We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst hotel in shiilong”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #12 of 75 Shillong B&B and Inns
guwahati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“worst hotel in shiilong”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Date:21.06.2011
1.poor food
2.poor service
3.A/C not working
4. Mattress too hard( hard as rock).

We had booked this hotel by going through the reviews on tripadvisor.com.
This was the biggest blunder , We checked in the hotel at around 7.30pm and was greeted by the courteous Mr.Doley. We were moved to the rooms. On the first look we told ourselves that this was it what we required. We were hungry and went to the resturant to order dinner. The resturant was very small ( seating capacity of about 15-20 peoples). It took them one hour to serve our first order, the paratha they severed was half cooked so we request to change, the waiter told that the paratha will take long time and we should order chapattis for fast service. It took another 30mins to severe the chappatis. We were refused cold drink and were told that they were out of stock( which wa not so as we later checked their stock room).
As we were having our food . BINGO!! we found a cockroache inside the dal.
A/c was not woring in the room (only the fan in the AC was working), ther was no cooling in the room.
Mattress were as hard as rock.Expect a severe back pain in the morning after having a good ninght's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NileshGuwahati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    30
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
35
13
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

Its location in the polo market makes it easy to quickly shop for cosmetics, medicines etc. Its also walking distance (about 15 mins) from the police bazaar where one ventures out for their shopping. The hotel rooms are spacious and well maintained. Staff is courteous and friendly. The restaurant is small but serves good food. Room service is a bit slow though. There is also free wifi access in all rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PramitM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

I booked a suite room for my family. I found room was clean and well maintained ,though hotel was not very big.But we have tasty breakfast & dinner. Restaurant is small but food is tasty ,cost is also very reasonable .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pra_gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

Its run by a minister,so they get away by not serving even water.U got to buy water here!!!!!!Its not worth it!Cleanliness was in the pits!If breakfast was complimentary it was not enough even for a small eater like me.Big farce!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaliaGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burdwan, West Bengal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

Travelled to the North East to enjoy its splendor in the monsoon. The Majestic was definately a good choice which we made. The booking was done over telephone & unlike the other properties of Shillong, they agreed to block the room based on confirmation send over mail & over telephone.

The check-in was fast & smooth. The rooms are spacious & clean. Toilets were spotless & the housekeeing service was good. The room service was extended much beyond the promised 10pm.

The food quality was good & reasonable in cost. Complimentory wi-fi internet access was also provided.

The only aspect the property can improve is the time taken to serve the food after it is ordered.

Overall a nice place to hop in both for business & leisure travellers.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bardhaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#4 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.6 km away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Alpine Continental
Hotel Alpine Continental
#6 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
0.1 km away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#5 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.3 km away
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Me-ba-ai Plaza, Polo Market, Shillong 793001, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Shillong
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,917 - ₹ 5,458
Hotel Class:3 star — The Majestic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the First Boutique Hotel of Meghalaya with personalized care to each guest. Our patrons include sports-celebs, bureaucrats, businessmen and family guests who come to experience Shillong's beauty and like to be taken care off while choosing their hospitality destination. Experience a Majestic stay when in Shillong with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with OYO Rooms, ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Majestic Hotel Shillong, Meghalaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing