We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charming & Peaceful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lords Central Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lords Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Charming & Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

My parents and I are regular Matheran visitors but stayed for the first time in Lords Central Hotel. Since we reached there on an off season friday morning, we were very generously offered,without asking for the same, two rooms for the price of one. This helped form a very favourable first impression.

The hotel itself is charming with an old world feel to it. The grounds are well maintained, The pool is clean with flowering plants around it. As for the rooms, there is absolute cleanliness, the sheets, towels were spotless, the bathroom was clean. But yes the furniture is quite old and shows its age. The room is not luxurious. On the contrary it is very basic.The solar heated hot water is available only in the mornings.. But we did not mind the simple furnishings. The view of the valley from our room sitout made up for it all.

The quality of food was good. Since there were few guests in the hotel, there was no buffet but the food was served directly on the table. Here we felt the service lacked enthusiasm. Otherwise the staff were all friendly with a ready smile. The personal touch of the owners was very evident in the upkeep of the hotel.

The hotel is located centrally and is a stone's throw from the market but at the same time, once you enter the premise, there is absolute peace. This place is not for those who crave loud music, rain dances and flashy entertainment. It is for those who wish to see beautiful sunrises from the hotel itself, its for those who wish to play carrom, table tennis, badminton, life size chess with family and friends, its for those who wish to read a book overlooking a gorgeous valley.

Yes, we had a wonderful stay and would love to come back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jktra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    89
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
72
57
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I chose Lords after reading reviews on various websites. We had too short a time with us and hence after finding out from their Mumbai office on availability of rooms - we decided to barge in directly without booking (Won't personally recommend travel without booking). The owners were kind enough and though we had reached late accommodated us and our requests.
The property is cosy with individual houses having its own verandah. All basic facilities are well managed. Would recommend Valley View (if available).
Food is excellent and served on specific times at a central dining hall for all guests. Dining togather provides opportunity for networking with the guests and helps to find and give more information of what possibilities can be explored, costs etc.
Beware of monkeys who are capable of snatching food so be watchful - specially if you are travelling with children.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RajAmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were in Matheran to celebrate our 5th Marriage Anniversary. We decided to book Lords Central based on the reviews on tripadvisor. The booking experience was good. Called up the Mumbai office, initially planned for a single night, but were told that minimum is 2 nights which was okay. We booked the valley side view as that was in our budget. A person was sent from the office to deliver the booking confirmation and collect cash.
We drove to Matheran. The good part of the drive is once you cross Neral and after a straight patch of 5-6 km the road just picks up vertically. For the first time I saw signboards asking drivers to drive in 1st gear. That was impressive. Reached Dasturi car park which is at Matheran entrance. One needs to leave their car here as cars within Matheran are not allowed. Being Saturday morning and reaching around 12 noon, we could get a parking place almost at the end of the car park. Here one faces "mild" harassment from the coolies and the horse guys.
The Hotel is 3+km/45 min walk from the car park. Good walk for people who like walking with other options being horse ride and hand pulled rickshaw. We took the walk, the only thing is that there is some amount of red soil dust enroute. A small pointer here, Lords has no signboards along the route unlike some of the other hotels so first timers just guess where the hotel is!
Greeted warmly by the Parsee owner on reaching the hotel and to a pleasant surprise, we were upgraded from the valley side view to the valley view room. No doubt about the view, it has the great valley view. The valley view room is east facing - room actually is the best sunrise point in my view.
The room is big - ours had 4 beds inside. It has a separate sitting area and a nice verandah. The toilets are well maintained. The bed quality is not upto the mark especially when one is paying 5k+ per night. Our room had a wall mounted fan which too was not comfortable. Again when one is spending that kind of money.
The food in this hotel is very good. Almost home made food. Non veg is especially good. Our general perception of other restaurants around Matheran is not very good, so would advise to stick to the hotel.
The staff is a bit unpolished but still would say good.
The lovely part of this hotel is the peace. One can sit around the pool side in the night and enjoy beer with good view of the stars.
Other attractions are badminton, table tennis.
Generally about Matheran. Nothing great if you have visited other hill stations, even like Mahabaleshwar-Panchgani. One can go to the various points.We were very selective as the day temperature was rising.
Overall we would give Lords central a score of 3.5.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abhi007_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at the Lords Central Matheran from the 25th of January till the 27th this year. During our last visit to Matheran we’d spotted this place and had sworn to ourselves to book our stay at the Lords in our next visit and treat ourselves some peaceful silent moments.
Its colonial charm, the proximity to the market, the valley view swimming pool and finger licking food is reason enough to fall in love with this place.
We had tried booking the Valley side rooms but as it was a long weekend, all the rooms were booked and we got two play area facing rooms.
Yes! You heard it right; they have a play area right outside the rooms with a giant chess board, TT table, carom board and a badminton court. So while you have the option of lazing around on your personal sit out area, you could also sweat it out a little and pick up those TT or badminton rackets, the more brainy species can carry around the huge pawns and make strategic moves on the gigantic chess board.
Lords is the only hotel at Matheran which can boast of a valley view, and true indeed: it is the only property with beautiful old charm room’s overlooking the valley and the pool.
The only problem that we faced was the monkey’s, a word of caution: please do not be seen carrying food out in the open as you will most certainly be a victim of some greedy monkey snatching away your food and leaving you shocked in horror. This however is not just the problem at Lord’s, but the rule pretty much applies to the whole of Matheran. The monkey menace there is no secret and it seems to me that they keep getting smarter at their business. I say this with such loath as my own bag got snatched away by them just because they had sniffed my Lay’s packet!!
Getting back to Lords, do not stay here if you are the types who loves staying in luxury, as this is a far cry from that, the rooms are basic with beds and pillow’s that definitely cannot be nominated for comfort, there’s no LCD, TV or any fancy room fittings. However if you are looking for a comfortable, clean and cheerful stay, this place is perfect for you.
The food needs a special mention, as that was the highlight of our stay. They offer a four course buffet lunch and dinner which was really tasty. And in case you happen to be a non vegetarian –it’s even better, coz non vegetarian food is definitely their forte.
Cheers and have a great stay :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sancharita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumai
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is the best hotel in Matheran. And only hotel which offers breathtaking Vally view. Hotel is around 15 minutes walk from Railway station and not far away. Hotel is surrounded by lot os green trees. And it is slightly difficult to locate the hotel from the road.

Staff is friendly. And food is excellent. They have special parsi food which is excellent. The kind of soups and curries I had there, I have not found anywhere else.

View from Vally view room is the Best.

Few minus points : Rooms are slight old and Television offers only free sattelite channels. Also no bath tub in the bathroom. And often power cuts. But, hotel has a generator. (As of June 2007)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amol_swanandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.4 km away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
26.1 km away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
29.1 km away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#149 of 433 in Mumbai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.5 km away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#3 of 20 in Matheran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.6 km away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords Central Hotel

Property: Lords Central Hotel
Address: MG Road | Near Station, Matheran 400055, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,142 - ₹ 6,279
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Lords Central Hotel Matheran, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing