We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mumbaikar's, your search is over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mumbaikar's, your search is over”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Couple and 2 grownup kids? Want to enjoy the amazing Matheran climate and also ensure good V / NV food and that the kids are not bored. Minimum travel time to and fro and not spending 50% on the travel? Package for 6 days and 5 nights under 20K. This was for their non-ac rooms, but who requires a/c in Matheran.
Swimming Pool, Karoeke, Kid Activities, Magic Show, Dance floor for free?

Other things with reasonable charges such as pool table, massage, housie, etc?

What else does one need.

Horseland hotel has got it right... 100 marks to them. Bless the management for getting the price right.

Here are some tips for them to improve as well without incurring major cost....

Request to them is to improve the costing so that the price does not increase every year. That they train their sales people as they give different rates for the same package over the phone. One guy gave me 30000/- and the other gave me 20000/- . Request them to get new carom boards. Better TT balls, Better badminton rackets and shuttle corks. Rotate the people who perform the magic shows and fire shows, Try to introduce special healthy food for health patients, such as salads, low oil, natural salt and jaggery sweets.


The place is fantastic, if you consider the price and I would recommend it to all my friends.

Room Tip: Well you may choose the room near the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NDadrewalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    109
    57
    25
    36
See reviews for
174
78
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I went in to the resort with lot of expectations after having read the reviews on Trip advisor as well as considering that this is the 5th best property in Matheran. However, the experience was very average. Please do not go by the pictures on the web as the reality is a lot different. The swimming pool is much smaller in size than what it appears. The rooms too are not well maintaines, with the bed linen and towels appearing old and with stains. The walls and the overall decor seam to old, clumsy; something similar to what you can expect in a cheap lodge. The food is also average although they serve you a variety of dishes. My suggestion: please do not expect anything great from the property by reading the other reviews.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VRaj_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

A very nice property to stay at Matheran. Good for family stay.. But the food served was just average, or below average..
The property is nice and well maintained. Location is apt and close to the market.
Nice activities being organised by the hotel to engage kids..
Kids would enjoy the place a lot.

Room Tip: Select pool side rooms for nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank devverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The hotel hasn't changed much since I was last here. The food is good and the staff is friendly. They are repairing the rooms and still haven't finished construction on the second floor.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

If you are expecting a quiet holiday, then this hotel is not the place to be in. It has many enjoyable activities for its guest and we 3 friends totally had a blast. Since the hotel has many activities, the noise is on from evening till late night, like I said if you are looking for a place for solitude and calm, you will find it only in the morning till afternoon. Also we were impressed that it had many fun games for the children as the kidzees were also seen enjoying themselves immensly. Hot water in the bathrooms is not available in the evening but the hotel were so nice and provided a bucket of hot water in the evening time and we truly appreciated it cause Matheran is a place with red mud and with horses as the only means of transportation, you have a lot of this red mud flying around, so after the sightseeing we are all red and dusty and it was so sweet of the management to provide us with hot water. In the evening times we had a blast with the games and won prizes. This time was also a great time for bonding with the other guests as well. The food was simply delicious not only the non vegetarian fare but also the veg food was awesome and the same goes for their desserts. The location of the hotel is walking distance from the train station yet away from the crowded section so one really enjoys the tranquility in the morning time. It also has a very clean swimming pool. Also I would like to appreciate their staff who were always very courteous and helpful and we felt safe staying there. Overall I would recommend this hotel to any one who would like to visit Matheran. I will definitely stay here on my next visit :)

Room Tip: Take rooms on the first floor on the left hand side as it offers a very good view below
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
46.3 km away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
47.0 km away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
31.0 km away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#210 of 448 in Mumbai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Regal Enclave
Hotel Regal Enclave
#70 of 448 in Mumbai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#46 of 448 in Mumbai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
47.0 km away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 21 in Matheran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa

Property: Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
Address: Vitthalrao Kotwal Road, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,748 - ₹ 9,564
Hotel Class:2 star — Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest and most scenic resorts in the Hills of Matheran, Horseland Hotel is a must visit for all travel goers and holidayers. Maintaining the perfect balance between Economy, activity and Luxury, Horseland Hotel and Mountain Spa is the vacation home for everyone. Child-Friendly? With activities like Horse Riding, Feeding the Bunnies, Hikes and Adventure Shows to keep your children occupied and enthralled, you'll barely worry about how they're going to be entertained. We have a list of activities that vary with every day and are sure to keep your kids involved. Or perhaps it's a trip for two or a group of friends? If you're an adventure buff, seek no more. We have hikes, treks and the scenic beauty of Matheran for people to get lost in (but always found!). The evenings are full of fun events like Karaoke, dancing, bonfires and a variety of exciting and fun activities. Whether you're a family, a group of friends or a couple looking for the perfect romantic getaway, the Horseland Hotel is your ideal destination spot for that relaxing holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra and ClearTrip so you can book your Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Matheran
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa Matheran, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing