We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
133
34
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
133
34
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kabbe hills chelavara falls ancestral home main home deluxe rooms are quiet location mr dilip lush green trees wonderful hosts birds chirping excellent homestay families with kids non veg awesome experience his wife visit this place walkable distance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2019 via mobile

We were a family of 7..and had booked this place for a few nights. We were a little apprehensive at first as it was our first homestay experience in India. We were in for a very pleasant surprise as this place was perfect for our time off from our busy city lives. Coorg is especially known for its gorgeous homestays.
The property is located about 40 mins from Madikeri but the road right to the property is nice and the drive is good too. The hosts Dilip and Vidya are super friendly and warm. Very kind and helpful with equal amounts of care and hospitality.
The property itself is huge with clean and well kept accommodations. The property backs upto Kabbe hills and there are a few treks you can do within the property. Dilip also guided us to a small stream nearby which was lovely.
The food here is delicious and well made by Vidya and her team of cooks (Thimaya and one other person). Please note that there arent many eating out options closeby but nothing to worry if you are staying here.
The staff is polite and courteous.
There were power outages in the evening but they have backup, so no worries there.
We will definitely want to go back to Coorg for its spectacular beauty and this place.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Pallavi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2019 via mobile

We had to book here in an urgency since we had to our earlier booking at a different place at the last minute. We looked at TripAdvisor reviews and decided this place may be worth it though we could stay only for one night as he had other bookings.

The only downside of the place is it is about 45 km from madikeri and takes an hour or so to reach. But the hosts are extremely cordial and helpful.Mr. Dilip was kind enough to take us a on a very informative tour on his plantation . Next day morning he took us to the top of the Kabbe hill. The hospitality is of a different order altogether . The jaggery coffee is one of the best things I have tasted in Coorg and there was no dearth of it. The food is truly exquisite and we really enjoyed both the dinner and the breakfast. The timings for both are a bit late for my usual timings but then this is a homestay and not a hotel / resort. The core point which he succeeded at is he made the homestay a "stay at home". I have stayed at quite a few excellent homestays in India but this one is unique given the hosts' personal attention and care and the excellent cook. Would love to visit again and have already recommended this to my friends in case they wish to visit Coorg.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank SRC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2019

We chose this place for a get together / offsite with few of our colleagues, and also as a farewell to one of our colleagues moving on.

Let me first comment on the location and the access. I was having an apprehension of being this property away from SH91 (State Highway), but realised that the 3 km distance from the intersection to the home was a smooth road, and an experience to drive.

Once we reached our destination, we felt the drive was worth it. This place is nicely tucked away from the hustle and in a quiet location on the mountain side with lots of massive trees.

There are 4 main rooms which are part of 2 cottages, and these are outside the main home where Dilip (our host) and his family is living. Rooms are very well maintained. Few rooms has a small attic with a bed, and I'm sure the kids will love it.

The best part of our trip is the connect we built with Mr. Dilip, as he was so kind to share his vast knowledge/ experience, and also gave few tips around quick exercises for relaxation. He also took us to the nearby mountain, which is a good uphill trek, which can be easily managed with kids also. The views from there are spectacular.
On the same day, we went down to a nearby brook, and realised how the overall environment can make you tranquil.

One of the evening, we also had a coffee estate walk, and this was also a lots of knowledge gathered, especially on type of coffee, how, when, what will be considered, processed etc. We also visited Dilips’ parents who is also living closeby, which was also a great feeling on how well-bonded the entire family were.

Our 2 days and 3 nights just got over in a wink, and each one of us committed to return to the same place with our families with kids, as we don’t want them to miss this place.

Thanks Dilip for all your help and cooperation to make this stay a very memorable one. Just missed to comment on the food, which was just yummy.

Room tip: Rooms which are further up
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ash_antony
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2019

This is one of the most beautiful places I have stayed in! Dilip and Vidya are the perfect hosts, the surroundings are stunning, and the food is awesome!! While leaving, I told Vidya that coming to Kabbe was like visiting my mother's home--filled with comfort and warmth and love. I have no doubt that I will be visiting again. This is a place that settles down in a corner of your heart and beckons you again and again.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank varuni_bhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 January 2019 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay at Kabbe. It’s the last estate before you reach stunning nature, by walking 30 minutes you reach the hilltops where you get the view of Kerala’s and Karnataka's mountains. We spent a weekend at Kabbe and it was an amazing get-away from the city. Very nice hosts and great food! Good variation of Indian dishes and the best dosas we’ve eaten, and we’ve tried many. We also learned a lot about coffee cultivation and production. Really recommend it!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SaraB4665
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews