We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
21
36
11
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
36
11
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews value for money weekend trip tea coffee swimming pool basic amenities pure veg hill station woods badminton monkeys market food games midst crowd vegetarian
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We were a group of 7 (3 couples and 1 guy) and arrived in Matheran over the weekend for a short break. The hotel is close to main market and rly stn as such, however apart from this there are no other positive aspects worth mentioning. To begin with the rooms are small and contain only bare min stuff, bathrooms highly un-clean and food pathetic. The bed sheet was stained and pillow covers soiled when we entered our room, on protesting the bed sheet was changed after much reluctance by the hotel and the new one was no better. The complimentary breakfast was OK, but lunch and dinner were not even worth feeding dogs!!! The rice leftover from the lunch was used to make biryani in the evening for dinner. A couple of my friends vommited after consuming the dinner in the night. Overall a horrible experience and not even worth 1/4th of the price we paid for this hotel. Highly not recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greyhawk52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

the location is excellent, bang in the middle of the forest away from the main market great home cooked veg food. the only issue is the room / sheets / towels was not spot clean.its great just for the location and food quality

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhoomktoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

This hotel is for those, who are looking forward for spending quality time with their families at calm and peaceful place amidst nature. Its about 10 minutes walking distance from matheran railway station. Surrounded by thick green forest. Couple of points like monkey, hart, sunset and echo points are at trekking distance from it. Food is delicious and simple. Service is nice. It does not have amenities like swimming pool, gym,disc, but then you can get them in any resorts near mumbai or pune...you don't need to travel to matheran for that. Room given to us are nice but require little more cleanliness.. They were not cleaned during our two night stay...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bps19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Once decided on Matheran, we made advance booking on Woodlands after looking up tripadvisor. It was a beautiful resort like hotel, amidst real forested area. We actually woke to the sounds of birds chirping and monkeys prancing on our roof top. Excellent "home" food served with graced. The resort had lots of indoor games, and even a small library. The lack of phone and TV added to the out of the world rejuvenating experience. Perfect stay for couples as well as families.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank deepans08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We booked this hotel based on the reviews of Tripadvisor.We booked the hotel for 1 night/2 days. As we were not sure about our trip till last moment and had to search a lot as many hotels were full and in some hotels, the minimum booking of 2 nights was compulsory condition adding heavily to our budget. Finally I was happy to find the option of woodland which charged very reasonable rate in pick season and did not also insist on 2 night booking.

The best thing I liked about this hotel is that it is away for market place and very quiet. There is no harassment from monkeys either. Quality of food was also good and service was quiet homely. Also road to market place from hotel is very natural and surrounded by a lot of greenery and full of peace.

Overall our decision to go for woodland was very much justified, when I saw those market side deluxe hotels being flooded with people everywhere and no feel of nature.

I would request woodland people to construct their own website as I somehow managed to get the contact numbers from internet. Also a small swimming pool would make the hotel a best resort in matheran.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hrparikh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews