We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
2 reviews
“Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

liked :
1. The location of the property, away from everything and well maintained.
2. Helpful staff
3. Yummy Dinner


Disliked
1. The room i stayed in " Shankershet " did not open to the Verandah but opened to the kitchen and staff quaters, felt kinda cheated
2. The booking office quoted higher rates than what was quoted on their online reservation facilty, so booked it at the cheaper rate online. Absurd to say the least.

Room Tip: Do not choose Shankershet ! Kapadia and Peerbhoy for budget travelers Please check their online res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanuj1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are pleased to learn about your experience at the property, including the maintenance, the service, and the food.

We are surprised to read your feedback about the Shankershet room. This is a quiet room, hidden behind a bamboo courtyard and does not open out on to the front Verandah.

With reference to your feedback about the rates, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We have investigated the same from our end and the wrong rate was inadvertently quoted by a member of our Sales team. We have been assured that this was a human error and the necessary steps have already been taken to ensure that the same does not recur in the future. We hope that you will not hold the same against us.

Once again we thank you for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    181
    33
    5
    3
See reviews for
150
200
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Firstly, Verandah in the forest is not a hotel...its a beautiful bungalow in one of the best parts of Matheran. Its a MUST stay especially for couples and families. The rooms are beautiful...families can take large rooms on the right side of the bungalow while I would strongly recommend Kapadia room for couples who want privacy, its in the backside of the bungalow (probably an outhouse during the early days of the bungalow). The main porch is nice (though be careful of monkeys during eating times), there are good books to read and laze at any point during the day/night. Food is good though continental dinner may not be to everyone's appetite. The place is not too costly and offers privacy due to limited number of rooms/guests.

Room Tip: Do remember to book in advance...also the entire payment is to be made in advance at Neemrana office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mahesharwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran. We are delighted to receive your compliments about the rooms and the ambience of the property.

The 27 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

We thank you for your visit to The Verandah in the Forest and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Matheran – can be mystically at its best especially during rains! Though it is not supposed to be the best time to visit Matheran during rains, it indeed is a very mesmerizing experience in itself.

We received a warm welcome at The Verandah in the Forest. The welcome drink – a concoction of lemon and ginger, was too good to quench the thirst and release the fatigue. The registration was surprisingly quick. While booking I had particularly asked for a chocolate cake (the best from the chef) to be placed in the room. It was taken care of even before we checked in.

We had booked Kotwal Suite, which met our requirements. There were 2 rooms, one had a single bed, the other had a large king size bed. The property is quite old but well maintained. The luxurious feel you get on entering the room is out of this world. Unique in its own kind, the ceiling lies at 3 times the height of the door.

The bed and furniture arrangement was skillfully made to provide huge space for movement in the room. The room was well lit. The bed, though coming from the old era, was as comfortable as the one you would usually find in any top class 5 star hotel across the globe. The outer room had a single bed, a work table, a sofa set and a wardrobe. The inner room had a double bed, a wardrobe, a dressing table. The entry to the bath room was through the inner room. Availability of hot solar water makes it even more pleasing to bath at any time of the day. The interesting part here was the bucket and mug made of heavy stainless steel.

An exciting buffet lunch spread awaited our arrival. The spread comprised a mix of Indian and Continental Cuisine. Not to mention, the chef did a wonderful job. The food tasted as good as it was presented. The servers here ensured that monkeys don’t trouble you while you have your lunch.

Post lunch, we rested in our room for a while. We had the delicious chocolate cake along with the evening tea (here too they offered us a variety of tea to choose from – masala, earl grey, darjeeling and lemon).

The dining room had a huge dining table which can accommodate 20-25 people. It is here, where other guests staying in the hotel join you for the dinner and you actually end up interacting with each other. The room was not well lit as they serve a four course candle light dinner. A soup followed by starters, main course and dessert to end the meal.

They also have a huge common room where one may relax, listen to music, read books, play carom, cards, chess, etc. Another must see thing at this hotel is the Neemrana Shop located just behind the main building.

The next morning, breakfast was lavishly spread. Bread/Toast with butter, jam and cheese. Interestingly, they had as many as 12 flavors of house-jams. Eggs were prepared and served to order. Assorted breakfast cereals, main course, desserts, tea/coffee formed the other breakfast items.

After breakfast we headed for another stroll through various breathtaking points. We returned to the hotel at around 1 pm. Though the checkout time is 12 noon, the hotel extended its courtesy to allow a late checkout (post lunch).

During lunch, we extended our thanks to the servers, the chefs and the manager for ensuring our satisfaction. Needless to mention, this non-hotel hotel exceeded the expectations!

Just one suggestion for fellow travelers – it is recommended that you carry cash to pay your bill, especially if you are visiting during monsoon. The telephone lines may not be working all the time and it is likely that you won’t be able to make a card payment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your warm and appreciative review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

Your compliments about the Kotwal Suite, the food & beverage experience, and the service have been conveyed to the hotel team that strives hard to maintain the same. We are pleased to learn that the non-hotel was able to exceed your expectations. Your feedback is heart-warming for the entire Neemrana family that strives hard to put new life into a ruined and unused building.

The 27 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

We thank you for your visit to The Verandah in the Forest and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

My brother and I spent a couple of days with our families at the Verandah in the Forest. Our stay there exceeded our expectations. My last trip to Matheran over 30 years ago had been a total disaster, and I was not quite sure of what to expect this time around. Suffice to say that they exceeded our expectations. The ambience surrounding the place; well appointed rooms with lofty ceilings, the verandah overlooking the lush Sahyadri range of mountains, the excellent food, it was an experience to relish. The staff were very attentive, going out of their way to please. Except for the monkeys and their antics on the roof, the place was quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadhAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

It is heartening to learn about your experience at the property. Your compliments about the food and the service have been conveyed to the Chef and the service team. You will be amazed to know that the property is run by locals that have been empowered by Neemrana to run their heritage with pride.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed Neemrana’s philosophy and were able to relax and rejuvenate. This is exactly what we strive to achieve.

We thank you for your patronage to The Verandah in the Forest and the Neemrana brand in India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I had accompanied my sister and brother-in-law to Matheran over the weekend. It was our first time there and we are glad we selected The Verandah In the Forest. The hotel location is perfect, rooms and clean and feel upmarket. Staff were courteous and helpful and the breakfast was homely and delicious.

Room Tip: Book in advance, rooms might be full during the monsoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jayjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

Your feedback about the cleanliness, the ambience, and the food is heart-warming for the entire Neemrana family. We are delighted to learn that you were well looked after by the service team.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
37.9 km away
The Machan
The Machan
#3 of 67 in Lonavala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
16.0 km away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#151 of 440 in Mumbai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
29.1 km away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 km away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
26.8 km away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
15.8 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest

Property: Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
Address: Barr House | Matheran, District Raigarh, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,189 - ₹ 7,527
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paths once cleared by the British in the forests of Matheran, making it the last British hill station have acquired a new identity as the place where Bombay’s movers and shakers which include filmstars and businessmen come to spend a few quiet and peaceful days.Perched atop the Sahyadri ranges, Matheran is Asia’s only pedestrian hill resort. Chug up in a toy train, trot, or arrive in a palanquin, past gigantic mansions built by the British, the Parsis, and the Bohras. The Verandah in the Forest was the second house to be built on the isolated Western Ghats, by Captain Barr. Now, with every facility in place, it is reputed to be second to none! Indeed, the nobility of the proportions of The Verandah bring civilizational honour to the Sahyadri ranges. Lounge like never before in this verandah of your dreams. Read under the highest domestic ceiling you would have known in the salon – 12 metres/35 feet high. Stroll down to Charlotte Lake. Or take longer walks with a picnic basket. Relish the local cuisines. Heave your chest, muscle your calves, take all the oxygen back in your lungs. Link your planet with your own two feet.Find space for more space in your mind. Or lose yourself to find yourself anew.Long after you return, you will wonder who would have dared to sprawl out such a tree-home space in such spell-binding wilderness? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Yatra and Hotels.com so you can book your Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Verandah In The Forest Hotel Matheran
The Verandah In Forest
Neemrana's - Verandah In The Forest Matheran, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing