We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$83
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$83
View deal
Agoda.com
$82
View deal
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
56
47
11
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
56
47
11
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visit matheran superb food home away from home clean rooms nature market caretaker dal stomach peace arrangements washroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Very Nice Experience with Girivihar. Food was excellent. Environment was cool. Rooms are spacious. It's value for money. Once should visit. We were couple enjoyed lot with nice sports and big yard. Service is good.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kiran24_sandge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 August 2018

We stayed in Girivihar during the last week of December 2017.

Location: It is about 15/20 minutes walk from the main market. If you are not used to walking with luggage, you can hire a horse or a hand-pulled rikshaw.
There are 3 buildings, each building housing 5 rooms in a row, so approximately 15 rooms in total. There is a separate building which houses the owner and her office.

Pros:
1. Girivihar is set on a big property, with trees all around. You are energized seeing the greenery and vast expanse. Nice ambience.
2. Vast area outside the rooms to play outdoor games. Kids enjoy roaming around.
3. A couple of hammocks swing between the trees, which are my favorite. You can read a book or just relax on the hammocks.
4. Big rooms. Huge bathrooms.
5. Tasty and unlimited vegetarian food. Nice dining area.

Cons:
1. Only two hammocks mean you may not be able to get them if the rooms are occupied.
2. No water heater in the room. Hot water is available only from 7 to 9 in the morning. So if you reach late, you will have to freshen up with cold water.
3. The rooms, including the doors, furniture and fixtures are very old and need replacement / renovation.
The TV was a small CRT, a rarity these days. But we hardly switched on the TV, so not an issue for us.
The toilets are huge, but not very clean. The WC bowl was old styled and difficult to use. To use it in Indian style, one has to climb on it, which is difficult. To use it in western style, it was supposed to have a lid, but it did not, making it a hygiene issue. I have posted pictures here.
Blankets were old.
4. The room next to us was allotted to a bunch of single guys. They kept drinking and talking through the night. The common wall had a gap at the top, and the noise kept us awake. Finally, at 2 AM, I went out to inform the staff, but there was none to be seen. I had to call the owner and wake her up in order to get some peaceful sleep.
My question is, why a room next to a family was given to single men? It is a common sense to avoid allotting singles and families the rooms next to each other.
5. Sometimes at dinner time the lady owner, Ms. Acharya, would be present in the dining area. If we try to ask her a question, she would point us to the service boy standing next to her, as if she wanted him to answer us. Invariably we had to repeat the question to him, which was irritating. It may be part of their training but pointing the customer to someone else standing next to you, when you have the answer, looked very strange.
6. While booking the room a couple of weeks earlier, we had paid the advance. At the time of checkout, their card swipe machine was not working. The owner suggested to make a bank transfer, but it failed due to poor internet connectivity. This was an infrastructure problem, but the owner insisted that we pay the entire balance in cash before we leave. So we went out to check if there is any ATM nearby.
In Matheran there are hardly one or two ATMs and they were down as usual due to connectivity issues. Finally, we pooled our cash together. It was short by Rs. 1000. Owner was insisting on full payment in cash, but we could not exhaust all our cash because we needed to pay the taxi on our way back. Finally, the lady accepted the available cash with repeated reminders to pay the remaining balance of Rs. 1000 before end of the day.
My question: The owner knew that the connectivity in Matheran is erratic and the swipe machine does not work. So, she should have instructed to carry enough cash to pay the balance. This would have avoided the waste of a couple of hours at checkout and the heartburn at the last moment.

Overall, considering the pros and cons, a very average experience.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjay_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Cheap accommodation but quality of rooms is bad. Location is nice not too near nor too far from main market. They have big garden and vegetation is lush. Beware of monkeys as they can come in room to steal food.There were many beds in our room. Blankets were provided but were old.Food options are limited and complimentary breakfast menu was very limited but ok. The table tennis board though is very poorly maintained.

Room tip: room 1 wall had cracks and roof was metal. room 2 was better
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Sheetal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 April 2018

too good location .Calm and serene .Rooms were spacious and good enough for 3 people Good service in terms of amenities .They had spacious lawn ,garden and play area for kids .Sunrise point was nearest to our hotel

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank khyati1ssg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Hotel Girivihar is around 20 mins walk from Matheran station situated at a peaceful location away from the market. The rooms are pretty spacious and well kept. The food was limited (pure veg) but simple and tasty. The table tennis board though is very poorly maintained. A few hammocks are put up at the venue just to relax in the midst of nature. The sight-seeing places are not far off from this hotel. Don't expect a very plush ambience but I can definitely vouch for a green and clean accommodation.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ashes_trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
<