries Shillong's love for international music with an authentic "wee" pub atmosphere, with delicious nick nacks, numerous alcoholic/non alcoholic drinks and it’s the only place in town where a BEER TOWER is served. On Mondays it gives an opportunity to young, fresh as well as established artist to showcase their talent, where there is an open platform for singers and bands. It is definitely a place to hangout out with friends or family after a long day at work.
Our hotel also has a “Cup cake factory” presenting a wide range of flavours and cupcakes that leave you nibbling the last morsel. The Cupcake Factory is open till midnight for those who love to pamper their sweet tooth after dinner.

You will be pleased to know that the hotel now serves breakfast in the banquet hall which is spacious and will definitely increase your appetite once you see what it has to offer. Our breakfast buffet is now the largest in the state featuring a range of breads, North Indian main course, South India main course, Continental main course, live eggs to order, a range of breakfast muffins, selection of fresh fruits, selection of cereals, cold coffee or lassi, sprouts, make your own sandwich counter, juices, selection of tea and coffee, etc. New items are added from time to time. It will definitely be a great start to an adventurous or busy day.

As you have correctly mentioned we have recently renovated the interiors of the hotel. Focusing on the modern approach of decorating, our interior decorator has transformed our hotel into a spectacular place attracting guest to keep coming back. From time to time renovation is done for the hotel making it up to the mark so as to meet the expectations of our guest. The most recent renovation was approximately a month ago.

It is due to guests like you that we have been awarded the World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on cleanliness and guest communication too.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I had gone to visit Shillong and stayed at Polo Towers.
Its the best hotel in Shillong.
Nice place, decent one.
We liked the Cherrapunji trip that theose guys organized for us (as part of our package)
I recommend all to go to this hotel.
Good Food and decent hospitality!

Room Tip: Go with the "package" thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pawan_Kishor_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this review, 26 June 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Polo Towers-Shillong`s finest hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Strong and positive feedback from our guest is always highly motivating to the whole team in order to provide you with the best services at all times. We are highly grateful for your note complimenting our services and facilities.

It is due to guest like you that we have been awarded the prestigious World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on cleanliness and guest communication too.

We look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
2.0 km away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
9.3 km away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 19 in Shillong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Alpine Continental
Hotel Alpine Continental
#5 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.6 km away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#8 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Polo Towers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polo Towers

Property: Hotel Polo Towers
Address: Polo Grounds, Shillong 793001, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Shillong
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,151 - ₹ 9,828
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Polo Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly, a Shillong icon, this hotel is conveniently located on the Oakland road in the centre of Shillong, Hotel Polo Towers, Shillong provides easy access to both tourist and business spots. The best hotel in Shillong offers a large variety of flexible conference and event space. Our Polo Room exclusive venue space is ideal for intimate parties and enchanting celebrations. Enlist our staff to help plan your next event. Feel welcomed with our signature Shillong Hospitality, enjoy a convenient location, close to Shillong's famous golf course, the acclaimed Don Bosco Museum and other Shillong Must Do's. Feel at home in your guest room with our MaxRest beds and stay connected with WiFi. Upgrade to our Presidential Suite to make life even 'Suiter' ! Discover a range of dining options at the hotel. Dine at our specialty restaurant Shillong - Milano, serving Sicilian inspired cuisine. CupCake Factory offers comfort food such as lovely cupcakes, muffins and gourmet coffee in Shillong. Sample a range of drinks and delicious tapas at Polo Irish Pub, Shillong's best Pub and Bar. Work out in our well-equipped Health Studio or eat healthy at Sky Grill - our spectacular terrace barbeque. Visit the famous Living Rooth Bridge at Cherrapunjee from the best Resort in Cherrapunjee - Polo Orhcid Resort. Local attractions such as Wards Lake, Elephant Falls and and Shillong Peak are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelGuru, OYO Rooms, ClearTrip, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Polo Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Polo Towers Shillong, Meghalaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing