We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$138
Trip.com$167
eDreams$139
Agoda.com$139
FindHotel$139
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveller rating
289
209
42
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
289
209
42
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charlotte lake high ceilings old world charm heritage property toy train first floor hill station rooms are big the hotel manager matheran market market area century bungalow elphinstone nature monkeys dasturi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 556 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2021

Just back from a Trip from The Verandah house Dune Barr Matheran
An Amazing experience .A Different three days pushing u back to Old times but the Comfort of the present.
Every member of the family just loved it
The Rooms were heritage and Food Alacarte was just special.
Resorts are made good or bad with the staff and we had the most Cooperative helpful Manager in Rathesh who was so very concerned for even a small bit of discomfort felt

The trek trails were good and will post pics later

We will always visit again

Thank u Rathaesh and ur staff for a memorable experience

Dr Hemant Shetty

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hemshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 October 2021

Before anything, the management is top class. The most friendly, helpful manager, very very helpful and the rest of the staff is very kind. The food was very good. The problem is with the hotel is that once an iconic property, it is a sad sight to see now. Not well maintained at all, stained, broken furniture, unkempt rooms (and we had the biggest room on the property) was very disappointing to see. Vintage funsiture which really has seen better days. The electricity goes in the middle of the night - many times and the generator does not come on. We had an uncomfortable stay. In this state, it should not be hosting guests.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 2531kit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 September 2021

The experience was absolutely wonderful and serene. The hospitality provided by the property manager (Ratheesh) and the staff are excellent. To like a property so much in spite of no TV and mobile network is a different thing all together. A highly recommended visit. The people are extremely helpful. I would also recommend a small trek to One Tree Hill or Louisa Point (go in the day). Both are amazing trails.

Room tip: Choose the Heritage Superior Room - highly recommended (Jehangir has good privacy and vast enough. Bathroom is also very good)
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miloj2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 September 2021

We were overwhelmed by the service at the Dune Barr House. The staff and the especially the manager (Mr. Ratheesh) went to great lengths to ensure that we had a great stay. The food was pretty great. If possible, try to book the Elphinstone suite. Like all resorts in Matheran, you need to take a horse/hand rickshaw or toy-train to get there - once u reach Dasturi. So, be prepared for that. But, the stay at Dune Barr House was worth it. Well done, Ratheesh.

Room tip: Get the Elphinstone Suite
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank aruncatarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 August 2021

Had called the restaurant and after confirmation, reached there after a 30 min hike to celebrate a friend's bday but not allowed entry and experienced utmost rude behavior by the manager. Very disappointed!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Anks96
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
sunil v, General Manager at Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2021

Dear Guest
It is indeed unfortunate that you claim that you have celled us and that we denied you entry. We did not receive any call from your end and the manager even requested you to share details of the number and the person whom you spoke to. Kindly note that due to covid we are indeed trying to keep the place exclusive for residents and with regards to non resident visit we encourage guest only with prior reservation and that too with a vaccination certificate. We do hope that you you would appreciate that in these challenging times safety is of utmost importance and we do hope that you would refrain from using such platform for misinformation champagne
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews