We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$149
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$148
View deal
Agoda.com
$126
View deal
Trip.com$150
eDreams$149
FindHotel$150
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveller rating
290
209
42
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
290
209
42
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charlotte lake high ceilings old world charm the ground floor heritage property toy train first floor rooms are big the hotel manager matheran market market area century bungalow elphinstone nature monkeys dasturi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 556 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2022

Our stay at Dune Barr House was memorable. This is a heritage resort, which was originally built by Capt Barr in the 19th century. The old world charm is still retained. The rooms are big with very high ceilings (so ceiling fans are out). It's a place to be with nature and the rooms don't have air-conditioning, television and don't have mobile connectivity too ! It's a perfect getaway place where you can just chill. There is an impressive reception and dining area and you just wonder at the various times those pieces of furniture would have witnessed. A special word for Rahteesh and his team who left no stone unturned in making this holiday special for us

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank udaymalya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 November 2021 via mobile

We had one of our most amazing stays in this beautiful ancient (170 yrs old!) property well located near some out of the world views. We were well taken care by property manager Ratheesh and his team. Everything we asked for they responded with a positive. Simply great hosts. The chef provided us with some great meals customised to our liking. 5 stars and highly recommended. Choose only this place if you are visiting Matheran. Better still plan for a visit once. Won’t regret.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank YusufHaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 November 2021

Staying at the Barr House was a life experience. Nestled cosyly in the rugged terrain, towering trees, swaying branches and the rustling leaves is this more than century old British mansion. The ancient wooden and wrought iron furniture, antiques, picturesque British and Parsi paintings, exquisite hall, magnificent dinning table and crockery and a unique verandah are things which Barr House can boast of. One can either go walking to the renowned Matheran points or sit on the wrought iron chair under the tree and sip a cup of tea or borrow a book from their library, or nostalgically recollect one's childhood by playing a game of ludo in the unique verandah or sit in the palatial room and brood like a philosopher under the high ceiling and painted English glass panes. 

The food is delicious and served with great pomp and style. And above all, it is the Manager Mr Ratneesh who makes all the difference. Soft spoken, gentle and extremely courteous, Mr Ratneesh is always there to help you even if there is a problem. He gives you a very homely feeling. 

I remember the poet who said:

A thing of beauty is joy forever !!

Nilima and Kajal Chandiramani 

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rustle-le
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 November 2021 via mobile

We (wife and kid) visited the property in Nov 21
Out overall experience was super - incl. property, service, food
A special mention to the staff which was very courteous. They made sure everyone Incl. my child is well taken care of
The rooms and property is very clean and maintained the charm

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 499ashishk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 November 2021

We booked our stay at this 170 year old mansion for a day. The place is extremely peaceful, food was superb, specially their special, mutton sukha. Staff is very polite and welcoming and it gives a home like vibe. Very comfortable rooms & amazing ambience.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank anurag_131192
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews