We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Matheran”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lords Central Hotel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2010

This was my second stay at Lords Central, an historic hotel a few minutes walk from Matheron railway station. It's probably not the place for you if you insist on having all 'mod cons' but if you're happy staying in simple, but comfortable rooms in Raj era buildings with a quiet old world ambiance, then you won't be disappointed. The hot water might be a bit 'hit or miss'. Having said that the rooms do have satellite TV channels (e.g. BBC World). Excellent and varied food (Veg and non-veg) is served in the dining room where the service is efficient, friendly and not too obsequious. There is a very nice small swimming pool and fantastic views from the terrace. The staff were unfailingly friendly and the facilities and garden were well maintained. The owners are very knowledgeable about the area and willing to advise/help with travel arrangements.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2010

We visited Matheran in the first week of October. From Mumbai, we took a local train to Neral (Central line). At the Neral station, there were lots of taxi drivers waiting to take people to Matheran and we hired a shared taxi (Maruti van) for 50 rupees per head. The drive from Neral to Matheran was up a hilly road and was very picturesque! A better way to travel from Neral to Matheran is to take the toy train, but it is closed during the monsoon and starts around 15th October, and we were there in October first week. The taxis drop you till the foothills and if you have driven by your own car, then there is a paid parking lot where you will have to leave your car. Matheran is a vehicle-free hill station and from the foothills, you have to either walk up to Matheran town (about a 30 minute walk), or hire a hand-pulled rickshaw (approx. Rs. 50) or a horse (approx. Rs. 150). However, if you take the toy train, it takes you all the way up and drops you off at the Matheran station which is right at the beginning of town.

Lords Central is a five-minute walk after you reach Matheran. It is one of the most charming hotels I have ever stayed at. It is more like a guest house than a commercial business enterprise and has a very homely feeling about it. The owners (parents and son) live there itself and are very warm and friendly and personally see to it that every guest feels very much at home. In fact, the owners were kind enough to save us from a very embarrassing situation... We reached Lords with hardly any cash in our pockets since we had thought Matheran would have ATMs, but unfortunately, back then in October it did not have any! (Even now I believe it has just one, which is mostly out of order, so don't forget to carry cash when you vist Matheran). We first thought we would have to return to Mumbai and forget about our weekend getaway, but the owners assured us that it wasn't a problem at all, and we could pay them after going back to Mumbai. They were very thoughtful and even had someone pick up the money from my hubby's office in Mumbai (once we were back), since their office was at another end of town! At Lords, they have two very cute cocker spaniels, which is probably why other pets are not allowed.

When you enter the main gate, there is an old, large bungalow which houses the reception and a library with some lovely travel books in English and foreign languages. Guests can borrow the books free of cost. A part of this bungalow is where the owners live and another part has the kitchen and a huge dining room with around 8-10 dining tables. The bungalow is surrounded by greenery all around. In the garden, there is a badminton court and a larger-than-life chess board painted on the ground which is very popular with the guests!

They have rooms as well as independent cottages. The rooms are all in one block and are mostly garden-facing (chess board and badminton court facing). We stayed in an independent cottage facing the swimming pool and valley. The valley view was breathtakingly beautiful and you don't get to see this view from anywhere else in Matheran. Lords easily has the best property there.

The cottage was the most charming EVER, with a very colonial feel about it. It had a large double bed, enough for three people, plus one single bed. The bathroom (though not very modern) was clean. All the furniture in the room looked like it was just out of an antique magazine. There was a large dressing table and desk, relaxing chairs, TV, phone, etc.

The tariff is quite high, but everyone who visits Matheran should stay here at least once. It is truly an experience in itself! The tariff is inclusive of lunch, dinner and tea on Day 1 of your stay and breakfast on Day 2. Tea with light snacks is served in the room whereas breakfast, lunch and dinner are served in the dining room. Their meals are the best you could get anywhere! For breakfast, they have eggs, omelettes (cheese, masala, chicken, regular), bread, butter, jam, toast, fruits, idli-sambhar, juices, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and other beverages, etc. Lunch and dinner start with soups and starters (Indian and Continental), followed by Patra Nu Macchhi (Parsi fish delicacy), different gravy dishes in mutton and chicken and many more delectable things. They have ice cream, jelly, caramel custard, etc. for dessert. Although everything is served at your table by the well-mannered stewards, the menu is fixed beforehand for each day of the week (and they are careful not to repeat a single dish during the same week), and you can order unlimited stuff. Even if you are staying at some place other than Lords, make sure you drop in at Lords for at least one meal. You will have absolutely no regrets!

On our first evening there, we went out to the local market and spotted this restaurant called Akbar's on the main road. It looked really nice and we dropped in. It was a lovely place to chill out and had a plush, dimly-lit, Arabic-stlye decor, which was quite a pleasant surprise in a small hilly town! They served some really yummy tandoori, mocktails and hookahs. Unfortunately, no alcohol was served as it shares one of its walls with the mosque.

Coming back to Lords, our cottage also had an independent verandah with a couch, facing the valley. Matheran closes very early in the night and this is where we chilled after dinner during our stay. We ordered lots of beer (they serve no other alcoholic drinks) before the kitchen closed and stocked it up in our room and sat in the verandah with the door open and drank all night. The reflection of the moon in the swimming pool looked so beautiful. When we were slightly tipsy, we went for a walk in the garden and sat next to the swimming pool. It was extremely romantic!

Whenever I visited Matharan again, I would head to Lords without doubt !

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adopt_A_Desi_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

May not be the most luxurious around, but it's a charming place whose owners bend over backwards to make you feel at home. It has a well placed pool, small library, bar, dining room and a giant chess board. Per head rates include three fabulous meals.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BugsBunnyMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I visited Lords Central in the first week of June for a weekend getaway..i was relaxation personified! After a 45 minute trek to the hill station from Dasturi Naka (which is the last point for a car to enter Matheran), me and my friends were tired..We were greeted on arrival by the friendly Parsi couple which run the hotel and their dog, Rusty. We liked the hotel at sight immediatly. We were famished, and the Parsi family immediatly set breakfast for us- even though we had reached well past breakfast!
The hotel is a bit run down- it apparently dates about a 100 years..but that added to its charm and homely feel. The rooms were big.. we had stayed in the standard room..three people could easily sleep in the double room and 4 in the room which was meant for 3.However, the rooms were scrupulously clean and so was the pool. The food was great..amazing fare for non-vegetarian..we were served parsi dishes like dhansak on the first day..they have a set menu which is a 4-course meal.
They had a giant chess board and carrom boards and table tennis also..
The hotel is also having an amazing view..specially the sun rise.
The only thing-which is a problem of Matheran actually- were the insects in the room at night..it was rainy season and the insects got attracted to the light. The family told us to shut the light and sleep and that they would eventually go away..apart from that, it was a wonderful experiene.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank actuate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Lord's is close to the Station and has its own "viewpoint" in its backyard. This is the BEST place to watch the sun rise, besides, after you enjoy the sunrise all you need to do is go back to your room and snuggle in. The rooms have a lovely old world style and the Lord family that owns the place are typically hospitable Parsis. You can book the place from Mumbai - their man personally comes to pick up the cash and hands you the receipt.

Rooms in Matheran mostly come full board. Lords is supposed to be the best food, especially if you like your Parsi Bhonu. Its wonderful to come back to the hotel in the winter to some warm soup and food. On Christmas and other holidays they have a celebratory buffet and at night they have a barbeque. It's a great place for families and couples alike.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MumbaiCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.4 km away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
0.8 km away
Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest
0.2 km away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#6 of 22 in Matheran
104 reviews
0.8 km away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 22 in Matheran
143 reviews
15.7 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords Central Hotel

Address: MG Road | Near Station, Matheran 400055, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: ₹ 9,285 - ₹ 10,123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Lords Central Hotel Matheran, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing