We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rejuvenating getaway for couples”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Woodlands Matheran
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Once decided on Matheran, we made advance booking on Woodlands after looking up tripadvisor. It was a beautiful resort like hotel, amidst real forested area. We actually woke to the sounds of birds chirping and monkeys prancing on our roof top. Excellent "home" food served with graced. The resort had lots of indoor games, and even a small library. The lack of phone and TV added to the out of the world rejuvenating experience. Perfect stay for couples as well as families.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank deepans08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2010

We booked this hotel based on the reviews of Tripadvisor.We booked the hotel for 1 night/2 days. As we were not sure about our trip till last moment and had to search a lot as many hotels were full and in some hotels, the minimum booking of 2 nights was compulsory condition adding heavily to our budget. Finally I was happy to find the option of woodland which charged very reasonable rate in pick season and did not also insist on 2 night booking.

The best thing I liked about this hotel is that it is away for market place and very quiet. There is no harassment from monkeys either. Quality of food was also good and service was quiet homely. Also road to market place from hotel is very natural and surrounded by a lot of greenery and full of peace.

Overall our decision to go for woodland was very much justified, when I saw those market side deluxe hotels being flooded with people everywhere and no feel of nature.

I would request woodland people to construct their own website as I somehow managed to get the contact numbers from internet. Also a small swimming pool would make the hotel a best resort in matheran.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hrparikh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We so enjoyed our 3 nights at this hotel. Set in the woods about 10mins walk from the station, it has carefully tended gardens and swing beds..perfect place to sit and read a book disturbed only by the friendly hotel dog. The veg. food was delicious and you can get a beer!
Lots of wild life, one of the staff had an air gun to see off the monkeys so we could enjoy breakfast on the terrace undisturbed. Lots of good walks around Matheran, it was like being on an island. Wonderful that there were no cars or even cycle rickshaws, though I felt sorry for thoes rickshaw pullers with huge loads behind them.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travellersabroad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

food and service was good...but not great..i think they charge a bitta high rates compared to the other hotel available..swining phool was flodded during my trip and there was no electricity for 2 hrs during my stay there...plz check avialaibilty of electricity before making a reservation..and also try to bargain..they cum down to 100/200 per person...

Stayed: October 2009
4  Thank princebhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

We read mixed reviews about Matheran but lots of good things about Woodlands. We took a chance. Once you get past the dust you will discover the charm of Matheran. We spent two days and two nights and we loved every minute. Please choose Woodlands. It is away from the town, in the woods. Delicious fresh food is served, three times a day, at your leisure. The staff are young and friendly and we (like previous reviewers) were accompanied on our walks by Roger and Julie the dogs. It's described as a budget hotel, no frills and excellent value. No shortage of monkeys either!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TJSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
4.3 km away
Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest
3.5 km away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
349 reviews
4.3 km away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#6 of 22 in Matheran
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 22 in Matheran
143 reviews
16.4 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
4.1 km away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Woodlands Matheran? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Woodlands Matheran

Address: Chinoy Road, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: ₹ 8,655 - ₹ 26,482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel Woodlands Matheran Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing