We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for a Company Picnic”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Brightlands Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brightlands Resort
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice place for a Company Picnic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We had been to Brightlands Resort for a Company picnic. The group was about 30 persons.
There are big rooms with mezzanine floor which can easily accomodate persons each and there are smaller rooms which can accommodate 2 persons. There is a swimming pool and bar facility.
A DJ plays music so the group can have a great time. This can get crowded during weekends making it difficult for small families / couples
Overall service and food is average.
Brightlans is about 20 minutes walking distance from the railway station.

Room Tip: Great for groups/ picnics
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hari-the-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    18
    22
    6
    19
See reviews for
43
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

I stayed for 3 days with my family on a holiday. Rooms are average. The ambience is reasonably good as the property has open spaces where swings, a TT table and a swimming pool are there. However, there are monkeys all over the place, who create a nuisance. A monkey even entered my room and took away a bottle of soft drink!

The place is not where a vegetarian would love to stay. The package charged (inclusive of food) is the same for veg & non-veg guests, but the options for vegeterian guests are very limited. On talking to the staff on this, the only reply we got was that this is a fixed menu decided by the management, and they can do nothing about it. Eventually, we ate out!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rakesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

I stayed at the Brightland Resort along with Friends. We opted for the Duplex Room so that 4 of us could stay together. The Room is Highly Recommended for Family with Kids. They'll just love the Loft Room.

The Hotels a bit further down the Market so its quite a walk (You could take a Horseride or a Cart). But the Quality of Room makes it all worth it. The Hotel is well spread out & had a Pool with some Indoor Games. But all of the ammenities are not very well maintained & thats where the Hotel faulters. The care-a-damn attitude is evident. The Food is also very average (nothing that I would talk about) but edible. In summation, The Resort needs to be maintained better & the food needs improvement.

The Location is fabulous, close to all the points & very quite (since its pretty away from the market).

Overall, I recommend it to all people who look for a quite,relaxed time & need a neat, clean & good quality room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

We took a short break after Diwali and decided to go to Matheran. A place that I wanted to visit for a long long time and was glad that we finally were going there. All my enthusiasm went for a toss till we entered the room that we were going to stay in for the next 3 days. It was a dingy, smelly room which was a Deluxe room by their standard. For the money that we were paying, we felt extremely cheated but of course we had no option as we had to pay the entire money in advance. Even the towels were pathetic.

The only silver lining to this place was the activities at the resort, good DJ and good grub.

But not a place worth staying for sure.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neetuwadhawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Matheran hotels

Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

free hotel stay was charged with full rent in the pretext of grown up children (one aged 15 years and other 9 years). Bad mannered manager without any coutesy and softness. Not a pleasent experience in hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChetanPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.8 km away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
16.3 km away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#205 of 444 in Mumbai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.7 km away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#3 of 20 in Matheran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 24 in Matheran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.0 km away
Premdeep Hotel
Premdeep Hotel
#5 of 24 in Matheran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brightlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brightlands Resort

Property: Brightlands Resort
Address: Maulana Azad Road,, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,000 - ₹ 15,000
Hotel Class:3 star — Brightlands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Brightlands Hotel Matheran
Brightlands Resort Matheran, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing