We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$80
Priceline$80
Travelocity$80
Orbitz.com$80
Trip.com$80
Agoda.com$81
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
22
41
20
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
22
41
20
13
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

If you are looking for a budget friendly away from the crowd place in Matheran this is a good choice. This is a old style hotel with big high ceiling rooms.The furniture and fixtures are very basic but it is clean.The vegetarian food served here is pretty good and quite reasonable. The property is fairly big with a swimming pool and surrounded by dense forest. What appealed most was the location, a little away from the main town. A nice place to spend a weekend.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Deepankar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We visited this hotel with two couples. We took two separate rooms near by. They also have interconnected rooms if you wish so or they can separate it as well.
This hotel feels like old government buildings but it is well maintained. Bathrooms are clean, the garden view is very nice because it is a secluded hotel, need to walk a lot to reach this hotel.
But if you need calm and peaceful holiday this is a must stay hotel.
Food was ok atleast better than many restaurants on Matheran.
Nearby you won't find any restaurants so do take a full board while booking this.

Near by points are Monkey point and Heart Point.

But I recommed this hotel.

Room tip: All the rooms are good and have same view everywhere.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TC2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 May 2018

This place is like a 10 min walk from Sun and Shade resort metheran and is in its own way, "Pretty secluded".
Note that everything around here closes by 10:30 PM. So if you are a late night person (Like I am) you better stock up.

Check-in:- We had booked a room at sun and shade but the owner shifted us to cecil since all rooms got full. We were quickly
given a non a/c room.

Room & Facilities:- Room is basic. A luxury seeker will be disappointed. But yes, it does the job. We were 4 guys on a getaway from
Mumbai and really didnt bother with the amenities as such. Decent room. TV didnt work. Two of the charging points didnt work. The fan was
noisy as anything. The drinking water kept in the room was as old as the resort itself. Bathrooms were very basic. Thankfully the
hand shower did work! Overall room was okayish.

Food:- Great variety, buffet food system. We had the option to choose from several dishes and had a really good eating experience.
Traditional vegetarian food only, they do not serve non veg. Tasted home made and well cooked food. Must appreciate the food quality.

Resort:- Has a pool. Pool is tiny, so even if a group of 4 are present, it looks as if the pool is full. We went into the pool late night
at around 3 am. No restrictions with the timings or so. Carrom board is not upto the mark. Old and not maintained.
They do have some rides for the kids like the swing and slides etc. No monkeys spotted within the premises. Although there are a few stray
dogs around.

One main thing about here is that you need to stock up if you plan to party till late night. Getting even a hairpin after 10:30 pm is
an herculean task. A great place however, for nature seekers and people who like peaceful surroundings.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Honest_Rev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

This is really a gem because of the natural surroundings, the fixed rates system, the big rooms and excellent food. The manager and his staff is super helpful. I was allowed to use kitchen to prepare baby food that i carried. The market is 10 to 15 mins walk and i would never recommend staying in any of the hotels there due to huge crowd during weekends. One suggetion i have is to drink as much lemonade as you can from the roadside , the water used is the mountain water and i can bet thats it very safe and pure as my 1 yr old had that water throughout 2 days without any stomach issue

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Supreeti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Visited the hill station in feb the cottages are good and rooms are big in size .there is an extra bed within the room . You get tea coffee /breakfast/dinner at a fixed time. Staff is good.place is 10 mins from the market .

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Anuj07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews