We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dire need of renovation”
Review of Brightlands Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brightlands Resort
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Reviewed 5 November 2011

we went to this hotel on recommendation from someone who had stayed with them 5 years ago and looks like the property has declined to real bad state since then. It seems the owners have changed couple of times within last five years and the new owners have taken no care to restore or maintain the earlier name and brand this hotel carried. This would be good for a day visit if you plan to matheran as food is not that bad but the price/value equation is not great for this hotel. It seems all hotels in Matheran are bad except a couple of 4 star ones so you would need to try your luck if you are trying any other than the four star properties

Room Tip: the suites are better than any other rooms
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SuhasGujarathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Brightlands Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

It was the new year party we stayed and celebrated at Brightlands. This was our second stay here. We like the natural surroundings; monkeys playing all around and big tress in the campus.
Lot of activities for everyone is a good fun. Go around Matheran during the stay; riding a horse. Early evenings and nights are cool at the resort.
The best part was the new year party. It was really well managed and well arranged. All the dance songs, songs and program was really nice.
Will be back here some later year-ends for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DipakAbhyankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed at this place with 2 other friends & families - Mid Oct 2011. It was supposed to be the last weekend of the "off-season". The check in etc was ok - but in-spite of Specifically requesting for rooms next to each other (3 families) they did what typical bad management does , they gave us rooms in different wings(when the hotel was not even 1/2 occupied), with a hope to get rooms next to each other by end of day - we thought of checking in the rooms; and we got the shock of our life ... man what can i say - no one would/should pay even 1/4th of what they ask for these rooms !!! one of the room's had this horrible green color on the walls(which were barely straight) , one room had the walls almost soaking wet (and hence the color coming off it). I know its a monsoon season etc , but i dont think the hotel's in other hill stations are as bad as this one. We immediately went to the front desk asking them to change the rooms, as we simply found the current rooms UN-acceptable. We were shown few other rooms in similar category(i think deluxe) but we did not like any one of them, finally we liked (sort of) the "Suits" and one/two "Super deluxe" rooms . the Suits are the rooms with 2 levels, were alteast well painted, and rooms were of decent size etc. But still they are absolutely no where close to the rates quoted for !! The staff was good enough to notice our frustration and after multiple persuasions offered to "upgrade" us with some discount. We had no other option but to take these rooms.
The other amenities of this resort are almost non-existent !!! so dont expect them :)
The outdoor pool i suppose would be operational only during summer.
they have a small hall where they play movies for kids, and DJ plays music there @ night.
The restaurant was ok - food spread was decent for the price.
Overall it was not a stay which we were happy about - but since we were a group of friends with kids , we managed to have fun.
There were few good things
1. The staff: very helpful and polite and understanding, the restaurant staff especially - does not know how to say "No" :) . so unfortunately end up under delivering or missing the promised delivery times consistently. :)
2. Location : its not too far from the market, and still almost secluded from the crowd.
3. They did offer us some money back (aprox 3.5%) because of the too frequent electricity problems.

we were told by local folks that this was one of the very good hotels/resort when it opened, but over the years its undergone management changes quite a few times- and that sort of screwed up the entire thing......

Over all - Would i stay there again ? Hell no
would i suggest/recommend it to anyone --- Hell No
BTW: did i mention our room had a Rat, and there were so many dogs in the property especially @ night that made sure we did not have a proper sleep (Dont know what the security guard was doing .......)

Room Tip: If you absolutely have to stay in this place - then stay only in either Suits or may be super deluxe...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We had been to Brightlands Resort for a Company picnic. The group was about 30 persons.
There are big rooms with mezzanine floor which can easily accomodate persons each and there are smaller rooms which can accommodate 2 persons. There is a swimming pool and bar facility.
A DJ plays music so the group can have a great time. This can get crowded during weekends making it difficult for small families / couples
Overall service and food is average.
Brightlans is about 20 minutes walking distance from the railway station.

Room Tip: Great for groups/ picnics
  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hari-the-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

I stayed for 3 days with my family on a holiday. Rooms are average. The ambience is reasonably good as the property has open spaces where swings, a TT table and a swimming pool are there. However, there are monkeys all over the place, who create a nuisance. A monkey even entered my room and took away a bottle of soft drink!

The place is not where a vegetarian would love to stay. The package charged (inclusive of food) is the same for veg & non-veg guests, but the options for vegeterian guests are very limited. On talking to the staff on this, the only reply we got was that this is a fixed menu decided by the management, and they can do nothing about it. Eventually, we ate out!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rakesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.2 km away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
0.8 km away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.1 km away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 21 in Matheran
141 reviews
15.9 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
15.9 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brightlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brightlands Resort

Address: Maulana Azad Road,, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: ₹ 1,000 - ₹ 15,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brightlands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Brightlands Hotel Matheran
Brightlands Resort Matheran, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing