We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Serene”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Matheran is all about trekking & long walks, since this hill station dosent allow any vehicle inside & what better place than Hotel Byke to anchor yourselves. The rooms are spacious & clean, food is delicious & served smilingly more than what you an eat. Kids are bound to have fun in the pool since there the enough fun activities to keep the happily occupied. Since on the day of our arrival we reached very late in the noon, the staff were courtieous enough to serve us with piping hot food on arrival. They also have a Spa.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bestcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    99
    52
    16
    20
See reviews for
110
64
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Had traveled with family and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hotel. Very comfortable Cottage we got for our family and their services were also very good. Recommended for all who are Vegetarians. Good Hotel. Very relaxing Holiday.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DollySoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Well i visited matheran after a very long time (8 years gap). considering that byke was one of the best hotels then, i chose to revisit it. well i was more than disappointed with the state of the hotel now. it needs serious maintenance. i don't know if the owners have changed or what has gone wrong. the rooms were smelly. the place got so much potential but alas poor maintenance has ruined it for now. as of now i wouldn't recommend it to anyone. there are tons of new ones around in matheran. probably this place is worth a miss in my books.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jholapara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Matheran hotels

Vadodara, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2011

our entire family had plan this trip to matheran , overall the trip was good but we had disgusting experience with the hotel ,

1.the day when we reached the food was horrible , we had to fill our stomachs by eating the desert, and from that ice cream was not part of the desert it was chargeable, everything there like kids zone , deserts , ice cream is chargeable, forget that to entertain guests they make you play housie even the tickets guests are suppose to buy on their own .

Taking bout the property , its very old basically they cannot charge so much for such an old property , the rooms and bathrooms were really in bad shape , they have a health club , which is nothing more than a dirty and dingy room. their health club gave me creeps

all i can say is we end up paying 4 star rates with 2 star facility . i strongly not reccomend this hotel to anyone. its facilities are very poor , the website is totally misleading . the actual picture is not so ,

There is Usha Ascot besides byke which looks lot better than this

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacation086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 April 2011

It Was a let down.....Though the rooms were clean & the food though only Veg was not bad, the other facilities were almost non functional.Room charges are not cheap but facilities provided in lieu of that were not worth..
Swimming pool was very very dirty with scores of dead insects floating on the water & the pool floor & walls were lined with moss.After lot of pestering the pool floor was mopped the next day morning, still didn't feel like entering it.kids pool & water fountain didn't have a drop if water.reason given was lack of water.Their website didn't mention any of these problems infact it showed all facilities in working condition.The photographs in their website were totally misleading.May be they are meant to be used only on weekend or other rush days.
Found richi rich resort be much better with working pools and better priced...

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.8 km away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.8 km away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
290 reviews
15.4 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
16.3 km away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#226 of 454 in Mumbai
15 reviews
0.7 km away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 21 in Matheran
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byke Heritage - Matheran? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byke Heritage - Matheran

Property: The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Address: M.G Road | District - Raigad, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,543 - ₹ 11,339
Hotel Class:2 star — The Byke Heritage - Matheran 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byke is Matheran's first dwelling place. Built in 1854 by the discoverer of Matheran, Hugh Malet, then Collector of Thane , it is a heritage building that still stands majestically in all its pristine glory, personifying a heritage unparalleled, surrounded by the inheritance of 7 sprawling acres. In this wooded estate the first luxury Resort of Matheran, The Byke- A Hotel Retreat, has been blended with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your The Byke Heritage - Matheran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byke Hotel Matheran
The Byke Heritage - Matheran Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing