We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
21
36
11
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
36
11
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews value for money badminton court weekend trip reasonable rates tea coffee swimming pool basic amenities pure veg woods carrom monkeys market food games crowd vegetarian
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We booked this hotel based on the reviews of Tripadvisor.We booked the hotel for 1 night/2 days. As we were not sure about our trip till last moment and had to search a lot as many hotels were full and in some hotels, the minimum booking of 2 nights was compulsory condition adding heavily to our budget. Finally I was happy to find the option of woodland which charged very reasonable rate in pick season and did not also insist on 2 night booking.

The best thing I liked about this hotel is that it is away for market place and very quiet. There is no harassment from monkeys either. Quality of food was also good and service was quiet homely. Also road to market place from hotel is very natural and surrounded by a lot of greenery and full of peace.

Overall our decision to go for woodland was very much justified, when I saw those market side deluxe hotels being flooded with people everywhere and no feel of nature.

I would request woodland people to construct their own website as I somehow managed to get the contact numbers from internet. Also a small swimming pool would make the hotel a best resort in matheran.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hrparikh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We so enjoyed our 3 nights at this hotel. Set in the woods about 10mins walk from the station, it has carefully tended gardens and swing beds..perfect place to sit and read a book disturbed only by the friendly hotel dog. The veg. food was delicious and you can get a beer!
Lots of wild life, one of the staff had an air gun to see off the monkeys so we could enjoy breakfast on the terrace undisturbed. Lots of good walks around Matheran, it was like being on an island. Wonderful that there were no cars or even cycle rickshaws, though I felt sorry for thoes rickshaw pullers with huge loads behind them.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

food and service was good...but not great..i think they charge a bitta high rates compared to the other hotel available..swining phool was flodded during my trip and there was no electricity for 2 hrs during my stay there...plz check avialaibilty of electricity before making a reservation..and also try to bargain..they cum down to 100/200 per person...

Date of stay: October 2009
4  Thank princebhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

We read mixed reviews about Matheran but lots of good things about Woodlands. We took a chance. Once you get past the dust you will discover the charm of Matheran. We spent two days and two nights and we loved every minute. Please choose Woodlands. It is away from the town, in the woods. Delicious fresh food is served, three times a day, at your leisure. The staff are young and friendly and we (like previous reviewers) were accompanied on our walks by Roger and Julie the dogs. It's described as a budget hotel, no frills and excellent value. No shortage of monkeys either!

Date of stay: March 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TJSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2008

The presentation onWoodlands Hotels is not good enough. The only photo put up on the net is a partial front view. When we checked in it was a totally different reality. The Hotel is ideally located in the woods. Away from the hustle and bustle of the Market, the place is quiet and serene. One wakes up to the chirping of the birds and an occasional sound of the hoof of the horses. If one is an avid bird watcher,well,it is a feast for the eye.The hotel is manned by an efficient staff. The food is tasty andin generous proportions and served in the rooms with warmth and dedication. The hotel has a good badminton court, a table tennis table and some indoor games. It also has a small library if one doesn't want to venture out.
There are a couple of strays affectionately called JULIE and RAJU. These dogs have truly sanitised the place from the one nuisance : Monkeys.The dogs accompany the guests on their walk and also protect the guests from the monkeys. Julie is no doubt a wonderful and very very affectionate watch dog.
A haven for families and couples, with a lot of greenery, good food and serene surroundings it is an ideal getaway. A home away from home.
Jaipal

Date of stay: December 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JaipalMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews